You are here

Medieval Studies

Last Updated: 6-Jun-2013

> tools of the trade

text
Augustine, Bishop of Hippo. TRACTATUS IN JOHANNEM

Stanford only = requires Stanford IP address; = external link. Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

Search the literature: IMB Stanford only, Iter Stanford only, Google Scholar, other indexes

One of the best overviews is Caenegem (1997) Introduction aux sources de l'histoire medievale. The first section has also been published separately as Manuel des etudes medievales: typologie des sources, historique, grandes collections. Prof. Caenegem's typology section should be supplemented by relevant fascicles in Typologie des sources du moyen âge occidental (1972-). Most volumes of Typologie des sources . . . have separate catalog records in SearchWorks.

 Guides offering practical help locating and interpreting original sources as well as bibliography are Mantello and Rigg (1994) Medieval Latin: an introduction and bibliographical guide; Berlioz et al. (1994) Identifier sources et citations; Kaske (1988) Medieval Christian Literary Imagery: A Guide to Interpretation.

Dahlman-Waitz Quellenkunde de deutschen Geschichte, 10th ed., has such broad coverage of medieval matters that it deserves to be listed in the general bibliography section. References in the medieval sections extend through either 1972 or 1977. Use this in combination with the revised portions of Wattenbach's Deutschlands Geschichtsquellen . . .: Die Zeit der Sachen und Salier, 3 v.; Vorzeit und Karolinger, neu bearbeitet v. F. Huf, 2 v., 1991; and the 2001 10th edition of Gebhardt, Handbuch der deutschen Geschichte.

Similarly, The American Historical Association's guide to historical literature Stanford only, 3rd ed, has broad topical coverage in its sections in Vol. 1 on Medieval Europe, "Byzantium", and the "Islamic World to 1500". It lists primarily works published since its 1961 second ed.; there are brief annotations. The "Medieval Europe" section was compiled by Fredric Cheyette and Marcia Colish. Consult the previous edition of the AHA guide for earlier publications. Bib. de l'histoire médiévale en France 1965-1991(1992) is a selective bibliography of Medieval historical writing in France. Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature gives a brief survey of recent scholarship by period and subfield; coverage lags several years. Classification includes geographical and topical discussions withing the following chronological breakdown: Late Antiquity & Early Middle Ages; Central Middle Ages; Later Middle Ages; Sixteenth Century.


Church of St.-Lazare, Avallon, 12th C.


Surveys

The Cambridge Medieval History, The Cambridge Economic History of Europe, and Handbook of European history 1400-1600: late Middle Ages, Renaissance, and Reformation are all shelved in the Lane Room.  The Cambridge Modern History (for Renaissance / Reformation) is in Stacks.

Manitius (1911-31) Geschichte der lateinischen Literatur des M.Â. (PA25.H26 Bd.9, Abt.2, t.1-3) and its update Brunhoelzl (1975-) Geschichte der lateinischen Literatur des M.Â. (PA8015.B7) are shelved in Green Stack, as are the useful books by de Ghellinck Littérature latine au M.Â., 2 v., and L'essor de la littérature latine du XIIième siècle, 2nd ed., both in Stacks. Other important surveys are listed in the various guides cited in this section.

Other bibliographic guides

Medieval

Renaissance, Reformation, Early Modern

Military History

Historiography

Palaeography

École des chartes, Bibliographie de paléographie

Cover Art
Introduction to manuscript studies, Raymond Clemens and Timothy Graham
Z105 .C58 2007 F Medieval Studies Rm; Art Library

Diplomatics

 École des chartes, Diplomatique médiévale

some manuals etc. in the Lane Room and other locations 

Gateways

Stanford Center for medieval & early modern studies | medieval studies program | R. Wood's medieval seminar | Richard Rufus of Cornwall Project
Other web sites   Labyrinth | Reti Medievali | Ménestrel | Online Resource Book for Medieval Studies (ORB) | Introduction to Medieval history | Internet Medieval Sourcebook | Netserf an internet connection for medieval studies | Epistolae Medieval Women Latin Letters

 

> some digital corpora & e-book collections

Stanford only = requires Stanford IP address; http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png = external link. Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

 

General/Other useful encyclopedias, handbooks

British/English/Old English/Middle English

Classical

Dictionaries

French/Italian

Palaeography/Manuscripts

  • Abbreviationes , electronic dictionary of medieval Latin abbreviation. N.B. Choose the "Web Servers" tab to access program; choose "detail view" in the "Use" pull-down menu.
  • Glossary [Parker Library online] adapted from Brown, Michelle P. Understanding Illuminated Manuscripts: A Guide to Technical Terms (Malibu: J. Paul Getty Museum in association with The British Library, 1994)
  • In Principio: incipit index of latin forms. CD-ROM ed. 12th release. Description of database. HAS-DIGIT, Lane Rm. Z6605.L3 I6.
  • Iter Italicum a database of uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued humanistic manuscripts of the Renaissance in Italian and other libraries. Also on CD-ROM: HAS-DIGIT, Lane Rm. Z6611.H8 K72 1995.

