Language and education

This guide is for those interested in linguistics as applied to education, both research and practice.  This includes multilingualism, use of native languages, and language policy.  For those interested in second language learning such as ELL and EFL see that guide.

Background information

Third Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC3715 .B57 2017
2nd ed. New York : Springer, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » P40.8 .E53 2008 V.1
"In the selection of topics and contributors, the Encyclopedia seeks to reflect the depth of disciplinary knowledge, breadth of interdisciplinary perspective, and diversity of sociogeographic experience in our field. Language socialization and language ecology have been added to the original eight volume topics, reflecting these growing emphases in language education theory, research, and practice, alongside the enduring emphases on language policy, literacies, discourse, language acquisition, bilingual education, knowledge about language, language testing, and research methods."
Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 1999.
Green Library » Stacks » P40.8 .C66 1999
"aims to present any knowledge from linguistics...that many have bearing on the education of children and adults. It also covers the fields specifically concerned with language learning (in the widest sense) and language teaching."
Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LC1099 .E38 2012 V.1
"The major aim of this encyclopedia is to describe the most important concepts, theories, research, policies, case studies, and programs at the pre-school through the postsecondary levels and their implications for educational reform. Diversity is defined broadly in this encyclopedia and includes race, ethnicity, social class, gender, sexual orientation (LGBT), religion, language, and exceptionality, which encompasses giftedness and disability." p. xlviii
2nd ed. Boston : Elsevier, c2006.
Green Library » Information Center » P29 .E48 2006 V.1
2nd ed. New York, N.Y. : Oxford University Press, 2010-
Green Library » Stacks » P35 .H34 2010

New books

Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » P115.35 .T73 2018

Journals

Rowley, Mass. : Newbury House, [c1981-
Green Library » Stacks » P123 .A58 V.12 1991
[Clevedon, Avon, England] : Multilingual Matters, 1984-2010
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » P115 .B53 V.21-27 2004-2010
Washington, D.C. : National Association for Bilingual Education, 1992-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks
New York.
Green Library » Current periodicals
[New York] American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Mahwah, N.J. : L. Erlbaum Associates, c2002-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
London, Cambridge University Press.
Green Library » Current periodicals
Norwood, N.J. : Ablex Pub. Corp., c1992-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PE1128 .J68 V.18 2009
Dublin, Ireland : Linguistics Institute of Ireland; Clevedon, Avon : Multilingual Matters, c1988-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks
Washington, DC : National Association for Bilingual Education, [2005-2006].
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LC3731 .N37 V.1-2: NO.1-2 2005/2006
Rugby : The Association, c1990-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 1982-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .L2872 V.50 2017
London : E. Arnold; New York, NY Cambridge University Press[distributor], c1984-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » P53.4 .L3 V.23 2006
Norwood, N.J. : Ablex Pub. Corp., c1988-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » P41 .L536 V.20 2009
Bloomington, IN : The University,
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
[Washington]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .T337 V.43 2009

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related Databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts ; San Diego : Sociological Abstracts, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
Dublin, Ohio : OCLC
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, etc. in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Berkeley, Calif. : Chicano Studies Library Publications, University of California, c1990-
Green Library » Information Center » E184 .M5 C43
Indexes literature on the Mexican American experience, but also includes the broad Latino experience of Puerto Rican Cuban and Central American immigrants.
[Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest Information and Learning
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
Los Angeles, UCLA Latin American Center Publications, University of California.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » AI17 .H5 2006
Over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

Websites

accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking