You are here

Mobile apps for chemists and chemical engineers

Last Updated: 12-Nov-2014

This guide contains tablet and smart phone apps of potential interest to chemists and chemical engineers

Subject Librarians

Grace Baysinger
Head Librarian and Bibliographer of the Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library
(650) 725-1039
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Home

Mobile resources may be available in iOS or Android, or may be web sites that support mobile devices. Please assume that resources listed below are iOS unless specified otherwise.

Inclusion of items in this guide is not meant as an endorsement of any product.

The Scientific Mobile Applications Wiki is another site that has an extensive list of apps.

Formulas, structures, reactions


CatApp
Calculated reaction and activation energies for elementary coupling reactions occurring on metal surfaces can be found by using a web application called CatApp. This tool provides access to data for reactions of molecules with up to three C, N, or O atoms on a number of different transition-metal surfaces. The underlying dataset is generated from a consistent set of DFT calculations and extrapolations based on linear scaling relations. By SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory.


ChemFormula
ChemFormula is a molecular formula and weight calculator ideal for students and anyone else who needs to quickly translate arbitrarily complex formulas into empirical formulas with molecular weights. Written by a chemist, it includes support for a large number of common chemical abbreviations, functional groups, and protecting groups. In addition to providing formula analysis, ChemFormula can search several major suppliers for commercial availability. By Synthetiq Solutions. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Chemistry formulas
This application provides every possible formula for those studying AP Chemistry. It can be used to build your own formula reference in chemistry. It can store cheat sheets, round-ups, quick reference cards, quick reference guides and quick reference sheets, which can be organized with clicks. Moreover, you can add a description to a label on an image. For example, if you want to add more information about a certain element, you can do that. Next time, when you click on that label, a transparent window will appear with the description you have entered. By Alterme Inc.

goREACT
goREACT
With goREACT, you can become a virtual chemist. Whether you're a novice or expert, the free play and guided modes make it fun and fascinating. Primary target audience is middle and high school students. By Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago.


Mobile molecular datasheet
The Mobile Molecular DataSheet (MMDS) provides a way to view and edit chemical structure diagrams on an iPhone, iPod or iPad. The unique and innovative sketcher is optimized for the touchscreen interface, and allows professional quality molecular structures to be drawn quickly and efficiently. Molecules are organized in collections of datasheets. Individual molecules, or whole datasheets, can be shared via iTunes or sent by email, using the standard MDL MOL and SDfile formats, which allows the data to be integrated into any external workflow. By Molecular Materials Informatics, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Named reactions lite
This is the free version of Named Reactions Pro, which contains 300 organic reactions. Named Reactions Lite contains details on a number of common organic reactions, from Aldol to Wittig. Reactions are fully indexed and searchable, and can be visually browsed through an intuitive “reaction card” view. Each reaction includes a description, tags, related reactions, reaction scheme, and carefully depicted mechanism. No Internet connection is required. By Synthetiq Solutions.


Named reactions pro
Named Reactions Pro contains details on over 300 organic reactions, from the acetoacetic ester synthesis to the Zincke reaction. Reactions are fully indexed and searchable, and can be visually browsed through an intuitive “reaction card” view. Each reaction includes a description, tags, related reactions, reaction scheme, and carefully depicted mechanism. No Internet connection is required. By Synthetiq Solutions. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Named reactions student
Named Reactions Student includes all named organic reactions covered in undergraduate chemistry courses. Not only a great study aid, Named Reactions Student is a great app for individuals preparing to take the GRE, the MCAT, and other graduate school standardized admissions exams. Each reaction includes a description, tags, related reactions, reaction scheme, and carefully depicted mechanism. No Internet connection is required. By Synthetiq Solutions.


Organic named reactions
Developed under the auspices of Professor Silas Cook, Organic Named Reactions currently covers over 25 basic organic chemistry reactions useful for undergraduate and graduate students alike. The named reactions are presented in “flash card” format to help students learn names, mechanisms, and reaction conditions. The various study modes provide a multitude of learning options to help chemists master these reactions quickly. Learn at your own pace and impress your colleagues with your newfound knowledge. The app features an easy-to-use interface, named reactions important to all organic chemists, a stable user interface, and a master listing of reactions. Look for free updates that expand the reaction list. By Indiana University. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Reaction101
Reaction101 provides a way to draw chemical reactions on an iPhone, iPod or iPad. Built from components of the Mobile Molecular DataSheet (MMDS) from Molecular Materials Informatics, and integrated with the Mobile Reagents database from Eidogen-Sertanty, this app provides a quick but powerful way to create, view, edit, balance and store reactions on a mobile device. By Molecular Materials Informatics, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


ReactionFlash
Named organic chemistry reactions, usually named after their discoverers, are a fundamental part of every chemist’s toolkit. ReactionFlash helps you learn and understand named reactions: from the famous, to those you’ve forgotten, to those only a Nobel Prize Winner knows! Not only does the app give you the reaction, it also shows you the known mechanism, recent literature examples from Reaxys, and even allows you to test your skills with the ReactionFlash quiz. By Elsevier Properties SA. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Reagents
Reagents contains information on more than 80 reagents covered in typical undergraduate organic chemistry courses, along with a summary of all their important reactions. By Metamolecular, LLC.