Philosophy/Religion

> authors & texts

SUL/AIR internet resource  Stanford only = requires Stanford IP address; http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png = external link. Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

This section lists the new round of repertoires, manuals, guides, and bibliographies which replace or supplement such standard works as Chevalier, Potthast*, Manitius, inter alia. For a systematic listing of these repertories see Caenegem (1997) Introduction aux sources de l'histoire medievale and chapter 2 of Berlioz (1994) Identifier sources et citations. For newer publications consult the section "Repertori ed Enciclopedie" of the annual Medioevo Latino in the Lane Room. It is about two years behind in coverage.

For updating any of the sources listed below for author bibliography & printed editions and translations, use the following indexes:

"For alternative forms of names and titles of works, and pseudonyms there are several old and new general reference works: The authority control for Medieval Latin literature presents a particularly delicate and complex problem for many reasons. A vast literary production has reached us, in fact, from the thousand years which form the Medieval Age: over ten thousand authors and a formidable number of anonymous works are known.As is recognized, a large part of this literature is still unpublished and much is even entirely unknown, since a complete census of the manuscript collections of the European libraries is still far from being finished. The lack of editions inevitably results in a shortage of historical-literary studies; nevertheless, discoveries of new authors and attribution of anonymous works to previously recognized authors follow closely one after another every year. In this way, the large reference works get older with discouraging speed, obliging those who edit them to chase after a constantly increasing quantity of material using a science where insistent, substantial progress renders both insufficient and inadequate every attempt to obtain a definitive order of the knowledge attained."

Roberto Gamberini, "The Compilation of an Authority List of Medieval Latin Authors: Objectives, Methodological Issues, and Results" Cataloging and Authority Control 39,1-2 (2004) 597-606.

Recent catalogs in the form of library authority lists:

General (more or less) Sources in addition to those sources listed immediately above:

  • Compendium auctorum Latinorum Medii Aevi (500-1500): C.A.L.M.A. SISMEL, 2000-. PA8001.C66 Lane Rm. Aims to list all authors writing in Latin from 500-1500, it contains general bibliographical detail on authors, list of works, and relevant bibliography. A work of meticulous scholarship that will require a decade or more production time.

    Fascicolo I, 1 Abaelardus Petrus – Agobardus Lugdunensis archiep. + Elenchus adbreviationum
    Fascicolo I, 2 Agobardus Lugdunensis archiep. – Anastasasius Bibliothecarius
    Fascicolo I, 3 Anastasius Montis Sancti Michaelis abb. – Antonius Galatheus
    Fascicolo I, 4 Antonius Galatheus – Augustinus Obernalb
    Fascicolo I, 5 Augustinus Olomucensis – Barnabas de Riatinis Reginus
    Fascicolo I, 6 Barnabas de Riatinis Reginus – Bartholomaeus de Forolivio + Elenchus adbreviationum et Indices
    Fascicolo II, 1 Bartholomaeus Fracancianus – Bartolus de Saxoferrato
    Fascicolo II, 2 Bartolus de Tura – Bernardinus Senensis
    Fascicolo II, 3 Bernardinus Senensis – Bessarion cardinalis
    Fascicolo II, 4 Bessarion cardinalis – Caducanus Bangoriensis episcopus
    Fascicolo II, 5 Cadurcus – Colmanus
    Fascicolo II, 6 Colmannus monachus – Conradus de Mure + Elenchus adbreviationum et Indices
    Fascicolo III, 1 Conradus Mutianus Rufus – Dominicus de Pantaleonibus de Florentia
    Fascicolo III, 2 Dominicus de Papia – Erasmus Roterodamus
    Fascicolo III, 3 Erasmus Roterodamus – Franchinus Gafurius (on shelf (1/1/2011)
    Fascicolo III, 4 Franchinus Gafurius – Franciscus Petrarcha (in preparation)

