You are here

Legal Rhetoric

Legal Studies - Summer 2014 - Instructor: Cosovano, L.
Last Updated: 16-Jun-2014

A guide for SPCS Legal Studies Summer Program

Subject Librarians

Sr. Reference Specialist; Summer Instruction Coordinator
(650) 724-6980
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Government Information Librarian, State, Local and International Documents
(650) 723-2851
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Recommended law databases

Use these databases to search legal cases, law reviews, and law journals

[Bethesda, Md.] : Congressional Information Service ; [Miamisburg, Ohio] : Proquest
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
United States government: includes Legislative Histories, Congressional Hearings, Congressional Record, House and Senate Reports, and more.
[Miamisburg, OH] : LexisNexis, division of Reed Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
(Select legal resources): includes US Federal and State Cases; Law Reviews; International.
Buffalo, NY : William S. Hein & Co., [2000]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
[Stanford, Calif.] : Stanford University [Libraries], Social Sciences Resource Group ; [San Francisco] : Archive-it
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Congressional Research Service (CRS) - a GREAT resource for review papers on subjects that congressional committee members might want for background on a topic that may be relevant to a legislative topic - for example, music piracy, or vigilantism, or health care or juvenile crime or media violence. Also available through Congressional Publications
[Washington, D.C.] : CQ Press, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
CQ Supreme Court Collection blends historical analysis with timely updates and expert commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution. Users can access information by topic, justice, and case name. - See more at: http://library.stanford.edu/guides/legal-rhetoric#sthash.ebl9FYQy.dpuf

Recommended databases for background research

Try these databases for background material on the legal issues you are exploring:

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The "go-to" database for popular and academic articles on a variety of topics. A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present.
[Rochester, NY] : Social Science Electronic Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Social Science Research Network:  devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. It includes the Legal Scholarship Network Research Paper Series