You are here

Latin Dictionaries

Primary tabs

online and print lexica

 Stanford only = requires Stanford IP address; http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png = external link. Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

Abbreviationes The first electronic dictionary of medieval Latin abbreviations, a database designed for use in both learning and teaching medieval Latin paleography. N.B. Choose the "Web Servers" tab to access program; choose "detail view" in the "Use" pull-down menu.

J.F. Niermeyer. 2002. Mediae latinitatis lexicon minus . . . 2 ed. Lane Rm., Medieval Rm. E-version available from the Lexicon link of the navigation bar of PL and AASS

Database of latin dictionaries . User's manual. N.B. Choose "Advanced Search" for a menu of available dictionaries:

Indo-european Etymological Dictionaries Online. Leiden, the Netherlands: Brill 

  • Etymological dictionary of Latin
  • Etymological dictionary of Greek
  • Etymological dictionary of Slavic
  • Etymological dictionary of proto-Germanic
  • Etymological dictionary of proto-Celtic
  • Etymological dictionary of Old Frisian
  • Etymological dictionary of Armenian
  • Etymological dictionary of Hittite
  • Etymological dictionary of Luvian
  • Etymological dictionary of Persian
  • Etymological dictionary of the Iranian verb
  • Etymological dictionary of proto-Nostratic.

Latin language sources http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png  a checklist

Archivio della Latinità Italiana del Medioevo (UAN) http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png

Classical Latin

Late Latin/Patristic

to c. 600, including the Latin Christian authors

Medieval Latin

Database of latin dictionaries . User's manual.

Abbreviationes. The first electronic dictionary of medieval Latin abbreviations, a database designed for use in both learning and teaching medieval Latin paleography.

  • Corpus glossariorum Latinorum / a Gustavo Loewe incohatum ; auspiciis Academiae Litterarum Saxonicae ; composuit, recensuit, edidit Georgius Goetz. 7 v.

The basic glossary of medieval Latin, i.e., the words and meanings that deviate from classical usage, remains:

Du Cange is out-dated; explanations, not translations, are given in 17th-century Latin, and often unsatisfactory editions are used. It will be replaced by the new glossary for the period A.D. 800-1200 published by the Union Académique Internationale:

Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Italy

Great Britain

Denmark

Hungary

Netherland

Poland

Spain

Sweden & Finland

Czechoslovakia

Yugoslavia

Renaissance, Neo-Latin

Geography

Grammars

  • Allen and Greenough's New Latin Grammar @ Middlebury http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png
  • Allen and Greenough's New Latin Grammar on Perseus http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png

Music