You are here

The Long Nineteenth Century

MLA 102 - Fall 2013 - Instructor: Paulson, L.
Last Updated: 2-Oct-2013

A guide to resources for MLA 102: The Long Nineteenth Centry: An Introduction to Interdisciplinary Graduate Studies. Required of 2nd-year MLA students.

This course will focus on the historical, literary, artistic, and philosophical issues raised during The Long Nineteenth Century (1789-1914). Readings and assignments will include Austen, Mozart, Burke, Schubert, Mary Shelley, Mill, Marx, Dickens, Darwin, Freud, and Woolf, as well as selected poetry and critical writings. The course will culminate in a research paper and a presentation of each students' findings. 

Subject Librarians

Malgorzata Schaefer
Head, Information Delivery
(650) 384-5028
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Databases - nineteenth century

  1. A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be compri...

  2. Green Library » HAS-DIGIT (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PR1301 .N56 1999

    Database of 250 complete works of prose fiction by 109 authors from the period 1781 to 1901. Each test is reproduced in full, including ...

  3. C19 indexes publications of the Anglo-American World, 1790-1919. Collections expand with each release of the database. You may search the...

  4. A union catalog of all books in English in eight British and U.S. Libraries (British Library, Bodleian Library, Cambridge University Libr...

  5. Mary Morris Schmidt. 1999

    Art & Architecture Library » Reference (non-circulating) » Z5937 .S36 1999 ...

  6. This database contains 2.1 million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. It includes publications on women, chi...

  7. Indexes nineteenth century literature, including newspapers, periodicals, books, and government publications.

  8. Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertis...

  9. Searchable full text of full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. T...

  10. Primarily English texts published during the "long" nineteenth century, from the beginnings of Mesmerism in 1779 through to the 1930s.

  11. by Richard Taruskin. 2005

    Music Library » Stacks (Limited loan)Reference (non-circulating) » ML160 .T18 2004 ...ML160 .T18 2004 ...

    "The Oxford History of Western Music" is a magisterial survey of the traditions of Western music by one of the most prominent and provoca...

  12. "The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1...

  13. This database provides users with access to more than two million records, including South Africa studies and African studies and a numbe...

  14. "Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single fe...

  15. Index and full text of historical American periodicals held by the American Antiquarian Society. The completed collection will cover a wi...

  16. The works of more than 1,250 poets from 600 to 1900, in essence, a database of the complete English poetic canon from Anglo-Saxon times t...

  17. [edited] by Thomas Dublin, Kathryn Kish Sklar. 1840

    Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. T...

  18. American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries is a full-text electronic resource containing full-color scans of original pr...