You are here

Machine Dreams: The Rhetoric of Technology

PWR 1SB - Fall 2017 - Instructor: Brawn, S.
Last Updated: 20-Oct-2016

A guide to resources for PWR 1SB: Machine Dreams: The Rhetoric of Technology. The course focuses on arguments we make about technology, the arguments various technologies produce about us, and, finally, the ways in which rhetoric itself might be productively viewed as a technology for producing arguments.

Subject Librarians

Kathleen Gust
Engineering Librarian for Outreach Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 723-8877

Background/Reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

San Diego : Academic Press, c2001.
Green Library » Information Center » QH332 .C66 2001
2nd ed. New York : Wiley, c2001.
Green Library » Bender Room » QC21.2 .B59 2001
New York : Charles Scribner's Sons, c2005.
Green Library » Information Center » CB9 .N49 2005 V.1
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
Green Library » Information Center » HM846 .S43 2005
New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, c2007.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » Q125 .T574 2007
(also available as ebook)
1st ed. New York : Crown Publishers, c2000.
Green Library » Information Center » T47 .S43 2000
Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2002.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » JZ1242 .W67 2002


Not sure what databases to try?  Check here for a list of general purpose databases like Academic Search Premiere, JSTORand more.  To locate additional databases by name or topic, use the SearchWorks online catalog and select the database facet, or try one of those listed below.  You can slao look at other PWR course guides for suggestions.

Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs
New York : Association for Computing Machinery,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This site provides access to journals and magazines of the Association for Computing Machinery, as well as conference proceedings.
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.
New York [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z5851 .E62 V.95:PT.10 1996
Engineering Index covers virtually every major engineering innovation from around the world. It contains over 10.7 million records. Each year, over 500,000 new abstracts are added from scholarly journals, trade magazines, and conference proceedings. Coverage spans over 175 engineering disciplines from over 80 countries. Updated weekly.
[Palo Alto, Calif. : Research Libraries Information Network, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides citations and some brief abstracts to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology and medicine and allied historical fields from prehistory to the present.
[Piscataway, N.J.?] : IEEE, c1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides full-text to the publications of both the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE)  since 1988. The index is a subset of the INSPEC database, allowing users to search specifically for the information they need, then display and print the full image. Each image includes all charts, graphs, diagrams, photographs, and illustrative material.
Oak Ridge, TN : U.S. Dept. of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Developed by an interagency working group of 14 scientific and technical information organizations from 10 major U.S. government science agencies, this site provides a gateway to information resources at government science agencies. Two major types of information included are selected authoritative science Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.