You are here

Ladies, Tramps, and Other Furry Friends: The Rhetoric of Pets

PWR 1GGK - Spring 2014 - Instructor: Kimbrell, G.
Last Updated: 10-Nov-2014

A guide to resources for PWR GGK: Ladies, Tramps, and Other Furry Friends: The Rhetoric of Pets.

Subjects

Reference materials

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

Encyclopedia of animal rights and animal welfare. Edited by Marc Bekoff. 2 vols. IC (Earlier edition available online)

Encyclopedia of human-animal relationships: a global exploration of our connections with animals. Edited by Marc Bekoff. 4 vols., IC.

"The Moral status of animals," Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy. Online only.

Subject terms for books and articles

Animal welfare

Consciousness in animals

Human-animal relationships

Words to add to narrow topic: history, law and legislation, moral and ethical aspects, psychological aspects

Special journals

Anthrozoos: a multidisciplinary journal of the interactions of people and animals. Online only, 2007-

Society and animals. Online only, 1999-

These online journals are browsable but not searchable:

Journal for critical animal studies. Includes book reviews, 2003-

Stanford journal of animal law and policy. Open to all, 2008-. Selected articles: vol. 1, human-animal hybridization; vol. 2, issue of owners vs. guardians of animals; vol. 3, dogfighting laws; vol.4, foreclosure crisis' effect on America's animals.

Selected databases

Additional specific databases can be added to these general, multidisciplinary databases:

Academic Search Premier -"choose databases" (next to the search box) to add: Alternative Press Index, Anthropology Plus, Business Source Complete, Environment Index, Left Index

Proquest Research Library - click on "Searching 1 database" in upper left-hand corner to add: Alt-press Watch, Philosopher's Index, PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts, and more.

Special Stanford resources

Biology Library (Falconer)

Marine Biology - Miller Library at Hopkins Station (Monday-Friday only) - how to request from campus

Eating Animals - resource guide for previous PWR class