  • Biographisch-bibliographisches Kirchenlexikon http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png Bearbeitet und herausgegeben von Friedrich Wilhelm Bautz, 1990-1998. Print ed. 14 v. BR1700.2.B38 1990 Lane Rm.
  • Dict. des auteurs grecs et latins . . .. 1991. PA31.T814 Lane Rm. is an update of Tusculum-lexikon griechischer und lateinischer Autoren des Altertums und des Mittelalters . . ., 3rd. ed., 1988. PA31.T8 Lane Rm. A handy single volume reference that lists printed editions and translations.
  • Bretscher-Gisiger. 2002. Lexikon literatur des mittelalters. 2 v. PN669 .L49 Lane Rm.
  • Repertorium fontium historiae Medii Aevi, 1962-. Z6203.P87 Lane Rm & Supplement. This great work both updates and expands Potthast's Bibliotheca historica Medii Aevi (which was limited to historical narrative sources) including economic, literary, legal, philosophical, art and theological and religious sources. Repertorium fontium covers 500-1500. For the individual works of each author or anonymous text  Repertorium fontium reports on manuscripts, facsimiles, editions, translations, and secondary literature pertaining to the author and the textual tradition. The list of names and titles and cross references is at http://rmcisadu.let.uniroma1.it/isime/repert.htm. Il Repertorium viene pubblicato dall' Istituto Storico Italiano per il Medio Evo e dall'Unione degli Istituti di Archeologia, Storia e Storia dell'Arte in Roma.
  • Histoire de la litterature latine du Moyen Âge / par Franz Brunholzl; traduit de l'allemand par Henri Rochais; complements bibliographiques pour l'edition francaise par Jean-Paul Bouhot. Brepols 1990-. PA8015.B714, Stacks. Translation of Geschichte der lateinischen Literatur des Mittelalters. Incomplete contents: t. 1. "De Cassiodore à la fin de la Renaissance carolingienne". v. 1. L'epoque merovingienne -- v. 2. L'Epoque Carolingienne.
  • Répertoire bio-bibliographique des auteurs latin, patristique et medievaux. MTXT MFICHE 1102. Lists editions, manuscript locations, and textual studies in journals and books. NOTES: The Répertoire is the microform of the card file established by the L'Institut de recherche et d’histoire des textes (IRHT), Paris. There is no printed guide. Introductory material is on the first fiche. Fiche are alphabetical by form of entry and the range covered is cleary printed on the upper right-hand corner of each fiche.
  • Scripta Latina: usque ad aetatem Karoli Magni Imp.: Index editionum: quae ad usum historicum maxime adsunt. Romae: In aedibus Quasarianis, 1993. xv, 662 p. Z7026.G844 1993, Stacks. Review by R. Gooding in Analecta Bollandiana 114 (1996): 176-188.

Some very useful encyclopedias have had long editorial schedules and include the fundamental work for historians edited by Baudrillart (1919-) Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques and Dictionnaire de spiritualité, ascetique et mystique doctrine et histoire, 1937-1995. Others were published over a relatively short time such as

  • Lexikon des Mittelalters 1977-1998. Selectively lists important printed editions and translations and well as selected secondary literature--is a very useful source.
  • Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 1982-1989. D114.D5 Info Center can be used in a similar manner for major writers.
  • Many other sources are listed in the "Encyclopedia" and "Biography" pages.

Sources by Geographical Area/Language

in addition to sources above:

Old English & Middle English/British & Irish Writers

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Stanford only | Dictionary of Irish Biography: From the Earliest Times to the Year 2002 Stanford only

Comprehensive guides to Old English and Middle English authors and texts are listed on their own page.

France/French writers

German writers

  • Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters: Verfasserlexikon / begrundet von Wolfgang Stammler; fortgefuhrt von Karl Langosch. 2. vollig neu bearb. Aufl., 1978-. Z2230.S78 1977 Lane Rm. A new superb edition of the 5 vol. 1933-55 Stammler which greatly expands the selection of authors writing in Latin and also extensively treats the reception and influence of ancient and other writers (e.g., Aristotle, Augustine, etc,) on Germanic culture. Includes Latin writers if having a significant influence on the German vernacular literary tradition.
  • Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon: Biographisch-bibliographisches Handbuch / Begr. von Wilhelm Kosch. 3., Völlig neubearb. Aufl. 1968-.
  • German writers and works of the early middle ages, 800-1170. PS129.D52 v.148 Info Center. Dictionary of literary biography; v. 148. German literature--Early Middle Ages, 800-1170. Includes German authors writing in Latin (e.g., Alcuin, Hildegard of Bingen); separate sections for authors and anonymous works (e.g., Heliand). Gives English translations.
  • German writers and works of the high middle ages, 1170-1280. PS129.D52 v.138 Info Center. Dictionary of literary biography; v. 138. German literature--Middle High German, 1050-1500--Bio-bibliography. Companion volume with similar arrangement to the 800-1170 volume, also edited by by James Hardin and Will Hasty.
  • German writers of the Renaissance and Reformation, 1280-1580, 1997. PS129.D52 V.179 Info Center.
  • Worstbrock. 2005-. Deutscher Humanismus 1480-1520, Verfasserlexikon / herausgegeben von Franz Josef Worstbrock.

