You are here

Literacy

Last Updated: 25-Aug-2014

This guide is for those interested in the issues surrounding literacy, both research and practice.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Background information

Other books

Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC149 .C28 2009
New York : Guilford Press, c2002-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.5 .L35 H37 2001
"Consistent with prior volumes, we retain our focus on the years from birth to the beginning of formal literacy instruction and include chapters that focus primarily on theoretical issues, others that describe and evaluate interventions, and still others that examine policy-relevant topics."
New York : The Guilford Press, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1576 .H2333 2013
"Noted contributors show how to translate big ideas from research into doable instructional choices that help all stiudents succeed."
2nd ed. New York : Routledge, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC151 .H33 2012
3rd ed. Norwood, Mass. : Christopher-Gordon Publishers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1576 .H2377 2006
"The purpose of this handbook is to give the classroom teacher, reading specialist, administrator, or student concise, up-to-date information on the most popular assessment and evaluation tools in literacy."
New York : Guilford Press, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.5 .H267 2011
"The volume addresses the major components of literacy, including word recognition, fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, spelling, and writing. Chapters also cover the specific needs of preschoolers and older readers, as well as English language learners and students with learning disabilities."
"Powerful. The editors have brought together brilliant researchers who make a tremendous contribution to building knowledge about instruction that capitalizes on students' social and cultural contexts. Perhaps most important, they point the way toward taking action that is evidence based and holds potential for making a difference in the literacy lives of our students." -- Victoria J. Risko, Ed.D., Department of Teaching and Learning, Vanderbilt University
New York : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1043 .H328 2008
"Situated at the intersection of two of the most important areas in educational research today--literacy and technology--this handbook draws on the potential of each while carving out important new territory. It provides leadership for this newly emerging field, directing scholars to the major issues, theoretical perspectives, and interdisciplinary research pertaining to new literacies."
New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.45 .H365 2009
"The Handbook – this term connotes a touchstone across disciplines and areas, whose function is to capture a field, past, present, and future. The result of an enormous effort, a handbook provides a benchmark at a particular point in time…. Two ingredients are of foundational importance for a well-built handbook: the structure and the writers. The editors of this Handbook have assembled an extraordinary assemblage of authors, each distinguished in his or her own right, but a group that is exceptional for the breadth and comprehensiveness of perspectives that they bring to bear.... This handbook provides an excellent snapshot of the field." -- Robert C. Calfee
Mahwah, N.J. : L. Erlbaum Associates, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.37 .H36 2006 V.2
Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC2669 .P73 2007 V.1
"A-Z thematic entries written by contemporary scholars" "including major educational perspectives, policies and concerns, significant events, historical figures in the field, and major organizations--provides a comprehensive educational resource..."
London ; New York : Routledge, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1050 .R635 2010
2nd ed. Los Angeles : Sage, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139 .L3 S344 2013

New books

Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.455 .B465 2014
Practice-oriented.
1st ed. Bingley : Emerald Group Pub., 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.2 .O78 2014
10th anniversary edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.5 .L35 V37 2014
Practice-oriented.
Charlotte, N.C. : Information Age Pub., c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC220.5 .S4586 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC151 .W28 2014
Paris : OECD, ©2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC149.7 .O34 2013
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC4086 .S53 2014
[Sacramento, Calif.] : California Department of Education, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1576 .C15 2013
Practice-oriented.
Paris : Oecd Publishing, [2013]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC149 .S97 2013
[Windhoek : Ministry of Education, Directorate of Adult Education, 2008]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC158 .N3 R36 2008 F
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1576 .D974 2013
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
New York : Routledge, 2014, ©2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC149 .N5 2014

Journals

Syracuse, NY : Commission on Adult Basic Education, ProLiteracy America, c2007-[2011]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC5251 .A644 V.5 2011
"The Adult Basic Education and Literacy Journal is published jointly three times a year by the Commission on Adult Basic Education and ProLiteracy. The journal's mission is to provide a forum for sharing research, information, theory, commentary, and practical experiences that will improve the quality of services for adult basic education, literacy, and numeracy learners."
Newark, DE : International Reading Assoc., c1995-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .J815 V.55:NO.1-3 2011
Mahwah, N.J. : L. Erlbaum Associates, c2002-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » P35 .J657 V.12 2013
Chicago, Ill. : National Reading Conference, c1996-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .J8942 V.42 2010
Norwood, N.J. : Ablex Pub. Corp., c1992-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PE1128 .J68 V.18 2009
[Urbana, Ill., etc., National Council of Teachers of English]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .R431 V.41 2006/2007

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related Databases

Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, etc. in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Berkeley, Calif. : Chicano Studies Library Publications, University of California, c1990-
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » E184 .M5 C43
Indexes literature on the Mexican American experience, but also includes the broad Latino experience of Puerto Rican Cuban and Central American immigrants.
[Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest Information and Learning
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
Los Angeles, UCLA Latin American Center Publications, University of California.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » AI17 .H5 2006
Over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
La Jolla, Calif. : Sociological Abstracts, Inc., 1985- 2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » P1 .L26 V.27 PT.2 1993
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.

Websites