You are here

Mind vs. Brain: The Rhetoric of Consciousness

PWR 1GAU - Spring 2014 - Instructor: Ueda, A.
Last Updated: 2-Apr-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 1GAU: Mind vs. Brain: The Rhetoric of Consciousness.

Subject Librarians

Sr. Reference Specialist; Summer Instruction Coordinator
(650) 724-6980
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Background/Reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

Electronic Searcheable Handbook with chapters on: Consciousness in Infants; Animal Consciousness. Normal and Abnormal States of Consciousness. Altered States of Consciousness: Drug Induced States.  Split-Brain Cases. Coming Together: the Unity of Conscious Experience. Quantum Mechanical Theories of Consciousness. Neurobiological Framework for Consciousness. Neuroscience of Free Will. Eastern Methods for Investigating Mind and Consciousness.
2nd ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » BF121 .H213 2013 V.1
Also available online. Click on the Online link for the digital edition.
London : Academic Press, 2009.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF311 .E53 2009 V.1
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF311 .E497 2010 V.1
3rd ed. Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley & Sons, c2009.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF724 .H33 2009 V.1
1st ed. Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » H41 .I58 2001 V.1
London ; Burlington, MA : Academic Press, c2010.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP360 .E52 2010 V.1
Palo Alto, Calif. : Annual Reviews, Inc.

Suggested Databases

When you are just starting, it's a good idea to use the ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER database. Besides the selected general and subject-specific databases listed here , try these databases for articles to support your research. 

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association,
[Evanston, Ill.] : American Theological Association, [Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO Information Services
Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, [200-?]-

Citations and Bibliographic Management

Searchworks and many other databases you will use allow you to get a simple citation by using a "CiteThis" feature or gather more information by using a Send to/Export feature to send records to bibliographic management tools such as Refworks or EndNote.  You can also use resources such as Zotero or Mendeley to gather information including citations.  For more on these, see the guide to Bibliography Management.