Greek

  • Author Index of Byzantine Studies. Ancient and medieval authors before 1600, includes primary and secondary sources -- works by and about -- for the period 1892-1981; this is the Dumbarton Oaks Catalog. Printed guide: DF501.B82; the actual catalog is on microform in the MTXT Room MFICHE 992. You will need the good reader with a high magnification lens.
  • Thesaurus Linguae Graecae: Tlg: a Digital Library of Greek Literature Stanford<br />
only primary sources covering Greek literature from Homer (eighth century B.C.) until the closing of the Academy (sixth century (A.D.)

Italian/Italy

Spanish, Portuguese, Galician, and Catalan

Netherlands

Lists of Sources for Medieval Latin dictionary projects including

Papacy

Other Church/Patristic Writers

Philosophers & Theologians

Saints Lives see the separate page for Saints Lives

Miscellany

notes

* Potthast (1896) Bibliotheca historica medii aevi.Wegweiser durch die Geschichtswerke des europaeischen Mittelalters von 375-1500, 2nd ed., 2 v. Z6203.P8, Lane Rm. Part 1 analyzes the major source collections; Part 2 is an alphabetical name arrangement listing manuscript locations and editions of published original sources. Supplement.

** Comments on CPL and Frede by Jim O'Donnell http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png Classics, U. of Penn.:

It's worth commenting for a moment on the two indispensable tools for finding patristic Latin texts. After many years of gradual obsolescence, updates, and juggling, both are in scrumptious new editions. E. Dekkers, Clavis Patrum Latinorum: first ed., 1952, second ed. 1962, third ed., 1995: familiar format from earlier editions, revised, updated, with new indices (cross-ref. to Frede, but also to the precious new Clavis Patristica Pseudepigraphorum). Biggest drawback of this volume has always been that it is confined to works written in Latin and it lists spuria and dubia under the authors to whom they are conventionally attributed. The appearance first of the Clavis Patrum Graecorum and now the Cl. Pat. Pseud. mitigate this to a great extent. This volume arose out of the people who were in the early 1950s beginning the Corpus Christianorum project, and it is still published by Brepols. H.-J. Frede, it grew and grew, and between editions it published the Aktualisierungshefte that updated it. The new edition is comprehensive and up to date. Its strength is in conciseness and accuracy, separate listing of ps.-authors, great coverage of anonyma (esp. saints' lives buried deep in Acta Sanctorum ) and translations from the Greek (of importance to VL because the Latin biblical quotations they contain are often precious primary evidence for very early versions). On the point of Gregory of Tours' fragmentary Psalm notes, I compared both editions and chose to quote to the list Clavis because I thought that work somewhat more widely disseminated, but in fact the two volumes have very similar information. (Kirchenschriftsteller will often still appear in library catalogues as vol. 1/1 of Vetus Latina, and has very likely not been purchased by many libraries that have not committed to the whole VL, which is a shame, and it is certainly available for purchase separately from Herder.) It is at any rate a great relief to stand at mid-career and suddenly have these two fresh, clean, up to date working tools embodying so much of the lore of my specialty. The effects of age on my 20 year old copy of Clavis had been making themselves more and more often felt.

> source collections

text

 Stanford only = requires Stanford IP address; http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png = external link; = some volumes available in MMT project as PDFs

Acta Sanctorum Stanford only (AASS; AS)
Acta sanctorum ordinis sancti benedicti (ASOSB)
Canterbury & York Society | index
Collection de Documents Inédits sur l'Histoire de France | Stanford Inventory 1899
Corpus Christianorum (CC) Fulltext as Brepols Library of Latin Texts Stanford only
comprised in part by Corpus Christianorum . . . series Latina (CCSL) and series Contin. mediaevalis (CCCM).
Corpus scriptorum ecclesiasticorum latinorum (CSEL). Selected texts are in Library of Latin Texts Stanford only
Early English Text Society (EETS) | society index 1864-1996 | publisher index
España sagrada. Theatro geographico-historico de la iglesia de España (ES)
Griechischen christlichen Schriftsteller (GCS, Corpus Berolinense, CB): Selected texts are in Library of Latin Texts Stanford only
Henry Bradshaw Society | index
Library of Latin Texts Stanford<br />
 only

