Methods and protocols | Stanford Libraries

Methods and protocols

Resources to find methods and protocols used in biology and chemistry. 

Table of Contents

Home

For additional information about synthetic methods in chemistry, see related Topic Guides.

 

Bio-protocol
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
An e-journal founded in 2010 by a group of Stanford researchers. A postdoc-driven non-profit, free access, and peer-reviewed source of protocols in the life sciences. Its mission is to make life-science research more efficient and reproducible by curating and hosting high quality, open-access, life science protocols. There are no fees for participating, and its main goal is seeking reproducibility and reliability of experiments.
BioTechniques
[Natick, MA : Eaton Pub. Co., c1983-
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Serials » Shelved by title V.62-63 2017
"BioTechniques is a MEDLINE-indexed, peer-reviewed, open access journal that provides the life science research community with an invaluable resource to access latest methods, techniques and protocols." (publisher's description)
Cold Spring Harbor, NY : Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press, 2006-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This interdisciplinary journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Each monthly issue details multiple essential methods—a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques. All protocols are up-to-date and presented in a consistent, easy-to-follow format.
Amsterdam ; Burlington, Mass. : Elsevier, c2012.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
In its four volumes, this major reference work contains a complete treatment of the theory and methodology of sampling in all physical phases and the theory of sample preparation for all major extraction techniques. Fundamentals of sampling and sample preparation are reinforced through comprehensive sections dealing with Biological and Medical, Environmental and Forensic, and Food and Beverage applications.
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Current Protocols is the largest collection of authoritative and regularly-updated step-by-step research techniques and procedures available. With over 20 years of experience and over 11,500 protocols, as well as expert Editorial Boards and a qualified in-house scientific editorial staff, Current Protocols is the leading source of high-quality protocols for life scientists worldwide.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
[Boston, Mass. : MYJoVE Corp., 2006]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.
Methods
San Diego, CA : Academic Press,
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QP601 .M47 V.34 2004
A companion to Methods in Enzymology, Methods focuses on rapidly developing techniques in the experimental biological and medical sciences. Each topical issue, organized by a guest editor who is an expert in the area covered, consists solely of invited quality articles by specialist authors, many of them reviews. Issues are devoted to specific technical approaches with emphasis on clear detailed descriptions of protocols that allow them to be reproduced easily. The background information provided enables researchers to understand the principles underlying the methods; other helpful sections include comparisons of alternative methods giving the advantages and disadvantages of particular methods, guidance on avoiding potential pitfalls, and suggestions for troubleshooting.
Methods in Enzymology
New York : Academic Press, 1955-
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » QP601 .C733 V.2 1955
"The critically acclaimed laboratory standard for almost 50 years, Methods in Enzymology is one of the most highly respected publications in the field of biochemistry. Now with over 500 volumes the series contains much material still relevant today and is truly an essential publication for researchers in all fields of life sciences, including microbiology, biochemistry, cancer research and genetics-just to name a few."
Methods of Biochemical Analysis
New York [etc.] Interscience Publishers.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » QD271 .M46 V.51 2008
Biochemical analysis is a rapidly expanding field and is a key component of modern drug discovery and research. Methods of Biochemical Analysis provides a periodic and authoritative review of the latest achievements in biochemical analysis.
Nature Methods
New York, NY : Nature Pub. Group, c2004-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QH301 .N286 V.5:NO.7-12 2008
"Nature Methods is a forum for the publication of novel methods and significant improvements to tried-and-tested basic research techniques in the life sciences. This monthly publication is aimed at a broad, interdisciplinary audience of academic and industry researchers actively involved in laboratory practice. It provides them with new tools to conduct their research and places a strong emphasis on the immediate practical relevance of the work presented."
nature.com
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"The Protocol Exchange is an open resource where the community of scientists pool their experimental know-how to help accelerate research. The Protocol Exchange strives to facilitate rapid and unencumbered distribution of protocols for scientific research. We welcome Protocols from any branch of science however we focus particularly on Protocols being used to answer outstanding biological and biomedical science research questions, which includes methods grounded in physics and chemistry with a practical application to the study of biological problems." (publisher's description)
protocols.io
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Protocols.io, a free repository of life science research methods and collaborative protocol-centered platform is based in Berkeley, CA." (Center for Open Science)
Sage Research Methods
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
SAGE Research Methods is a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.
Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Science of Synthesis (SoS) provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations; Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab; Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods; Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group; and Intuitive search functions to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization."  Please see Science of Synthesis at Stanford to view online help, learn more about content, and see what's new. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Springer Nature Experiments
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Springer Nature Experiments is a tool to help researchers discover the most relevant protocols and methods. It brings together content from SpringerProtocols, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols and Protocol Exchange.
Springer Protocols
Secaucus, NJ : Springer
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Springer Protocols is the largest subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Compiling protocols from Humana’s successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

