Latin American & Iberian literatures

This guide provides resources to Latin American and Iberian Literatures.

Databases

These databases help you find citations and references and sometimes will contain full text:

MLA Bibliography -References book chapters and articles on literature, folklore and linguistics.

Open Access Journals - Can be accesses via Dialnet (Spain) and Redalyc (Mexico) sites.

Full text databases

These resources offer full text, including texts in Spanish and Portuguese:

Digitalia - journal articles on humanities and social sciences from Spain and Latin America.

Latin American Women Writers - over 100,000 pages of works in original language from 17th - 20th Centuries.

Periodicals Archive Online - over two centuries of full text scholarly publications on humanities and social sciences in various languages.

xSearch -allows searching through various interfaces at once for e-books, dissertations and full text.

*Latin American Literature       *Peninsular Literature

E-books

Full-text searching and retrieval of thousands of titles in various disciplines, with a rich "information toolset." Printing and copying from particular titles may have print/copy page limits:

Digitalia -access to scholarly e-books from Spain and Latin America.

Ebrary -includes full text from several academic publishers.

Historical images

Searchable databases offering thousands of images from different times, cultures and disciplines. It combines images, data and texts, and it provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning and researching capabilities through features such as zooming and panning:

ARTSTOR - provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.

World scholar. Latin America & the Caribbean. - collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.

Films / Documentaries

The following databases include short and feature films, supplementing the Stanford Libraries' Media & Microtext Center collection:

Kanopy -a portal of tertiary educational videos (streaming videos and DVDs) in the following areas: art, business and training, health sciences, media and communication, natural sciences, social sciences, and teacher education. Users can search, browse and see previews of videos. Includes also some feature films from the Criterion collection.

Latin America in Video -approximately 400 original-language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The videos were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as human rights, violence, immigration, literacy, popular culture, and political history. Materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English. Approximately two-thirds of the titles have subtitles. 

accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking