You are here

Leland Scholars Program

Last Updated: 16-Apr-2016

This guide contains library resources for Leland Scholars, a three-week program for incoming freshmen who intend to study in the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) or pre-health fields.

Home

New Scientist

Sorry, there was an error with the RSS feed.

Books

SearchWorks / xSearch

SearchWorks, the library catalog for the Stanford Libraries includes authors, titles, descriptions, and subjects for books, journals, conference proceedings, theses, etc.  Please choose a database to find journal articles.  Use xSearch for full-text searching of ebooks and journals.

Databases

Palo Alto, Calif. : Annual Reviews, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 42 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature. Updated continuously, covers 1932-present.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 250+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, full-text ejournal and ebooks, patents, technical reports, reference materials, etc.

Journals

Peer review

Is this a peer-reviewed source?

Peer review in 3 minutes (from NCSU)

Peer review

Reference

3rd ed. / Washington, DC : American Chemical Society ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Permanent reserve: Ask at circulation desk » QD8.5 .A25 2006
"An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. The ACS Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. It is also an excellent resource for learning how to effectively communicate scientific information." (publisher's description)
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
[United States] : McGraw-Hill, [2000?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.  The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of scientific & technical terms, 5th ed, is integrated into AccessScience.
7th ed. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH ; New York : J. Wiley & Sons, 2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"This state-of-the-art reference work details the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc."

* Finite resources

Encyclopedias and major reference works

Comprehensive Water Quality and Purification
Waltham, MA : Elsevier, c2014.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"This major reference work provides a rich source of methods for analyzing water to assure its safety from natural and deliberate contaminants, including those that are added because of carelessness of human endeavors. Human development has great impact on water quality, and new contaminants are emerging every day. The issues of sampling for water analysis, regulatory considerations, and forensics in water quality and purity investigations are covered in detail. Microbial as well as chemical contaminations from inorganic compounds, radionuclides, volatile and semivolatile compounds, disinfectants, herbicides, and pharmaceuticals, including endocrine disruptors, are treated extensively. Researchers must be aware of all sources of contamination and know how to prescribe techniques for removing them from our water supply."
Oxford : Eolss Publishers, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS) is an integrated compendium of sixteen encyclopedias. The EOLSS was developed as a dependable source of knowledge for use in human endeavors aimed at development of remedial measures to counter the current practices, which imperil the Earth's essential life support systems. Natural and social sciences, humanities, engineering and technology, and management policies for sustainable use of life support systems are emphasized, together with issues of global change and their ecological, economic, social, ethical, cultural, and political dimensions. The EOLSS is intended to enhance the systematic development of knowledge that is essential for global stability, security, and peace.
New York : Springer, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"The Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology (ESST) addresses the grand challenge for science and engineering today. It provides unprecedented, peer-reviewed coverage of sustainability science and technology with contributions from nearly 1,000 of the world’s leading scientists and engineers, who write on more than 600 separate topics in 42 sections. ESST establishes a foundation for the many sustainability and policy evaluations being performed in institutions worldwide." (Publisher's description)
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier Academic Press, c2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TJ163.28 .E53 2004 V.1
Topics include: Basics of Energy; Energy Flows; Society and Energy; History and Energy; Systems of Energy; Conservation and End Use; Renewable and Alternative Sources; Environmental, Public, and Policy Issues; Economics of Energy; Measurement and Models; Material Use and Reuse; Oil and Natural Gas; Coal, Electricity; Nuclear Energy; Risks; Sustainable Development; and Global Issues.
Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2007.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Covers energy efficiency and conservation opportunities, renewable and alternative energy sources, the financial analysis of energy systems, environmental regulations, global climate change, green development, hydrogen-fueled vehicles, and more.
"For economists, energy economics is one of three subdisciplines which, taken together, compose an economic approach to the exploitation and preservation of natural resources: energy economics, which focuses on energy-related subjects such as renewable energy, hydropower, nuclear power, and the political economy of energy; resource economics, which covers subjects in land and water use, such as mining, fisheries, agriculture, and forests; and environmental economics, which takes a broader view of natural resources through economic concepts such as risk, valuation, regulation, and distribution. Although the three are closely related, they are not often presented as an integrated whole. This Encyclopedia has done just that by unifying these fields into a high-quality and unique overview." (Publisher's description)
New York : J. Wiley, 2001.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » GE45 .S73 E53 2001 v.1
"Covers the development and application of quantitative methods in the environmental sciences. It provides essential tools for understanding, predicting, and controlling the impacts of agents, both man-made and natural, which affect the environment." (Publisher's description)
[Chichester, England ; Hoboken, NJ : J. Wiley]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Pressures are increasing on the availability and exploitation of fresh water resources due to population increase, pollution and degradation of resources, and variations in distribution as a result of regional and global change in the climate. A compilation of knowledge in this area, therefore, has become a prerequisite for education and training of research, as well as practising hydrologists. The Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences provides detailed, expert coverage of the subject." (Publisher's description)
Treatise on water science
Amsterdam ; Hackensack, NJ : Elsevier Science, 2011.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Water quality and management are of great significance globally, as the demand for clean, potable water far exceeds the availability. Water science research brings together the natural and applied sciences, engineering, chemistry, law and policy, and economics, and the Treatise on Water Science seeks to unite these areas through contributions from a global team of author-experts."
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2005.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Reference » TD345 .L393 2005 V.1
"Leading experts in water-related fields have come together to make "Water Encyclopedia" a one-stop, comprehensive reference about the world's most important natural resource.  Topics covered include water quality, wastewater, ground water, surface water, oceans, industrial water, water chemistry, drinking water, ultrapure water, and water resources.  The treatment is practical in orientation, keeping in mind the needs of the users. Theory is included only where required for an understanding of the topic" (Publisher's description)

Consumption, Conservation, and Sustainability - Handbooks & Statistics

3rd ed. Abingdon, Oxon : Earthscan ; Brighton, UK : Produced for Earthscan by Myriad Editions, 2011.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QC903 .D75 2011
Rigorous in its science and insightful in its message, this atlas examines the causes of climate change and considers its possible impact on subsistence, water resources, ecosystems, biodiversity, health, coastal megacities, and cultural treasures. It reviews historical contributions to greenhouse gas levels, progress in meeting international commitments, and local efforts to meet the challenge of climate change.
Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press, 2013.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This book provides a technical and practical guide to measure and minimize greenhouse gas emissions for any organization, from manufacturing to service facilities. It serves as an up-to-date source of technical information related to current and potential greenhouse gas emission minimization practices.
Paris, France : International Energy Agency, c2006-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TJ163.13 .E544 2015
This book on new developments in energy technology demonstrates how technologies can make a decisive difference in achieving the objective of limiting the global temperature rise to 2°C and enhancing energy security. It presents scenarios and strategies to 2050, with the aim of guiding decision makers on energy trends and what needs to be done to build a clean, secure and competitive energy future.
New York, NY : Springer, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Uniquely focuses on mitigation of climate change impacts from a technical perspective. Addresses all aspects of energy (fossil, alternative, renewable, solar, or biofuel) in the context of mitigation of atmospheric carbon and resultant climate change. Comprehensively tackles climate change, including scientific evidence of climate change and societal issues, impacts of climate change, energy conservation, alternative energies, advanced combustion, advanced technologies, and education and outreach.
Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2007.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TJ163.3 .H356 2007
This handbook provides a thorough grounding in the analytic techniques and technological developments that underpin renewable energy use and environmental protection. The handbook emphasizes the engineering aspects of energy conservation and renewable energy.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Key World Energy Statistics contains timely, clearly-presented data on supply, transformation and consumption of all major energy sources.
4th ed. Golden, Colo. : National Renewable Energy Laboratory, [2006]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains a wide selection of data and statistics on renewable energy power technologies from a variety of sources—collected in one convenient document. The Browse by Technology section is grouped by: Biomass, Geothermal, Hydroelectric, Solar, and Wind. Analysis at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory aims to increase the understanding of the current and future interactions and roles of energy policies, markets, resources, technologies, environmental impacts, and infrastructure.
[Santa Monica] : RAND Corporation
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Energy and Environment section reports energy sources and generation, energy consumption, energy expenditures and prices, electricity consumption and generation, installed wind power, greenhouse gas emissions, petroleum and natural gas sources and consumption, air quality, gasoline deliveries, water usage, and estimated water usage.
This special report provides an assessment and thorough analysis of renewable energy technologies and their current and potential role in the mitigation of greenhouse gas emissions.
Paris : Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development ; Washington, D.C. : Distributed by OECD Publications and Information Center, 1977-
Green Library » Stacks » HD9502 .A2 W88 2015
Presents analytical insights into trends in energy markets and what they mean for energy security, environmental protection and economic development. Includes updated projections of energy demand, production, trade, investment and carbon-dioxide emissions, broken down by country, fuel and sector, to 2035.

