You are here

Medical device design and regulations

Last Updated: 12-Feb-2014

This guide is a starting point for research on design of medical devices and medical device regulation including resources for finding standards and materials.

Subject Librarians

Sarah Lester
Engineering Librarian for Outreach, Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 725-1018
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Article resources

Journals

Frederick, MD : Aspen Publishers Hagerstown, MD : Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
New York, NY : Marcel Dekker, Inc., 1994-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD61 .C4 V.27 1999
Fairfield, NJ : American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 2007-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Auckland, N.Z.] : Dove Medical Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[London ; Birmingham, Ala. : Published for the Institution by Mechanical Engineering Publications Ltd.], c1989-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » R856 .A1 P76 F V.219 2005

Research databases

[New York?] : Thomson Reuters.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
New York [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z5851 .E62 V.95:PT.10 1996
[Piscataway, N.J.?] : IEEE, c1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[S.l.] : National Library of Medicine
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Handbooks and encyclopedias

Boca Raton : CRC Press/Taylor & Francis, c2012.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » R856.15 .A28 2012
2nd ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2009.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » R856.15 .S73 2009 V.1
2nd ed. Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2009.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » R856 .K53 2009
Boca Raton : CRC Press, 2005.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » R856 .D473 2005
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley InterScience, [2006]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier/Academic Press, 2013.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » R856 .O37 2013
Hoboken, NJ : Wiley-Interscience, c2008.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » R856.6 .E44 2008
New York : Marcel Dekker, c1998.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » R856.6 .F748 1998
2nd ed. Boca Raton, Fl. : CRC Press, c2013.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » R856.15 .M43 2013
Geneva : World Health Organization, c2003.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
2nd ed. Boca Raton : CRC/Taylor & Francis, 2006.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » R856.6 .F749 2006
3rd ed. New York : Informa Healthcare, c2008.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » R857 .M3 G33 2008

Materials, standards, and government regulations

Materials and standards

West Conshohocken, PA : ASTM international
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Full-text access to the 12,000+ ASTM standards collection.
[Piscataway, N.J.?] : IEEE, c1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Full text access to IEEE and IEE standards. Also includes access to IEEE draft standards.
Materials Park, Ohio : ASM International ; Cambridge, United Kingdom : Granta
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Mechanical, physical, biological response, and drug compatibility properties for the materials and coatings used in medical devices.
[S.l.] : AAMI : ANSI : ASTM : DIN
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Full text medical device standards from various organizations: ANSI (ISO and IEC), ASTM, AAMI, and DIN
Ann Arbor, MI : Techstreet, 1999-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
TechStreet includes a number of Medical Device Standards including ISO 13485.