You are here

Lie Detection and the Social Functions of Deception

PWR 2SGA - Spring 2013 - Instructor: Streit, S.
Last Updated: 15-Apr-2013

A guide to resources for PWR 2SGA: Lie Detection and the Social Functions of Deception. Course topics include: the psychology and physiology of lying? the social function of lying? Body Language of Lying: gestures, facial expressions, voice, or word choices; ethical, philosophical, and rhetorical questions regarding the role of deception in human communication.

Subject Librarians

Sr. Reference Specialist; Summer Instruction Coordinator
(650) 724-6980
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background/reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2008.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » P87.5 .I58 2008 V.1
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » P40 .E43 2011
Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2004.
Green Library » Stacks » P117 .K46 2004
Norwood, MA : SilverPlatter Information,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
6th ed. Boston, Mass. : Pearson/Allyn and Bacon, c2008.
Green Library » Stacks » BF637 .N66 R53 2008

Online Reference Searches: "Deception"

Find Search Terms, Topic ideas, and Expert Scholars in a field of Research Using a Reference Database. Here's an example:

  • "deception" using Gale Virtual Reference Library (note you can see the Subject Area Choices by choose to "limit by" Subject)
  • "deception" using Blackwell Reference Online (note you can choose to limit by any of the choices on the left side of the page)

Searchworks Subject term: Rhetoric--Deception

A sample search and resulting items for the subject Rhetoric/subtopic Deception.  Look at other books with similar call numbers using the Browse by Call Number feature for each selected title.

  1. Scott A. Bonn. 2010

  2. Major Garrett and Timothy J. Penny. 1998

  3. Murray Edelman. 2001

  4. Russ Hoyle. 2008

  5. Jon Hesk. 2000

Suggested Databases for study of Gesture and Deception

Besides the selected general and subject-specific databases listed here , try these databases for Articles on Psychology, Philosophy, Sociology and Communication and Media perspectives on Deception and Lie Detection

Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
[Alexandria, Va.] : Alexander Street Press, c2010-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Cumulative ed. Bowling Green, Ohio, Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green University.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z7127 .P4 V. 39 NO.4 2005
Bethesda, MD : CSA ; Thousand Oaks, CA : Sage Publications
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)