Monumenta Germaniae historica Stanford only | MGH site | MGH Stanford holdings
[MGH] Scriptores (MGSS)
[MGH] Scriptores rerum merovingicarum (MGSRM; MGSSrerMer)
[MGH] Scriptores rerum germanicarum in usum scholarum (SS in usum schol; MGSSrG)
Patrologiae cursus completus series graeca (MPG)
Patrologiae cursus completus series latina Stanford only (Migne; MPL; PL)
Recueil des historiens des Gaules et de la France (HF; RHGF)
Rerum Britannicarum Medii Ævi scriptores; or, Chronicles and memorials of Great Britain and Ireland during the Middle Ages (Rolls Series) | index
Rerum italicarum scriptores ab anno aerae christianae... (Muratori; Rer.it.SS) ****
Rerum italicarum scriptores. nuova ed. Rer.it.SS2, RIS2)
Sacrorum conciliorum nova et amplissima collectio (Mansi)
Suffolk Records Society | index
Repertorium Fontium | index
Vetus latina | Publication list

Web guides

Reference books

Introduction aux sources de l'histoire medievale (D117.C23313 1997, Lane Rm). The first section has also been published separately asManuel des etudes medievales: typologie des sources, historique, grandes collections (D113.C34 1997, Stacks). Prof. Caenegem's typology section should be supplemented by relevant fascicles in Typologie des sources du moyen âge occidental, 1972- (Z6203.T95, Lane Rm). Some of the volumes have updates, Mises a Jour, or new editions. Most volumes of the set do not have separate catalog records in Socrates. Another recent guide covering sources and reference works is Berlioz et al. (1994) Identifier sources et citations (CB351.B4, Lane Rm). In a similar vein as a practical guide to interpreting sources, though more limited in its scope, is Kaske (1988) Medieval Christian Literary Imagery: A Guide to Interpretation (Z6203.K38, Lane Rm). Mantello and Rigg (1996) Medieval Latin: an introduction and bibliographical guide (PA2802.M43, Lane Rm) largely supersedes McGuire (1977) Introduction to Medieval Latin Studies, 2 ed(PA2816.M24, Lane Rm) as the standard, indispensable handbook for Medieval Latin. David Knowles writes about the history of the Bolandists, Maurists, Monumenta Germaniae Historica, and Rolls Series (Rerum Britannicarum Medii Ævi scriptores) in Great Historical Enterprises, and there is much fascinating information about the scholars that created the great collections in the three volumes of Medieval Scholarship: Biographical Studies in the Formation of a Discipline (D116.5.M43, Lane Rm). The chapter on Georg Waitz describes how the disciple of Leopold von Ranke played a major role in establishing the modern standard of critically-edited Medieval texts after joining Georg Pertz at the MGH. Later in his career he collaborated on the great bibliographical project Quellenkunde der deutschen Geschichte, now in its 10th ed. Z2236.D14 Lane Rm.

There are also reference books designed for students which typically cover both source collections and works of reference; these include Powell (1992) Medieval Studies: an introduction, 2 ed. (D116.M4); Pacaut (1968) Guide de l'étudiant ... (Z6203.P25); Halphen (1952) Initiation aux études ..., 3 ed (Z6203.H2); Boscolo (1975) Fonti della storia medioevo (D116.B58); and Quirin (1985) Einfuehrung in das Studium ..., 4 ed., D118.Q5. A revised, abbreviated English language version of Quirin's overview of sources (pp.243-52) is Bak (1987) Medieval Narrative Sources: A Chronological Guide, (Z6203.B33); see especially his "Major Bibliographies of Narrative Sources," pp. xv-xviii).

Standard Abbreviations

Contents of Collections

See Authors and Texts.

Potthast's Bibliotheca historica medii aevi . . ., Z6203.P87, is the standard reference guide to the contents of published source collections, and has been largely replaced by Repertorium fontium ..., 1962+, in the Lane Room. The Repertorium covers the period from 400 to 1500; Volume 1, Series collectionum , plus supplement for 1962-72, is complete, as are a number of volumes of the Fontes , listing individual authors and works through fasc. 10/4. Fontes Sj-Sz. Individual primary source collections also have their own lists and indexes: Monumenta Germaniae Historica Gesamtverzeichneis, Z6203.M66 1992, annotated with Stanford call numbers; there is also a complete listing at the MGH site. Many volumes are on the web via the Brepols portal. There is a publications list for the first 103 volumes of the Collection de Documents Inédits sur l'Histoire de France (DC3.C5) annotated with library holdings. Few volumes have Socrates catalog records, mostly those cataloged separately. The online version of Corpus Christianorum (a.k.a. Library of Latin Texts) includes a guide listing all texts in the web edition. For Migne there are several indexes for the Patrologia Latina and Patrologia Graeca. Pour lire les Peres de l'Église, BR1706.P4 1988, STACK, is a guide to Sources Chretiennes including brief biographical and historical information.