* Environmental issues

3rd ed. Abingdon, Oxon : Earthscan ; Brighton, UK : Produced for Earthscan by Myriad Editions, 2011.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QC903 .D75 2011
"Rigorous in its science and insightful in its message, this atlas examines the causes of climate change and considers its possible impact on subsistence, water resources, ecosystems, biodiversity, health, coastal megacities, and cultural treasures. It reviews historical contributions to greenhouse gas levels, progress in meeting international commitments, and local efforts to meet the challenge of climate change." (Publisher's description)
Oxford : Eolss Publishers, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS) is an integrated compendium of sixteen encyclopedias. The EOLSS was developed as a dependable source of knowledge for use in human endeavors aimed at development of remedial measures to counter the current practices, which imperil the Earth's essential life support systems. Natural and social sciences, humanities, engineering and technology, and management policies for sustainable use of life support systems are emphasized, together with issues of global change and their ecological, economic, social, ethical, cultural, and political dimensions. The EOLSS is intended to enhance the systematic development of knowledge that is essential for global stability, security, and peace.
"This Encyclopedia is an authoritative resource covering all aspects of atmospheric sciences, including both theory and applications. With more than 320 articles and 1,600 figures and photographs, this revised version of the award-winning first edition offers comprehensive coverage of this important field. The six volumes in this set contain broad-ranging articles on topics such as atmospheric chemistry, biogeochemical cycles, boundary layers, clouds, general circulation, global change, mesoscale meteorology, ozone, radar, satellite remote sensing, and weather prediction."
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
Second edition.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"The science of biodiversity has become the science of our future. It is an interdisciplinary field spanning areas of both physical and life sciences. Our awareness of the loss of biodiversity has brought a long overdue appreciation of the magnitude of this loss and a determination to develop the tools to protect our future."
"This Encyclopedia covers essential topics that include the processes that produce weather, the circulation of the atmosphere that produces the world's climates, classification of climates, important scientific concepts used by climatologists and meteorologists, as well as the history atmospheric sciences, biographies of noteworthy contributors to the field, and significant weather events, from extreme tropical cyclones to tornadoes to hurricanes. New to this edition are articles on headline-grabbing topics that include the Kyoto Protocol, global warming, tradable permits, and extreme weather."
Washington, D.C. : NCSE
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"The Encyclopedia of Earth is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work." (Publisher's description)
Encyclopedia of Environmental Change
Biology Library (Falconer) » Reference » GE149 .E442 2014 V.1
"Provides a gateway into the complex facts, topics, concepts, techniques, methodology and philosophy of environmental change.  This three-volume set illustrates and examines topics within this dynamic and rapidly changing interdisciplinary field. The encyclopedia includes all of the following aspects of environmental change: * Diverse evidence of environmental change, including climate change and changes on land and in the oceans * Underlying natural and anthropogenic causes and mechanisms * Wide-ranging local, regional and global impacts from the polar regions to the tropics * Responses of geo-ecosystems and human-environmental systems in the face of past, present and future environmental change * Approaches, methodologies and techniques used for reconstructing, dating, monitoring, modelling, projecting and predicting change * Social, economic and political dimensions of environmental issues, environmental conservation and management, and environmental policy."
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2002.
Green Library » Information Center » GE149 .E47 2002 V.1
"This encyclopedia focuses on natural and anthropogenic changes in the physical, chemical, and biological systems and resources, and explores the effects of those on changes on human society. Articles cover concepts of global change, earth and earth systems, human factors, resources, responses to global change, agreements and associations, institutions, policies, biographies and case studies. The encyclopedia links essential knowledge across many fields, including geography, geology, geophysics, atmospheric science, political science, economics, technology, and others." (Publisher's description)
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2008.
Green Library » Information Center » QC981.8 .G56 E47 2008 V.1
"This encyclopedia explores major topics related to global warming and climate change - ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes. Its coverage includes the science and history of climate change, the polarizing controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change. The scope focuses on providing a primarily nonscientific resource to understanding the complexities of climate change, written by scholars and institutional experts in the geosciences." (Publisher's description)
New York : Springer, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"The Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology (ESST) addresses the grand challenge for science and engineering today. It provides unprecedented, peer-reviewed coverage of sustainability science and technology with contributions from nearly 1,000 of the world’s leading scientists and engineers, who write on more than 600 separate topics in 42 sections. ESST establishes a foundation for the many sustainability and policy evaluations being performed in institutions worldwide." (Publisher's description)

