You are here

Materials science and engineering resources

Last Updated: 30-Jul-2014

A listing of selected online and print resources for research in Materials Science and Engineering - MSE .

Subject Librarians

Engineering Librarian for Outreach Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 723-8877

General engineering resources

A selection of good general databases with multidisciplinary holdings.

Hoboken, N.J. : Elsevier Engineering Information, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Engineering Index / Engineering Village covers the entire spectrum of engineering in depth, with abstracts from over 2,600 international journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports.
[Piscataway, N.J.?] : IEEE, c1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains citations and abstracts to the literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computers, control technology, and information technology. Covers journal articles, conference papers, significant books, technical reports, dissertations, and patents. INSPEC is the premier database for physics & related disciplines but also covers areas like systems management and operations research.
Springfield, Va. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, National Technical Information Service,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Containing over 2.0 million bibliographic records, the NTRL Database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments.Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964. Access via NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) also includes full-text access to more than 500,000 documents.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Contains 41 million records, 70% with abstracts including 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide and over 3 million conference papers. Particularly strong international coverage of science and technology. Also includes sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Linking between ScienceDirect and Scopus for the fulltext of the article and related research.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides for forward or backward cited searching. With a recent article, you typically use the bibliography to go back in time. In a way, the citation index lets you do the reverse. You can take an older article and see who has cited that article since it was published.

Selected materials science resources

Bethesda, MD : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics. In addition to periodic literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms.

West Lafayette, IN : CINDAS, 2007-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Aerospace Structural Metals Database (ASMD), Microelectronics Packaging Materials Database (MPMD), and Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database (TPMD). Databases contain data and information on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of alloys and materials.

Christiansburg, VA : Automation Creations Inc., 1997-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Database of material properties includes thermoplastic and thermoset polymers, metals, ceramics, semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Indexes journals, patents, technical reports, dissertations, conference proceedings, and books in Biochemistry; Physical, Inorganic, and Analytical Chemistry; Applied Chemistry and Chemical Engineering; Macromolecular Chemistry; and Organic Chemistry.

Specialty materials science resources

[Materials Park, OH] : ASM
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
West Conshohocken, PA : ASTM international
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Norwich, N.Y.] : Knovel, 2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Weinheim ; New York : VCH, c1991-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » See related record(s) to request item » TA403 .M347 1991
Online version is updated regularly. "Edited by internationally renowned figures in the field, with 10% revised and new content, focusing on key topics in materials science in line with current developments."
Warrendale, PA : Materials Research Society, c1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[S.l.] : ScienceDirect, Elsevier Science, c1999-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Berlin : Springer, 2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Internet resources for materials science