Cartularies, charters

Subject (LC): Cartularies. Cartularies are books (or rolls) into which charters and sometimes other documents from an institution's archive have been copied. Most medieval charters have survived in cartularies; instances of forgeries are numerous. Cartularies are well-covered in Introduction aux sources de l'histoire medievale (D117.C23313 1997, Lane Rm) and relevant fascicles in Typologie des sources du moyen âge occidental (Z6203.T95, Lane Rm).

  

notes

* PL on the web provides fulltext searching of the entire set, i.e., the original 221 volumes. There may still be times when the student wishes to consult the older, printed indices; for detailed information see Berlioz (1994) Identifier sources et citations, pp. 279-94, CB351.B4. Volumes 218-221 of PL are extensive chronological, biographical, statistical, geographical and other sorts of indices for the main set; the Supplement, 1958-1974, has its own index. There are Elucidation in 235 tabulas, 1952, BR60.P38 suppl.1952 (keyword index); Conspectus auctorum, 1965, BR60.P38 suppl.1965. Corrections concerning texts in PL are found in Glorieux (1952) Pour revaloriser Migne, BR60.P38 suppl.1952. A complete copy of PL is shelved in the Medieval Studies Room Room 351D, Green Library; a second copy with some missing volumes is shelved in Stacks.

** Indexes for PG are found in Cavallera (1912) Patrologiae Cursus Completus. Series Graeca. Indices, BR60.P4 suppl.1960; and in Author Index of Byzantine Studies (name index only).

*** On Mansi, see Henri Quentin, Jean Dominique Mansi et les grandes collections concilaires (Paris, 1900).

**** Rerum italicarum scriptores. nuova ed. 1900-1935. Bologna, Nicola Zanichelli. Green Stack DG403. M85. Contents listed in Repertorium fontium historiae Medii Aevi, primum ab Augusto Potthast digestum . . . vol 1. Series collectionum, "Muratori, L. A." Abbreviations: Rer.it.SS, RIS, Muratori.

The cataloging of the set can confuse, but not perhaps as thoroughly as the structure of Rerum italicarum scriptores itself, wherein many volumes have two or more parts and many parts consist of several fascicles published over a number of years. The fascicles are often obscurely identified and have often been bound separately by the library. Repertorium fontium does not analyze the set at the fascicle level.

Some of the volumes have catalog records (analytics); most do not. Nine volumes are shelved in SAL. In all cases another copy of these volumes is also found in Green Stack shelved with the main set at DG403. M85.

Only the following are known to be missing. Replacement copies were ordered but never supplied:

  • V. 11, pt. 5, fasc. 1-2 of Storie Pistoresi (1300-1348)
  • V. 17, pt. 1, fasc. 3 of Cronaca Carrarese

Original edition is shelved in the Department of Special Collections:

Muratori, Lodovico Antonio, 1672-1750. Rerum italicarum scriptores ab anno aerae christianae quingentesimo ad millesimum quingentesimum quorum potissima pars nunc primum in lucem prodit ex Ambrosianae, Estensis, aliarumque insignium bibliothecarum codicibus. Ludovicus Antonius Muratorius ... collegit, ordinavit, & praefationibus auxit . . . Mediolani, Ex typographia Societatis palatinae in regia curia, 1723-51. 25 v. in 28. illus (part fold.), ports., fold. maps and geneal. tables. 39cm.

Indices chronologici ad Antiquitates Italicas Medii Aevi et ad opera minora Ludovici Antonii Muratorii. Cura et studio curatorum Historiae Patriae Studiis apud Pedemontanos, Ligures, Sardos et Langobardos fovendis. Augustae Taurinorum, e regio Typographeo apud Fratres Bocca Biblioplas Regis, 189

> indexes and abstracts

Stanford only = requires Stanford IP address; http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png = external link. Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

The plethora of online resources are no less byzantine in design, searchability, turgidity, and opaqueness than are/were many of their print analogs. Browsing the print versions may convey a better sense of organization and limitations. One may find it usefull to construct a vocabulary of relevant terms, particularly for foreign languages. Through time and across languages personal and place names may vary and cross-references may be lacking or incomplete.