Article databases

Analytical Abstracts
[London] : Royal Society of Chemistry
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Items in Analytical Abstracts fall into three main categories: Journal articles, technical reports, and books. More than 250 key international journals are scanned regularly by the Analytical Abstracts editorial team. Over 75% of the original material is published in English, with other major languages being French and German, Russian and other eastern European languages, Chinese, and Japanese." Updated monthly. Covers 1980-present.
Clarivate Analytics
[New York?] : Thomson Reuters.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
BIOSIS Citation Index searches journal articles, meeting abstracts, and other literature in the life sciences.  To find literature about research methods and apparatus, use either Concept Codes or Major Concepts.  These two approaches will find different but overlapping results.  Methods, including microscopic methods, are assigned the Concept Codes 01004 through 01058, and can be found by searching 010* in the Concept Codes index.  The two Major Concepts Equipment Apparatus Devices and Instruments and Methods and Techniques are assigned to literature that is focused on methods.  For best results when searching Major Concepts, select the Major Concepts index and click on Select from List.
CAB Abstracts
Wallingford, Oxfordshire : CAB International, [19--]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
CAB Abstracts indexes journal articles, books, meeting abstracts, and other literature in applied life sciences, including agriculture, environment, and food science.  CAB Abstracts includes the related database, Global Health, which indexes literature in epidemiology and public health from a global perspective.  In CAB Abstracts, pull down the list of indexes and select Descriptors, then click on Select from Thesaurus.  Search for a term of interest (e.g. methods).  Click on the icons next to a term of interest to add the term to your search, view it in the hierarchy of descriptors, or see its description in the thesaurus.  If descriptors are not specific enough for your topic, add another search field on the main search page and add more specific words.
MethodsNow-small
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
MethodsNow is a curated collection of methods covering emerging science in both analytical and synthetic chemistry. It is a collection of over 2 million synthetic and analytic methods. with more to come: Focused indexing, step-by-step instruction; Details for analytical researchers such as matrix, analyte, instrumentation and comparison capabilities. Synthetic researchers will find relevant content right inside SciFinder, Analytical researchers will find relevant content in a newly-designed interface tailored for their search needs.  View Training Videos
PubMed
Bethesda, MD : National Center for Biotechnology Information, [1997]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
PubMed indexes journal articles in biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.  Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the controlled vocabulary used to index articles for PubMed, and MeSH is the best approach for finding articles that focus on research methods and apparatus.  In PubMed, select MeSH from the list of databases and enter words that describe your method of interest.  PubMed can guide you to useful MeSH terms through alphabetical and hierarchical displays.  Restricting to MeSH major topic can help narrow a search.  Consider using the subheadings.  Methods and Instrumentation are two particularly useful subheadings.
SciFinder
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry and chemical engineering.  The database indexes 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, book reviews and biographical information.  Each document indexed for SciFinder is assigned one of the 80 Chemical Abstracts sections, and the section title Biochemical Methods is useful for finding articles that describe methods and procedures in biochemistry.  In SciFinder, enter a search on a topic of interest and display results.  Under the Analyze tab, pull down the list of fields and select CA Section Title.  Find Biochemical Methods in the list of section titles.
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking