You are here

MATSCI 81N: Bioengineering materials to heal the body

MATSCI-81N - Fall - Instructor: Heilshorn, S.
Last Updated: 8-Jul-2013

How are scientists and engineers designing new materials for surgeons to use in replacing body parts such as heart tissue or the spinal cord? How are cells, in the body and transplanted stem cells, communicating with implanted materials? Real-world examples of materials developed for tissue engineering and regenerative medicine therapies. In this class, students identify a clinically important disease or injury that requires a better material, research approaches to the problem, and debate possible engineering solutions. If you find that you need additional resources beyond this guide, please contact your librarian.

Subject Librarians

Sarah Lester
Engineering Librarian for Outreach, Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 725-1018
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Engineering Librarian for Outreach Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 723-8877

Journals and books

Journals

[New York, Scientific American, inc., etc.]
Green Library » InfoCenter: display
[Chicago, Time]
Green Library » InfoCenter: display
Washington, D.C. : Science Service, c1966-
Green Library » InfoCenter: display

Books

2nd ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier Academic Press, c2005.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » R856 .I47 2005
Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2008.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » R857 .M3 T46 2008
2nd ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier Academic Press, c2004.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » R857 .M3 B5735 2004
Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2007.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » R857 .T55 T548 2007
Boca Raton : CRC/Taylor & Francis, 2006.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
1st ed. San Rafael, Calif. (1537 Fourth St, San Rafael, CA 94901 USA) : Morgan & Claypool Publishers, c2006.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Note: search the Table of Contents for tissue engineering

3rd ed. Burlington, MA : Elsevier Academic Press, 2007.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Note: Great 4 chapter section on Introduction to Tissue Engineering

London : Academic, 2007.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Databases

Many databases contain full-text articles. However, some of the databases you can use to find journal articles are called Abstracting and Indexing databases because they contain citation information, such as author, journal, publication date, the abstract of the article, etc.

Below are some suggested databases to use when looking for articles:

Global ed. [Ann Arbor, Mich. : UMI]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Article citations and some full text articles in business-related publications.
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
New York, NY : Ovid Technologies, Inc., 1996-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes journal articles in nursing, allied health, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and health sciences librarianship.
Materials Park, Ohio : ASM International ; Cambridge, United Kingdom : Granta
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A database containing mechanical, physical and biological responses as well as drug compatibility properties for the materials and coatings used in medical devices.