* Health/medicine

"This Encyclopedia is a definitive resource for what to eat for maximum health as detailed by medical and nutritional experts. Making the connection between health, disease, and the food we eat, it describes more than 140 foods, providing information on their history, nutrient content, and medical uses. It details healthy eating guidelines based on the RDA food pyramid; and, provides scientific basis and knowledge for specific recommendations. Beautifully illustrated, it features an extensive list of reliable nutrition resources. It describes the "fit kitchen" from the latest in food safety to equipment and utensils for preparing fit foods to ways to modify favorite recipes to ensure health and taste."
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons Ltd., 2005.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QH431 .E62 2005 V.1
"This resource brings together four fields of genetics, genomics, proteomics and bioinformatics. The Browse by Contents button above takes you to the full table of contents. The articles are also classified by type, as Introductory Reviews for people new to a subject, Specialist Reviews that provide in-depth coverage for those with more experience, The focus is on studies based on the human and mouse genomes, but other important model eukaryotes, as well as pathogenic bacteria, are given in-depth coverage. For readers approaching new fields, there is a comprehensive glossary that explains over 500 terms in a clear and concise way." (Publisher's description)
3rd ed. Amsterdam : Elsevier, 2013.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The role of nutrition in improving quality of life and combating disease is undeniable - and researchers from different disciplines are bringing their perspectives to bear on this fundamental topic.  This encyclopedia presents the latest understanding on a wide range of nutrition-related topics including food safety, weight management, vitamins, bioengineering of foods, plant based diet and raw foods.  New articles on organic food, biofortification, nutritional labeling and the effect of religious customs on diet, reflect the dedication to currency in this revision.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2006.
Green Library » Information Center » TX370 .S63 2006
"This A-to-Z reference work is the first to focus on the junk food and fast food phenomena from a multitude of angles in addition to health and diet concerns. More than 250 essay entries objectively explore the scope of the topics to illuminate the American way through products, corporations and entrepreneurs, social history, popular culture, organisations, issues, politics, commercialism and consumerism, and much more. Each entry ends with suggested reading." (Publisher's description)
[S.l.] : Wiley, c1999-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Spanning the entire spectrum of the life sciences, ELS is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 4,500 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. ELS has articles on these subject areas: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Genetics and Disease, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, and Virology.
Encyclopedia of Obesity
Los Angeles : Sage Publications, c2008.
Green Library » Information Center » RC628 .E53 2008 V.1
"Obesity is a serious health issue and is a key discussion and research area in many disciplines from the social sciences and physical education to the health sciences. "The Encyclopedia of Obesity" is a comprehensive set containing nearly 500 entries that addresses the broad scope of the obesity epidemic, from molecular and genetic causes to the treatment of this disease at a large scale, public policy level." (Publisher's description)
1st ed. Detroit : Thomson Gale, c2008.
Green Library » Information Center » RA784 .G345 2008 V.1
"This encyclopedia presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and effects of dietary choices on health. All entries are presented in a standardized and balanced format. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet. Articles provide information across all age groups, from infants to the elderly, without the intention of endorsement of any one diet. Such subjects as the South Beach Diet, The Zone, nutrition literacy, diabetes, and obesity are covered." (Publisher's description)
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2003.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"This book is a comprehensive, up-to-date, and scientifically based guide to a variety of foods associated with good health. From fruits, herbs, and grains to vitamins, minerals, and dietary supplements, this resource offers not only the claims associated with each food, but also the scientific truths behind these claims. The book begins with an account of modern concepts of human nutrition, followed by a series of over one hundred entries on individual health foods and dietary supplements. Each entry provides full information on the food's origins, a thorough description, the claims and myths associated with it, and the scientific evidence to support - or refute - these claims." (Publisher's description)
Rev. translation of 3rd German ed. Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme, c2005.
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Lane Library catalog for status » (no call number)
"Although basic to health, the study of nutrition is complex and integrates knowledge from disciplines as varied as physiology, molecular biology, chemistry, psychology, sociology, economics, and public policy.  This book provides health and nutrition professionals, students and motivated consumers with a userful nutrition resource that is broad enough in its scope yet concise in it's delivery." (Publisher's description)

Software

Poster presentations

Featured eBook

1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier/Academic Press, 2013.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » Q223 .C325 2013