You are here

Medicinal and biological chemistry

Last Updated: 10-Oct-2014

This guide contains resources of interest to researchers in the areas of medicinal and biological chemistry.

Home

"Written by the founders of the SPARK program at Stanford University, this book is a practical guide designed for professors, students and clinicians at academic research institutions who are interested in learning more about the drug development process and how to help their discoveries become the novel drugs of the future. Often many potentially transformative basic science discoveries are not pursued because they are deemed "too early" to attract industry interest. There are simple, relatively cost-effective things that academic researchers can do to advance their findings to the point that they can be tested in the clinic or attract more industry interest."

New resources on pharmaceutical chemistry

  1. edited by Brian Cox, Martin Gosling. 2015

  2. Sunghoon Kim, editor ; with contributions by T.J. Bullwinkle...[and more].. 2014

  3. editors, Mansoor M. Amiji (PhD, RPh ; Distinguished Professor and Chairman, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Director, Laboratory of Biomaterials and Advanced Nano-Delivery Systems (BANDS), School of Pharmacy, Bouve College of Health Sciences, Northeastern University, Boston, Massachusetts), Thomas J. Cook (PhD, RPh ; Director of Program Assessment, Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences Touro College of Pharmacy, New York, New York), W. Cary Mobley (PhD, RPh ; Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceuticals, University of Florida, College of Pharmacy, Gainesville, Florida). 2014

  4. Nelson L.S. Tang, Terence Poon, editors ; with contributions by C.H. Borchers...[and more].. 2014

  5. edited by Jürgen Bajorath. 2014

New resources on biochemistry

  1. Catherine H. Middlecamp [and 6 others].. 2015

  2. Alisa G. Woods, Costel C. Darie, editors. 2014

  3. Frank-Michael Matysik, editor ; with contributions by S.M. Borisov...[and more].. 2014

  4. edited by Yi Pan, Jianxin Wang, Min Li.. 2014

  5. edited by Yi Pan, Jianxin Wang, Min Li.. 2014

Databases

[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[New York?] : Thomson Reuters.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It covers original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, and microbiology, and related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology, and interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. Available with up to 18 million records to 1926."
Cambridge : Royal Society of Chemistry, 2002-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD501 .C37 F 2009
"Offers graphical abstracts of new developments in catalysis. Coverage includes all areas of catalysis research, including homogeneous, heterogeneous and biocatalysis with emphasis on current growth areas such as chiral catalysts, polymerisation catalysts, enzymatic catalysts and clean catalytic methods. Provides fast and effective access to the latest research. Each item is indexed by Authors, Products, Reactants and Catalysts, Catalyst Type and Reaction Type."
[New York] : John Wiley & Sons, c2001-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"This on-line work utilizes the full potential of the web by allowing alphanumeric searches through e-EROS and across all Wiley products, and by allowing chemical structure, substructure and reaction searching straight from a chemist's desktop. It contains a database of around 70,000 reactions and around 4000 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches. e-EROS offers a systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis. The Editorial Board are keeping e-EROS up-to-date by regularly adding new reagents and catalysts, and by updating existing articles whenever felt necessary. The A to Z listing covers classical reagents, new "designer" reagents and catalysts." (Structure Searching)
Nottingham, UK : Royal Society of Chemistry, c1987-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD415 .A1 N372 2009
"Natural Product Updates (NPU) provides graphical abstracts of new developments in natural product chemistry, selected from dozens of key primary journals. Coverage includes: Isolation studies, Biosynthesis, New natural products, Known compounds from new sources, Structure determinations, and New properties and biological activities."
Bethesda, MD : National Center for Biotechnology Information, [1997]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)."
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Science of Synthesis (SoS) provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations; Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab; Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods; Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group; and Intuitive search functions to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization."  Please see Science of Synthesis at Stanford to view online help, learn more about content, and see what's new. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also includes web sources, patents, articles in-press, book series, conference proceedings, and trade publications. Scopus provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts and humanities. 1996-present plus selected coverage back to 1823."
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 250+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, full-text ejournal and ebook sites, patents, technical reports, reference materials, plus more.

