You are here

Mechanical Engineering

Last Updated: 12-Mar-2013

This guide provides an overview of research resources in mechanical engineering.  It includes resources that may be helpful for students working on design projects.

Subject Librarians

Sarah Lester
Engineering Librarian for Outreach, Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 725-1018
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Databases and online resources

New York [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z5851 .E62 V.95:PT.10 1996
Contains over 9 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications. Also known as Compendex.
[Sunnyvale, Calif. : Efunda, c2000]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Efunda is an information resource that provides a variety of information to aid in the solution of complex design problems. Topics include materials, processes, formulas, vendors and products, units, mathematics, and designs
Warrendale, PA : Society of Automotive Engineers.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Content includes SAE Technical Papers since 1906 and access to the SAE Global Mobility Database (GMD) which includes summaries of more than 177,000 documents—technical papers, standards, regulations, journals, and reports.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Scopus has particularly strong international coverage of science and technology. Scopus includes sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information, c1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides access to the Science citation index expanded from 1900 to the present, and records from January 1991 to the present include abstracts.
New York, N.Y. : Material ConneXion
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Material Connexion is a unique and comprehensive resource currently comprised of more than 4,500 materials and processes. The information, includes high-quality photographs and company/vendor contact information.

E-book resources

[Columbus, OH] : McGraw-Hill
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Norwood, Mass.] : Books24x7.com, Inc., c2000-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Books 24x7 is a great source for CAD and SolidWorks manuals as well as MATLAB and other engineering software.

[Norwich, N.Y.] : Knovel, 2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)