International Medieval Bibliography Online Stanford only (IMB). The print set covering 1967- is shelved in the Lane Room (Z6203.I63). This is the best general coverage index and runs about three years behind. Major weaknesses are its lack of abstracts as well as its currency. The online IMB incorporates the book entries from Cahiers de civilization médiévale which covers the 10th-12th centuries.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Stanford only (400-1700) provides author/title access to 400 interdisciplinary journals from 1859 on, but has no abstracts and few subject headings.

For the topics women, sexuality, and gender Feminae Medieval Women and Gender Index http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png covering journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, 1995-.

Online national historical bibliographies include Bibliography of British and Irish History Stanford only, Irish History Online http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png, Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png: Bibliographie zur deutschen Geschichte von ihren Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart.

For 500-1300 there is the excellent annual bibliography produced at Spoleto Medioevo Latino, Bolletino bibliografico della cultura europea dal secolo VI al XIII (Z6203.M4, Lane Rm). Its section "Auctori e testi" is an excellent source for updating older guides and manuals covering Latin authors and text editions. Its CD-ROM version is part of the Lane Room digital collection; call number D117.A12 M42.

For the later Middle Ages there is Bib. annuelle du Moyen Âge (D113.B53, Lane Rm.), specifically intended to update the Répertoire bio-bibliographique des auteurs latin, patristique et médiévaux (MTXT MFICHE 1102), which lists editions, manuscript locations, and textual studies in journals and books. The Répertoire is the microform of the card file established by the L'Institut de Recherche et d'Histoire des Textes, Paris.

For Antiquity and early Medieval Latin studies: L'Année philologique Stanford only; coverage can extend to the 8th century.

For the Renaissance Bib. Int. de l'humanisme et de Renaissance. The successful use of this index, like most, whether in paper or online version, requires patience. Its first section is a personal name listing which gives secondary works and editions. It covers 15th and 16th century topics broadly and runs about five years behind. Furthermore:

Regarding scope: "In the context of this bibliography ‘Humanism’ and ‘Renaissance’ are flexible terms that encompass a wide range of human activities – economic, legal, scientific and technological, literary, philosophical, religious, and artistic –without restricting the timeframe to the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries in each country. In Italy, in order not to exclude Petrarch (1304–1374) or Boccaccio (1313–1375), the period has to be brought forward by half a century to c.1350. Conversely, in Spain the Siglo de Oro lasts well into the seventeenth century. Likewise the late development of the humanist movement in Eastern Europe makes it necessary to extend the period to the mid-seventeenth century. (Sarah Sussman)

AIDA (Articoli italiani di periodici accademici) Stanford only, an online index to 1,238 Italian periodicals. It covers all fields of the humanities and social sciences, and includes articles appearing from 1997 to the present. You can access it from the Libraries' databases page -- search for AIDA.

There are numerous, ongoing, long-established bibliographies, and many are identified in Rouse (1969) Serial Bibliographies for Medieval Studies. This artifact of an earlier world of research and bibliography remains useful, and some of the bibliographies listed, like Revue d'histoire ecclésiastique -- bibliographie via Brepols Online, Stanford only which covers church history sensu lato, are now searchable via the web.

other important online indexes

Other subject-related indexes are listed in the separate sections of this guide. All indexes require patience on the part of the user to learn how to navigate their eccentricities and shortcomings. There are master lists of networked indexes and of stand-alone CD-ROM's available to library users.

> biography--general

SUL/AIR internet resource; Stanford only = requires Stanford IP address; http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png = external link | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

The following can help establish various name-forms, spellings, and pseudonyms:

Three recent catalogs in the form of library authority lists:

World biographical information system Stanford<br />
 only indexes numerous biographical sources published from the 16th to the 20th centuries.

General

Consult Caenegem (1997) Introduction aux sources de l'histoire medievale, "Prosopography" in Powell (ed.) Medieval Studies: An Introduction, 2nd ed., and also the various "General and Subject encyclopedias" and "National Biographical collections" listed elsewhere.

World biographical information system Stanford<br />
 only indexes biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century.

Universal/National Biographical Collections/Shorter Works

The older universal biographical collections are being replaced by large national ones, many of which are still in different stages of incompletion. The major universal biographies are Michaud (1843-1865) Biographie universelle, 45 v. (CT143.B53, Info Center); and Hoeffer (1855-1866) Nouvelle biographie générale, 46 v. (CT143.H5, Info Center).

The new national efforts (along with some shorter works) are:

Belgium

  • Biographie nationale. 1866-1986. CT1163.A2, Info Center. The quality of the older volumes leaves something to be desired. The supplementary volumes include both new persons and new articles on persons dealt with previously.