Journals

Books

[Norwich, N.Y.] : Knovel, 2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Knovel provides access to over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 50 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface. Includes the ability to search numeric data.  Some books have interactive tables.
New York : Thieme, c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This collection provides a resource for learning, review, and research in medicine and the life sciences. It systematically covers every course in the medical school curriculum and includes basic science volumes of interdisciplinary interest. Packed with illustrations, titles have been used for nearly 50 years by medical students and professionals alike. The innovative electronic version retains the outstanding educational utility of the print books, but incorporates powerful search functions.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry 2nd Edition
Second edition.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Representing the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study, the 2nd edition of this encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry.  It acknowledges that understanding every living process-from physiology, to immunology, and genetics is impossible without a grasp on the basic chemistry that provides its underpinning.  Written by experts, each article provides an up-to-date snapshot of a given topic, as well as suggestions for further readings for students and researchers wishing to go into greater depth. 
[3rd ed.] Berlin ; Heidelberg : Springer, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The merging of different basic and clinical scientific disciplines towards the common goal of fighting cancer makes such a comprehensive reference source all the more necessary. Containing over 7,000 entries, this work includes information on all of the biomolecules, types of cancers pathways, and therapies of great importance in the field.
[Chichester] : Wiley InterScience
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
ECC contains over 300 articles, all extensively cross-referenced. Technical terms are explained in short definitions. Each year around 50 new and updated articles will be added, so that the Encyclopedia will keep up-to-date with the development of computational chemistry. Covers seven areas of computational chemistry from ab-initio computations to biological and biochemical applications.
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons Ltd., 2005.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QH431 .E62 2005 V.1
"Available in print and online, this unique reference brings together all four fields of genetics, genomics, proteomics, and bioinformatics to meet your dynamic research requirements. It brings together the latest concepts in these vibrant areas and ensures a truly multidisciplinary approach. Topics include genetic variation and evolution, epigenetics, the human genome, expression profiling, proteome families, structural proteomics, gene finding/gene structure, protein function and annotation, and more. The work incorporates a vast amount of topical information, profiles cutting-edge techniques, and presents the very latest findings from an international team of over five hundred contributors."
[Place of publication not identified] : Wiley.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Updated quarterly, the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry is the result of a merger of the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry and the Handbook of Metalloproteins. Information is grouped specifically for each major element; by its relations within the periodic table such as electronic structure or coordination chemistry; by detailed descriptions of singular compounds or by the applications or methods of the inorganic or bioinorganic material.
[S.l.] : Wiley, c1999-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Spanning the entire spectrum of the life sciences, ELS is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 4,500 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. ELS has articles on these subject areas: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Genetics and Disease, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, and Virology.
2nd ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH Verlag, 2004-2005.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"The Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine covers both the molecular and cellular basis of life and medicine. Since its origins, the Encyclopedia has expanded, through two print editions, to contain more than 350 articles. Each begins with a glossary of keywords, a concise definition of the subject and its importance, followed by a detailed review and bibliography."
Berlin ; London : Springer, 2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This comprehensive encyclopedia provides concise information on the molecular pathophysiology of disease. Determining and understanding the molecular mechanisms of disease is one of the key goals of modern medical research. The studies of medical genetics, microbiology, immunology, structural biology, molecular cell biology, neuroscience and developmental biology have been brought to bear on the full range of human diseases.
2nd ed. Berlin ; New York : Springer, c2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The two volume set combines the knowledge of classic pharmacology describing drug action as well as the more recent approach of the precise analysis of the molecular mechanisms by which drugs exert their effects.
Chichester, West Sussex ; Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, 2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » QD471 .E55 2012
"This Encyclopedia offers for the first time a description of free radicals within an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary context, connecting structural characteristics and chemical properties to their applications in different areas of chemistry and related disciplines,  Covering not only basic concepts and chemical synthesis, the Encyclopedia also covers various aspects concerning the role of free radicals in materials and life sciences.  The chapters are thematically structured within four areas: Basic Concepts & Methodologies, Synthetic Strategies & Applications, Chemical Biology, and Polymers & Materials."
Weinheim [Germany] : Wiley-VCH, c2008.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Reference (non-circulating) » QP620 .N797 2008
"Concise but complete, this mini-encyclopedia contains over 1,500 entries covering all important concepts, compounds, techniques and acronyms for quick and easy reference.  Guiding readers through the ever-increasing jungle of nucleic acid science and technology, the book distills the key information out of the large body of primary literature and presents it in a single volume. A first-stop resource for everyone, from students to established researchers, as both a desktop and library reference."
[New York] : Wiley, c2008-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Protein Science Encyclopedia , the single most comprehensive knowledge source for protein scientists covers: structure of proteins, function of proteins, analytical methods of proteins, engineering of proteins, and medical aspects of proteins.  This encyclopedia contains some 160 articles (corresponding to approx. 4500 printed pages) on fundamental and current topics in 14 subject fields: Transcription and Translation, Technical and Recombinant Synthesis, Modification and Regulation, Damage and Degradation, Structure and Folding, Protein-Ligand Interaction, Protein-Protein Interaction, Enzymatic Function, Engineering and Design, Biotechnology and Bioengineering, Misfolding and Disease, Model Proteins, Structural Analysis, and Functional Analysis."
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2009.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QP512 .W48 2009 V.1
This encyclopedia illuminates the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences. WECB is an evolving online database of information, combining the most useful features of traditional reference works and review journals in a compelling format designed to exploit the full potential of the online medium. Includes extensive linking to the primary literature and to other online resources.

Handbooks

Rahway, N.J. : Merck & Co., 1968-
Green Library » InfoCenter: Ready Reference (non-circulating) » RS356 .M524 2001
The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact.  Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. There is also a supplement of Organic Name Reactions.
Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme Chemistry, 2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Pharmaceutical Substances is a one-stop source of information relating to the industrial synthesis and commercial applications of every licensed drug of significance and serves as an ideal tool for teaching in the field of medicinal and pharmaceutical chemistry. The compendium of over 2400 APIs (Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients) provides: Capability to search for marketed drugs relating to a structure or reaction; a rapid overview of a therapeutic area or chemically related substances; industrial synthetic routes elucidated from complex patent descriptions; insights into industrial processes and toxicity issues; commercial information such as trade names and vendors/ manufacturers for the six world markets; and concise records ideal for hand-outs and quick reference." (Structure Searching)
Cambridge : Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre,
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Permanent reserve » QD921 .C36 2014
"The CSD is the world repository of small molecule crystal structures. Stanford has a license to the web version of CSD which is updated weekly. We also have a site license for the Cambridge Crystallographic Database System, Mercury, DASH, Hermes, and SuperStar. (Structure Searching)
Web version. Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. CCD online includes: organic compounds (269,000 records); natural products (178,000 records); inorganic and organometallic compounds (103,000 records); drugs (44,000 records); and analytical reagents (14,000 records). (Structure searching)
Cleveland, Ohio, CRC Press.
Green Library » InfoCenter: Ready Reference (non-circulating) » QD65 .H3 95TH 2014/2015
Continues to be the most accurate, reliable and current resource available on data needed by chemists, physicists and engineers. It provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Now searchable by chemical structure. Note: Section 18 contains sources of physical and chemical data.
[New York] : John Wiley & Sons, c2001-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"This on-line work utilizes the full potential of the web by allowing alphanumeric searches through e-EROS and across all Wiley products, and by allowing chemical structure, substructure and reaction searching straight from a chemist's desktop. It contains a database of around 70,000 reactions and around 4000 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches. e-EROS offers a systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis. The Editorial Board are keeping e-EROS up-to-date by regularly adding new reagents and catalysts, and by updating existing articles whenever felt necessary. The A to Z listing covers classical reagents, new "designer" reagents and catalysts." (Structure Searching)
Chichester ; New York : Wiley, c2001-c2004.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QP552 .M46 H363 2001 V.1
"This two-volume handbook covers 105 major metalloproteins. Content is presented in both a large format and full colour and covers the most relevant transition metals such as iron, nickel, copper, cobalt, molybdenum, manganese tungsten and vanadium. It includes a computer-modelled structure for each compound, with information on the sequence information, synthesis and spectroscopic properties, functional aspects as well as key chemical, biological, physical and medical properties of the compound described. The Handbook of Metalloproteins and the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry were merged to form the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry. Updates to content will appear in this new encyclopedia"
Porphyrins, phthalocyanines and their numerous analogues and derivatives are materials of tremendous importance in chemistry, materials science, physics, biology and medicine. They are the red color in blood (heme) and the green in leaves (chlorophyll); they are also excellent ligands that can coordinate with almost every metal in the Periodic Table. This handbook will prove to be a modern authoritative treatise on the subject as it is a collection of up-to-date works by world-renowned experts in the field.
Blah blah blah
Karlsruhe : Fachinformationszentrum ; Gaithersburg : NIST,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"ICSD (Inorganic Crystal Structure Database) is the world's largest comprehensive database on the complete structural information for crystalline inorganic compounds. The data are carefully evaluated from relevant scientific literature. Besides the bibliographic information each dataset contains compound name, molecular formula, as well as space group, unit cell parameters, atomic coordinates and temperature factors."
1st online ed. Chester, England : International Union of Crystallography ; New York : Springer, c2006.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The series contains articles and data on crystallographic research and applications of crystallographic methods on the structure and properties of materials. Symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and physical and chemical properties of crystals are emphasized. Each volume includes discussions of theory, practical explanations, and examples for educators.

Methods & Protocols

For more resources, please see the Anaytical Chemistry research guide.

Cold Spring Harbor, NY : Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press, 2006-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This interdisciplinary journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Each monthly issue details multiple essential methods—a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques. All protocols are up-to-date and presented in a consistent, easy-to-follow format.
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Current Protocols is the largest collection of authoritative and regularly-updated step-by-step research techniques and procedures available. With over 20 years of experience and over 11,500 protocols, as well as expert Editorial Boards and a qualified in-house scientific editorial staff, Current Protocols is the leading source of high-quality protocols for life scientists worldwide.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
[Boston, Mass. : MYJoVE Corp., 2006]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.
Methods in Enzymology
New York : Academic Press, 1955-
Biology Library (Falconer) » Serials » Shelved by title V.285
"The critically acclaimed laboratory standard for almost 50 years, Methods in Enzymology is one of the most highly respected publications in the field of biochemistry. Now with over 500 volumes the series contains much material still relevant today and is truly an essential publication for researchers in all fields of life sciences, including microbiology, biochemistry, cancer research and genetics-just to name a few."
Springer Protocols
Secaucus, NJ : Springer
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Springer Protocols is the largest subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Compiling protocols from Humana’s successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

Major Reference Works

Weinheim ; Chichester : Wiley-VCH, c2001-
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP801 .B69 B563 2001 INDEX
"Biopolymers provides a comprehensive overview of the occurrence, metabolism, and applications of all important biopolymer classes. This reference work treats processes for biotechnological production, isolation from organisms and modification, material properties and technical uses in areas such as chemical and food industries, medicine, pharmacy, and materials science."
2nd, completely rev. ed. Weinheim ; New York : VCH, c1991-2001.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP248.2 .B5465 1991 INDEX
These twelve volumes are organized into three sections. The first four volumes consider the fundamentals of biotechnology from biological, biochemical, molecular biological, and chemical engineering perspectives. The next four volumes are devoted to products of industrial relevance. Special attention is given here to products derived from genetically engineered microorganisms and mammalian cells. The last four volumes are dedicated to the description of special topics.
7th ed. [Hoboken, N.J.] : Wiley, c2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Burger's offers easy access to broad coverage of medicinal chemistry and drug discovery for new, as well as experienced, medicinal chemists, biologists, pharmacologists, and molecular biologists. Burger's offers a comprehensive, global perspective of drug design and drug development. With expanded content, this edition of Burger’s Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Discovery includes more than 50% new material. An entire section has been dedicated to cancer research. Areas included are those at the foreground of life science including: proteomics, genomics, bioinformatics, combinatorial chemistry, high-throughput screening, blood substitutes, allosteric effectors as potential drugs, COX inhibitors, statins, high-throughput pharmacology, and much more.
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, c2011.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Biomaterials is a dynamic, changing field that impacts modern medicine and therapeutics in diverse ways. This modern, all-encompassing comprehensive treatment accurately captures the diversity, breadth and dimensions of the biomaterials field. It describes the many modern aspects of biomaterials - from basic science to clinical applications - across the formulations and chemistry of polymers, ceramics and metals and their use in various biomedical devices and implants, as well as their clinical performance and host responses. Conventional clinically accepted biomaterials as well as emerging prototypes, studies and new ideas, along with visionary predictions of future biomaterials compositions and capabilities, are all extensively covered by hundreds of experts in the field."
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, c2012.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Reference (non-circulating) » QH505 .C588 2012 V.1
Comprehensive Biophysics provides definitive introductions to a broad array of topics, uniting different areas of biophysics research, from the physical techniques for studying macromolecular structure to protein folding, muscle and molecular motors, cell biophysics, bioenergetics and more. The result is this comprehensive scientific resource: a valuable tool both for helping researchers come to grips quickly with material from related biophysics fields outside their areas of expertise, and for reinforcing their existing knowledge.
2nd ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, c2011.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Reference (non-circulating) » TP248.15 .C66 2011 V.1
Comprehensive Biotechnology 2nd Edition is an integrated compendium of six volumes covering all the essential elements of the field. The first two volumes provide the basics of the underlying scientific and engineering principles of biotechnology; the following four volumes treat the major application branches that impact industry, agriculture, medicine and environment.v. 1. Scientific fundamentals of biotechnology. v. 2. Engineering fundamentals of biotechnology. v. 3. Industrial biotechnology and commodity products. v. 4. Agricultural and related biotechnologies. v. 5. Medical biotechnology and healthcare. v. 6. Environmental biotechnology and safety
Amsterdam ; London : Elsevier, 2009.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Designed to serve as the first point of reference on the subject, Comprehensive Chemometrics presents an integrated summary of the present state of chemical and biochemical data analysis and manipulation. It covers all major areas ranging from statistics to data acquisition, analysis, and applications. This work provides broad-ranging, validated summaries of the major topics in chemometrics, with chapter introductions and advanced reviews for each area.
Oxford : Elsevier, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Comprehensive Chirality provides a complete overview of the field and includes chiral research relevant to synthesis, analytic chemistry, catalysis, and pharmaceuticals. The individual chapters in each of the nine volumes provide an in-depth review and collection of references on definition, technology, applications and a guide/links to the related literature. v. 1: Biological Significance: Pharmacology, Phamaceutical Agrochemical. v. 2: Synthetic Methods I: Chiral Pool and Diastereoselective Methods. v. 3: Synthetic Methods II: Chiral Auxiliaries. v. 4: Synthetic Methods III: Catalytic Methods: C–C Bond Formation. v. 5: Synthetic Methods IV: Asymmetric Oxidation Reduction, C–N. v. 6: Synthetic Methods V: Organocatalysis. v. 7: Synthetic Methods VI: Enzymatic and Semi-Enzymatic. v. 8: Separations and Analysis. v. 9: Industrial Applications of Asymmetric Synthesis
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier Pergamon , 2004.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD474 .C65 2004 V.1
Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II (CCC II) is the sequel to what has become a classic in the field, Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry, published in 1987. CCC II builds on the first and surveys new developments authoritatively in over 200 newly comissioned chapters, with an emphasis on current trends in biology, materials science and other areas of contemporary scientific interest.
1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2007.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Carbohydrates are an important part of life and are present in bacteria, fungi, viruses, yeast, plants, animals and humans. This work has a very broad scope and will appeal to a wide audience as it explores the interactions between biology, chemistry and molecular biology towards understanding, synthesising and developing glycoproteins, glycolipids, proteoglyans and polysaccharides, which are important molecules in nature for controlling health and disease and food and feed. Glycocompounds reviewed include: oligosaccharides, polysaccharides, glycoproteins, glycolipids, glycoconjugates, lectins, cellulose, pectins and starch.Topics covered include: spectroscopy, nomenclature, structures, synthesis, biosynthesis, molecular interactions, degradation, biochemistry, glycobiology, glycotherapeutics and diseases."
Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » RS402 .C65 2007 V.1
