LGBTQ and education

This guide is for those interested in issues surrounding LGBTQ communities and education, both research and practice.

Background information

Washington, DC : American Educational Research Association, 2015.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » HQ73 .L438 2015
Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LC1099 .E38 2012 V.1
"The major aim of this encyclopedia is to describe the most important concepts, theories, research, policies, case studies, and programs at the pre-school through the postsecondary levels and their implications for educational reform. Diversity is defined broadly in this encyclopedia and includes race, ethnicity, social class, gender, sexual orientation (LGBT), religion, language, and exceptionality, which encompasses giftedness and disability." p. xlviii
Binghamton, NY : Harrington Park Press, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC2574.5 .M33 2007
"This guide tells students what it takes to start a GSA at their school, teachers how best to work with GSAs, and helps principals and superintendents to understand the applicable laws."
Dordrecht ; New York : Springer Science+Business Media B.V., c2012.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Thousand Oaks, CA : Sage Publications, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LC212.9 .S24 2006
"It is a comprehensive overview of different theoretical positions on gender issues in schools. The contributions cover all sectors of education from early years to higher education; curriculum subjects; methodological and theoretical perspectives; and gender identities in education. Each chapter reviews, synthesises and provides a critical interrogation of key contemporary themes in education."
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LC192.6 .Y68 2005 V.1
"This authoritative two-volume international encyclopedia encompasses the extant knowledge on research, policy, and practice on queer sexualities, focusing specifically on its intersection with young people and their formal as well as informal schooling."

New books

Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC192.6 .H84 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC151 .P75 2017
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » HQ73 .S24 2017
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC2575 .S23 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » HQ57.3 .G55 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC192.6 .P75 2015
Practice-oriented
Washington, DC : American Educational Research Association, 2015.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » HQ73 .L438 2015
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC192.6 .C68 2015
Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2844.1 .G39 Q43 2014

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related Databases

[Stamford, Conn.] : Softline Information, [2001]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. This interdisciplinary resource provides a valuable source of viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage."
Beachwood, OH : Responsive Database Services,
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains full text of reports, articles, and newsletters on issues affecting women.
[Stamford, CT] : Softline Information, Inc., [1998 or 1999]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental NGO and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's.
[Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO Information Services
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"A resource for literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 80 GLBT-specific core periodicals."
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Baltimore, MD: National Information Services Corp. (NISC), c1991,1996-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.

Websites