You are here

Medieval Latin

Primary tabs

Subjects

medieval Latin

SUL/AIR internet resource Stanford only = requires Stanford IP address; http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png = external link | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

Archive of Celtic-Latin literature: (ACLL) Stanford only
Archivio della Latinità Italiana del Medioevo (UAN) http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png
Brepols Cross Database Search
Stanford only
Latin dictionaries
Library of Latin texts: CLCLT Stanford only
Patrologia latina database Stanford only

Introductions and reference works on literary scholarship and literary theory. Mantello and Rigg (1996) Medieval Latin: an introduction and bibliographical guide (PA2802.M43 Lane Rm) supersedes McGuire (1977) Introduction to Medieval Latin Studies, 2 ed. as the standard, indispensable handbook for Medieval Latin; "read from beginning to end". Individual chapters of Powell (1992) Medieval Studies: an introduction, 2d ed. (D116.M4 1992 Lane Rm) may remain useful. Peter Stotz's (1996-) Handbuch zur lateinischen Sprache des Mittelalters  was also reviewed in SpeculumStanford<br />
 only (74, 1999: 513). A standard introduction to medieval Latin is Palmer's translation and revision of Karl Strecker's Introduction to Medieval Latin(PA2816.S713). A standard retrospective bibliography that includes medieval Latin is Cousin (1948) Bib. de la langue latine 1880-1948. This could be updated for recent years by the "filologia" section of the excellent annual bibliography Medioevo latino . . . (Z6201.M4). Bibliotheca lexicologiae Medii Aevi is also an extensive retrospective bibliography. For rhetoric, including sermons and university disputation, there is Murphy (1989) Medieval Rhetoric: a select bibliography, 2nd ed.

Latin langauge grammars

  • Bourgain. 2005. Le latin médiéval / avec la collaboration de Marie-Clotilde Hubert. L'atelier du médiéviste ; 10.

For Latin literature Brunhoelzl (1975-) Geschichte der lateinischen Literatur des M.Â. (PA8015.B7 Green Stacks) may prove to be the last single-handed attempt of a history of Latin literature to the end of the 12th century. Contents of completed volumes: t. 1. De Cassiodore à la fin de la Renaissance carolingienne. v. 1. L'epoque merovingienne -- v. 2. L'Epoque Carolingienne. There is a French language edition: Histoire de la litterature latine du Moyen Åge. In contrast to Brunhoelzl and characteristic of a genre of histories produced by a group of contributors is the ongoing Lo Spazio letterario del Medioevo. (PA8027 .S629 1992). A 2003 survey is in the Lane Room Letteratura latina medievale, secoli 6- 15: un manuale / a cura di Claudio Leonardi . . . (reviewed in Speculum 80, 2005:260).

Other manuals include:

Brunhoelzl is in the tradition of and is intended to supersede Manitius (1911-31) Geschichte der lateinischen Literatur des M. (PA25.H26 Bd.9, Abt.2, t.1-3, Stacks) and Joseph de Ghellinck's (1939) Littérature latine au M.Â. and (1949) L'essor de la littérature latine du XIIième siècle.

Other fundamental works with great reference value are C.S. Lewis (1964) The discarded image . . ., with its description of Classical and Christian worldviews and how they influenced literature; Curtius (1953) European literature and the Latin Middle Ages, treating the continuity of classical literary traditions in the Medieval period; and Reynolds and Wilson (1991) Scribes and scholars: a guide to the transmission of Greek and Latin literature, 3d ed. The latter is in Lane, Bender, and Stacks (PA47.R4 1991). Reynolds, L. D, and Peter K Marshall (1983) Texts and Transmission: a Survey of the Latin Classics is more technical than the preceding work and covers all authors and texts from the beginnings of Latin Literature to Apuleius.

Fisher (1966) The Medieval Literature of Western Europe; a review of research, mainly 1930-1960 (PN671.F5 Lane Rm) has excellent review articles on Medieval Latin literature, Old English, Middle English, Medieval French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Catalan, Old Norse and Celitic languages and literatures. Briefs updates concerning Medieval Latin can be found in various issues of Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. Stanford<br />
 only

Useful for odd bits of background information is Robb (1979) "The Middle Ages: An Annotated Bibliographical Supplement" in Literary Research Newsletter 4:2(1979), pp.72-94. For neo-Latin Companion to Neo-Latin Studies, 1990-1998. Kaske (1988) Medieval Christian Literary Imagery (Z6203.K38 Lane Rm) covers a great deal of ground from biblical to classical sources, to sermons, liturgy, etc. As a companion volume for classical motifs use Brumble (1988) Classical myths and legends in the Middle Ages and Renaissance: a dictionary of allegorical meanings (PN669 .B78, Info Center).

An extensively documented handbook/encyclopedia is Neues Handbuch der Literaturwissenschaft, v.6: Europaeisches Fruehmittelalter (1985); v.7: Europaeisches Hochmittelalter (1981); v.8: Europaeisches Spaetmittelalter (1978). The best general encyclopedia is probably Dizionario letterario Bompiani, 8 v., 1947, PN.D5; and its three volume companion set Autori, 1956, Z1010.D5. A German adaptation is Kindler's Literaturlexikon, 7 v., 1965. Also Franklin (1875) Dictionnaire des noms, surnoms, et pseudonymes de l'histoire littéraire du moyen age, 1100-1530, Z1041.F83, is useful [PDF].

The single volume Kunitz and Colby (1967) European authors 1000-1900 is handy, but not as thorough as Bompiani . . . Auctori, above. The standard general literary dictionaries and encyclopedias behind the desk are of course useful, especially Brewer's (PN43.B65) and the Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, PN1021.E5. A wide-ranging collection of sources is found in Jones (1950) Medieval Literature in Translation.

Other useful reference works:

Proverbs

Subject (LC): Proverbs, Latin. For an introduction to proverbs see Berlioz et al. Indentifier sources et citations, ch.6.

Rhetoric

Subject (LC): Rhetoric, Medieval. Rhetoric--1500-1800--Bibliography. English language--Rhetoric--Bibliography. English poetry--Early modern, 1500-1700--History and criticism--Bibliography.

Compendia of Criticism

Subject (LC): Literature, Medieval--History and criticism.

Indexes and Concordances

Thesaurus formarum totius latinitatis: CETEDOC index of Latin forms a Plauto usque ad saeculum XXum. Subject (LC): Christian literature, Early--Latin authors--Indexes. Latin literature, Medieval and modern--Indexes. Christian literature, Latin (Medieval and modern)--Indexes.

Quellet (1980) Bib. indicum lexicorum et concordantiarum auctorum latinorum . . . (Z6605.63.Q88 Lane Rm). Indexes and concordances can also be identified by means of Socrates by personal names or genres and subdivision "concordances" or "indexes" (e.g., Prayers, Medieval-Indexes; French Poetry-to 1500-Indexes; Chansons de geste-Indexes; Arthurian Romances-Concordances; English Poetry-Middle English, 1100-1500-Concordances). Reference guides as Berlioz (1994) Identifier sources et citations, CB351.B4; and Kaske (1988) Medieval Christian Literary Imagery: A Guide to Interpretation also help identify such publications, including Tubach (1969) Index exemplorum: a handbook of medieval religious tales, which is shelved in Stacks.

Computerization of texts has produced a glut of printed concordances; many corpora are listed on the fulltext page. Printed and microfiche sources include:

Latin palaeography

 Cover Art

Timothy Graham: Z105 .C58 2007 F Medieval Studies Rm; Art Library ISBN: 9780801487088

Cover Art

Michele Brown & Pamela Lovett: Z43.B76 1999 Green Stacks ISBN: 0802047203