Byzantium

France

Germany and Austria

Great Britain

See also the "Biography and Genealogy" section in Graves, A Bibliography of English history to 1485, and the new Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Stanford<br />
 only. The Prosopography of Anglo-Saxon England (PASE) http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png is a database comprising a persons that includes, in principle, every recorded individual who lived in, or was closely connected with, Anglo-Saxon England from 597 to 1042.

Parliament

  • Wedgewood. 1936. History of Parliament. Vol.1: Biographies of the members of the Common House;  v.2: Register of ministers and members of both houses 1439-1509, 1938. JN508.W4, Stacks.
  • Roskell. 1993. The House of Commons, 1386-1421. 4 vol. JN675 1386.R6, Lane Rm.

University

Ireland

Dictionary of Irish Biography: From the Earliest Times to the Year 2002. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press , 2009 Stanford only

Italy

Luxemburg

Netherlands

  • Biografisch woordenboek der Nederlanden, 21 v., 1852-1879, DJ103.A3.
  • Nieuw Nederlandsch biographisch woordenboek, 10 v., 1911-1937, CT1143.M7.
  • Biografisch woordenboek van Nederland, redactiecommissie I. Schoffer ... (et al.), 1979-, CT1143.B56

Scandinavia

Spain and Portugal

Switzerland

Rome, Late Empire; Byzantium

> biography--church

= SUL/AIR internet resource; Stanford only = requires Stanford IP address; http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png = external link | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

Europa Sacra Online Stanford only draws its initial information from: C. Eubel, Hierarchia catholica medii aevi... ab anno 1198 (1st and 2nd edns. Münster, 1898ff), and P.B. Gams, Series episcoporum ecclesiae catholicae (Regensburg, 1873-86).

Papacy

> biography--saints & scholars

Saints lives, hagiography

= SUL/AIR internet resource; Stanford only = requires Stanford IP address; http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png = external link | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy

Three and a half centuries have elasped since Fr. John Bollandus (1596-1665), after whom the publishers of the  Acta Sanctorum Stanford only are called Bollandists http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png commenced the task of editing the Acta.  The first two volumes, those of January, were issued in 1643. Since then the it has developed into a series of 68 folio volumes containing the lives of saints celebrated from Jan. 1 to November 10. Three editions of the work have been published: 1) the original edition and only one recognized by the Bollandists, 2) the Venice edition, and 3) the Paris edition. Since 1882 the Acta Sanctorum...quotquot toto orbe coluntur Stanford only has been supplemented by the periodical Analecta Bollandiana, appearing two times a year. It presents results of research, text editions, critical studies and bibliographical information. A third publication, Subsidia hagiographica comprises monographs, critical editions and supplementary reference works. These include the catalogues of hagiographical manuscripts of several important libraries as well as the famous Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina Antiquae Et Mediae Aetatis, which list all Greek and Latin hagiographic texts up to 1500 A.D.

Abbreviations:

Bibliography/guide: See Berlioz, Identifier sources et citations, Chap. 11, pp. 199-200 and the Bollandist's short-list of reference books. A brief guide to hagiography from before 1000 AD available in English translation and A brief guide to scholarship concerning western hagiography in the early middle ages were once found at http://www.artsci.wustl.edu/~tfhead/ (Thomas Head's web page), but appear to be MIA.

BHLms: Index analytique des Catalogues de manuscrits hagiographiques latins publiés par les Bollandistes http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png includes print BHL and supplements listed below:

Calendar: On-line Calendar of Saints Days http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/4/4e/Icon_External_Link_RTL.png maintained by Glenn Gunhouse 

Latin hymns

Dictionaries

There is a clutch of English saints lives which are essentially popularizing digests

more detailed:

Emblems & Iconography: Milburn (1990) Saints and their emblems in English churches, 3rd ed. (BV150.M54, Info Center) has an appendix "An Alphabetical List of Emblems and a Note on Vestments." Another popular work in Reference is Tasker (1993) Encyclopedia of medieval church art (N7943.A1T37, Info Center). It covers representations, in sculpture and stained glass, of Old and New Testament themes; Mary; The Godhead; Saints; The Church; Creatures natural & mythical; Everyday scenes; Stories & proverbial sayings. With its bibliography, it is a handy compendium. However, scholarly works on iconography such as Mâle's L'Art religieux de la fin du Moyen Age en Franceand Kuenstle's Ikonographie der christlichen Kunst are found in the Art Library. See Kaske's Medieval christian literary imagery: a guide to interpretation, pp.100-101 for other

 

scholars, historigraphy & historians

Historigraphy & Historians

Répertoire international des médiévistes; International Directory of Medievalists Stanford<br />
 only

> collecting policy including manuscripts