You are here

Latin American studies

Last Updated: 21-Oct-2016

This guide provides resources to Latin American studies.

Subject Librarians

Curator for Latin American, Iberian & Mexican American Collections
(650) 384-9392

Table of Contents

Databases

Reference citations

These databases will help you find citations and references and will sometimes contain full text:

HAPI, Hispanic American Periodicals Index:
Article citations about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Some full-text articles are available. 
Handbook of Latin American Studies:
This is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars in the social sciences and the humanities.

Full text databases

These resources offer full text, including texts in Spanish and Portuguese:

Informe! - more than 7 million magazine and journal citations from/about Latin America, many with full text links, 1980 - present.
JSTOR - a growing digital library of academic journals.
Project Muse - over 300,000 articles from university press and scholarly society journals in various languages.

E-books

Full-text searching and retrieval of thousands of titles in various disciplines, with a rich "information toolset." Printing and copying from particular titles may have print/copy page limits.

Digitalia - Full text books and journal articles on humanities and social sciences from Spain and Latin America.
Ebrary - More than 60,000 full text e-books in various disciplines.

Historical images

Searchable databases offering thousands of images from different times, cultures and disciplines. Combination of images, data, and texts provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning, and researching capabilities through features such as zooming and panning.

Archives Unbound - Digital images on various topics (Mexican Revolution, US-Latin American Relations, etc).
Arte Público Hispanic Historical CollectionSeries 1 and Series 2
Digital content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960s. 
ARTSTOR - provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
World scholar. Latin America & the Caribbean - a collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.

Open access

Provides links to freely available scholarly journals, and the information ranges from table of contents to full text:

Redalyc (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal): Provides access to scientific journals as well as full text articles.

Scielo (Scientific Electronic Library Online):  Academic journals indexed and published in Open Access.

News

Latin American newsstand - Full text in Spanish and Portuguese from 40 Latin American newspapers and news mail services.
Latin America Historical Newspapers (1808-1920) - Includes eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, advertisements, obituaries and other information.

Films

Streaming videos and DVDs, from films to documentaries and more:

Digitalia Film Library - Full-lenght films and documentaries on various topics from/about various regions (choose from Cuban Cinema, Latin American Selection, and French Collection databases).

Kanopy - Purchase-on-demand social sciences streaming video.

Latin America in Video - Original-language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America.

Statistics and data

The Americas Barometer - is the only survey of democratic public opinion and behavior covering the Americas and measuring democratic values and behaviors using national probability samples of voting-age adults.

Global search

xSearch - allows searching through various interfaces at once for e-books, dissertations and full text.

New books

New books

  1. Mirte Postema, James Cavallaro, Ruhan Nagra. 2017

  2. Peter H. Smith (University of California, San Diego) with Cameron J. Sells (University of California, San Diego). 2017

  3. edited by Olaf Kaltmeier (Center for InterAmerican Studies, Bielefeld University) and Mario Rufer (Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana, Xochimilco). 2017

  4. edited by Alexandre Mendes Cunha and Carlos Eduardo Suprinyak. 2017

  5. María Fernanda Valdés Valencia. 2017

  6. edited by Gordana Yovanovich and Roberta Rice. 2017

  7. Henrik Karge/Bruno Klein (Hrsg. / eds.). 2016

  8. Christof Mauersberger. 2016

  9. George Reid Andrews. 2016