You are here

Mathematics education

Last Updated: 7-Jul-2014

This guide is for those interested in mathematics education, both research and practice.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background information

New York : RoutledgeFalmer, 2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » QA11 .E665 2001
"For readers and researchers investigating national and international aspects of mathematics education at the elementary, secondary, and post-secondary levels, this quick, easy-to-use encyclopedia provides basic information for ready reference and is an ideal starting point for more in-depth research."
2nd ed. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1051 .H2354 2006
Sections include: "Foundations of the Discipline," "Development and Individual Differences," "Cognition and Cognitive Process," "Motivation," "Educational Content," "Society and Cultural Perspectives," "The Educational Context," and "Assessment of Learning, Development, and Teaching." See especially, chapter 21 "Mathematics Teaching and Learning."
2nd ed. New York : Routledge, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » QA11.2 .H36 2008
"intended for those interested in international developments and future directions in educaitonal research, in particular, mathematics education research."
Charlotte, NC : Information Age Pub., c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » QA11 .S365 2007 V.1
Charlotte, NC : Information Age Pub., c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » QA11 .S365 2007 V.1
"The purpose of this Handbook is not to answer 'what works' questions, although answers to many of these sorts of questions can be found in this volume. Instead, the primary purposes are to coalesce the research that has been done, to provide (perhaps) new conceptualizations of research problems, and to suggest possible research programs to move the field forward."

New books

Rotterdam ; Boston : Sense Publishers, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA135.6 .R58 2014
Practice-oriented.
Paris : OECD, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3060.3 .T35 2009
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA20 .G35 B87 2013
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA137 .S64 2014
Practice-oriented.
New York : Springer, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA135.6 .E27 2014
[Sacramento, Calif.] : California Department of Education, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA135.6 .C2 2013
Practice-oriented.
New York, NY : Routledge, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » Q181 .D369 2013
Practice-oriented.

Journals

Dordrecht, Holland, D. Reidel Pub. Co.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .E2767 V.69 2008
Montreal : FLM Pub. Co., 1980-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA11 .A1 F67 V.31-32 2011-2012
[Reston, VA : National Council of Teachers of Mathematics],
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » 370.5 .J79 V.43 2012
Detroit, Unemployment Compensation Commission, [1939?]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 331.22 .M624M
Syracuse, N.Y. [etc.] National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » 370.5 .M426 V.95 2002
Reston, VA : The Council, c1994-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA13 .M37 V.18 2012/2013
Chicago [etc.] 1902-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .S3726 V.111 2011
Reston, VA : National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, c1994-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » 370.5 .A692 V.19 2012/2013

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related Databases

Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen, Germany : FIZ Karlsruhe
Education Library (Cubberley) » Media » QA11 .Z36 F 1976-2006
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Curriculum resources

Recently received

2nd ed. Alpine, CA : AoPS Inc., c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA459 .R877 2013

Other books

Third edition, Teacher's edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA531 .F56 2012
Fourth edition, Teacher's edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA461 .S452 2013
Teacher's edition, second edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA154.3 .M875 2013

Children's books

Recently received

Cover image of Count the monkeys
1st ed. New York : Disney Hyperion Books, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A83427 C68 2013
San Francisco : Chronicle Books, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .H747 R686 2013
Ages 2-5
New York : HarperCollins, c1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .U76193 C57 1998
Lexile measure 140; Ages 2-5

Other books

Cover image of Anno's Magic Seed
New York : Penguin Putnam Books for Young Readers, 1999, c1995.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA295 .A66 1999
Ages 5-8, gr. 1-4
New York : Penguin Putnam Books for Young Readers, 1999.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA246.5 .A5613 1983
Gr. 1-4
New York : HarperCollins, c1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .U76193 C57 1998
Lexile measure 140; Ages 2-5, gr. K-2
1st ed. Honesdale, Pa. : Boyds Mills Press, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA246.5 .C36 2010 F
Ages 7-11, gr. 2-5
Cover image of Math curse
New York, N.Y. : Viking, 1995.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .C5746 M38 1995
Awards: American Library Association Notable Children's Book 1996; Lexile measure 560; Book level 3.7; Ages 6-9, gr. 3-6
1st ed. Orlando : Harcourt, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .A467 M68 2007
Book level 1.7; Ages 2-7, gr. PreK-K
1st U.S. ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2013, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA113 .B767 2013 F
Ages 3-7, gr. PreK-2
New York : Viking, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A566 O54 2002
Lexile measurement Nonprose; Ages 4-10; Grade level 2.5; Counting & number book, gr. K-3
Cover image of One, two that's my shoe!
1st U.S. ed. New York : Disney/Hyperion Books, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .U7565 O54 2011
Ages 2-6, gr. PreK-K
New York : Oxford University Press, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA5 .O94 2012
1st ed. New York, NY : Harper, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .I886 P48 2012
Lexile measure 350; Ages 4-7; Comedy and Humor, Poetry and Rhymes, gr. PreK-1
San Francisco : Chronicle Books, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .H747 R68 2000
Book level 2.9; Ages 2-6, gr. K-2
Cover image of Shapes, shapes, shapes
1st ed. New York : Greenwillow Books, 1988, c1986.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA447 .H63 1986
Ages 2-6, PreK-2
English-language ed. New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ2666 .R584 A61513 2006 F
Book level 3.1; Ages 5-10, gr. K-4
1st ed. New York : Holiday House, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QA141 .L74 2012
Ages 4-6, gr. gr. PreK-2

Websites