Comprehensively reviews the strategies, technologies, principles and applications of modern medicinal chemistry. Provides a global and current perspective of today's drug discovery process and discusses the major therapeutic classes and targets. Includes a unique collection of case studies and personal assays reviewing the discovery and development of key drugs.
Amsterdam : Elsevier Science, 2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"This multivolume work covers all aspects of membrane science and technology--from basic phenomena to the most advanced applications and future perspectives. Modern membrane engineering is critical to the development of process-intensification strategies and to the stimulation of industrial growth. The work presents researchers and industrial managers with an indispensable tool toward achieving these aims."
Comprehensive natural products 2
Oxford : Elsevier Science, 2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contents: v1. Polyketides and other secondary metabolites including fatty acids and their derivatives; v2. Isoprenoids including carotenoids and steroids ; v3. Carbohydrates and their derivatives including tannins, cellulose, and related lignins; v4. Amino acids, peptides, porphyrins, and alkaloids; v5. Enzymes, enzyme mechanisms, proteins, and aspects of NO chemistry; v6. Prebiotic chemistry, molecular fossils, nucleosides, and RNA; v7. DNA and aspects of molecular biology; v8. Miscellaneous natural products including marine natural products, pheromones, plant hormones, and aspects of ecology.
[Bethesda, Md.] : John Wiley and Sons, 2011-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Comprehensive Physiology is the most authoritative and comprehensive collection of physiology information that has ever been assembled. Its starting point is more than 30,000 pages of content from the American Physiological Society's renowned Handbook of Physiology series, which is presented here for the first time in an online format. New and updated materials will be published in a quarterly serial format."
1st ed. New York : Pergamon, 1996.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD411 .C66 1996 v.1
Comprehensive Supramolecular Chemistry covers for the first time in eleven detailed volumes the inter- and multidisciplinary area of modern supramolecular chemistry. This subject, which has now reached an astonishing diversity and complexity, has developed at a remarkably rapid pace following the initial discoveries of crown ethers and cryptands in the late sixties. The many carefully selected illustrations and instructive schematic representations make the chapters easily readable.
2nd ed. / Oxford : Elsevier, 2010.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » RA1199 .C648 2010 V.1
"Comprehensive Toxicology Second Edition provides a unique organ-systems structure that allows the user to explore the toxic effects of various substances on each human system, aiding in providing diagnoses and proving essential in situations where the toxic substance is unknown but its effects on a system are obvious."
Emphasizing synthetic strategy and practice, this online reference work features experimental procedures for stereoselective synthetic reactions applicable to drug targets and natural products. The reference details synthetic methodology, reaction mechanisms, and applications for medicinal chemistry and drug discovery; and explores strategy and interdisciplinary work, laboratory synthesis for natural products, the preparative aspects of stereoselective synthesis for drugs, natural products, and potential biologically active compounds.

Reference Shelf

3rd ed. / Washington, DC : American Chemical Society ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » QD8.5 .A25 2006
"An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. The ACS Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. It is also an excellent resource for learning how to effectively communicate scientific information." (publisher's description)
New York, Bowker.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » Q141 .A48 ED.32:V.8 2014
This resource is a biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available.
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Software

Site-licensed by Swain Library

Swain Library has purchased campus-wide site licenses for several products. Access to all of these products is limited to current Stanford students, faculty, and staff.

Some software licensed by Swain Library is also accessible using a web browser and Citrix plugin via CDSERVER. For more information, please see instructions for off-campus access to resources.

Websites