Sanros: strategic applications of named reactions in organic synthesis
Search and examine 25 (free) or all 250 (paid) important chemical transformations from the best-selling book Strategic Applications of Named Reactions in Organic Synthesis by László Kürti and Barbara Czakó. A helpful list of over 450 chemical abbreviations you may encounter in your research is also included. For each abbreviation or acronym, view the full name and structure, where relevant. Ideal if you are learning named processes as part of an undergraduate or graduate course, or for quick review of an important organic reaction name that you have forgotten. Also useful to set or solve synthetic problems for research groups. By Elsevier, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


SPRESImobile
SPRESImobile provides you with a powerful and convenient way to access ChemReact, containing around 410,000 chemical reactions and related references. InfoChem created ChemReact for chemists who need information about effective reaction transformations. We achieved this by selecting representative examples of each reaction type from the larger SPRESI data collection of 1974–2001. By Eidogen-Sertanty. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Yield101
Yield101 is the lab-bench companion app for Reaction101: define your reaction components (reactants and products), and enter any quantity data you have available, which includes: stoichiometric equivalence, mass, volume, moles, density, and concentration. Yield101 will calculate the missing values when possible, and calculate the final percentage yield for products. Edit and view your reaction yield-scheme on your device, or email the data with a PDF attachment, print it directly, or share it online. Yield101 will automatically check each component structure for availability in the Mobile Reagents collection, and provides an easy way to browse them. By Molecular Materials Informatics, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

Journals, magazines, news


ACS mobile
ACS Mobile provides readers with a multi-journal, up-to-the-minute live stream of new peer-reviewed research content (Articles ASAP) published across the Society’s preeminent portfolio of scholarly research journals, including the flagship Journal of the American Chemical Society. The application also includes a “Latest News” feed from Chemical and Engineering News — the Society’s industry-leading magazine and preferred source of online news for its more than 161,000 member professionals. ACS Mobile makes a scientist’s daily commute, business travel, or time away from the desk or laboratory a more rewarding and productive experience. By the American Chemical Society. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Annual reviews mobile
The Annual Reviews mobile website is the gateway to highly cited research on the go, and provides a personalized browsing, searching, and reading experience optimized for mobile use on most iOS, Android and Blackberry devices. To access full-text articles from journals that have been licensed by your institution's library, simply visit www.annualreviews.org from your mobile device while on an authenticated institutional wi-fi network. Your mobile device will be automatically paired with your institution’s access rights. The pairing will then enable you to access content while offsite; it lasts six months, and will be refreshed each time you access the Annual Reviews website while within your institution’s network. By Annual Reviews.


arXiv
The arXiv, hosted at arXiv.org by the Cornell University Library, stores over a half million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Nonlinear Sciences, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, and Statistics. This arXiv app lets you browse new e-prints by archive and subject category, as well as search for e-prints by title, author, abstract text, arXiv iD, or all fields. Once you locate an e-print, you can view its abstract and metadata or scroll through the PDF file. The arXiv app automatically rotates between portrait and landscape orientation for optimal PDF viewing. Also, if you tap an author’s name in an article screen, the arXiv app will automatically search for all e-prints by that author. By Greg Landweber.


Beilstein journals
Read all articles of the two Open Access journals “Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry” and “Beilstein Journal of Nanotechnology.” Read the full text of all articles, read PDFs online or store offline in iBooks, browse and search all articles, send article links by email, go to linked lab videos. Android version. By Beilstein-Institut.


BrowZine
Find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from your university or college library, or through Open Access publishers, covering all disciplines. Browse titles by subject to easily find journals of interest; easily view table of contents of current past journals; create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals; save articles to Zotero, Dropbox, and other services; share with other researchers by posting to Facebook, Twitter and more. iPad only. By Third Iron, LLC. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


C&EN mobile
Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN) is a weekly magazine published by the American Chemical Society. C&EN delivers the latest news from the entire chemistry world, including research, business, education, government, and more. Download C&EN Mobile for free to access daily news updates from C&EN Online, analysis and commentary from the CENtral Science blog network, and the latest chemistry job postings. Make In-App purchases of individual issues of C&EN Magazine for only $2.99 each. All August issues are free. Members of the American Chemical Society will soon be able to access all issues in the app for no charge. Android version. More about C&EN Mobile from C&EN. By the American Chemical Society. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Cell alerts
The Cell Alerts iPhone application allows you to keep up to date with articles published in Cell Press research journals, and upcoming conferences in your field. Download the free application to view article, graphical, video, and audio abstracts immediately upon publication. Search for articles using either title or author name, or browse listings organized by journal and publication date. In addition, browse through comprehensive upcoming conference listings which can be filtered by your area of interest. By Cell Press.


Chem world
Published by the Royal Society of Chemistry, Chemistry World is the best way to keep up to date with the world of chemistry. The latest chemistry news will be delivered to your iPhone every day together with weekly and monthly podcasts and some of the best chemistry blog posts around. By Sweb Development. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Discovery news
Discovery News is the collective effort of a team of experienced journalists dedicated to better understanding the world around us and satisfying the curiosity of our readers. With the Discovery News app, you will be constantly updated with news articles, video stories, special features and more. By Discovery News.


Elsevier conferences
Elsevier Conferences serves as a portable event guide for selected Elsevier conferences. There are no books or papers to carry. Users can view and plan their personal event timetable, look up speaker information, see their location on a floor map, and perform various additional activities that a physical event guidebook would not allow. By Web Spiders.


ePhysics science news
ePhysics is an easy to use centralized physics and science news app that puts the latest headlines about quantum theory, string theory, astronomy and the large hadron collider at your fingertips. Includes popular news from leading physics and science websites, as well as access to the latest papers published by leading researchers, all in one easy to use app. By Bluewater Publishing.


HHMI bulletin
Free science magazine app offers scientist-vetted content presented in an in-depth, narrative form. This is engaging storytelling designed for a general audience — 100 percent content, no ads. A lean-back-and-relax experience, in either landscape or portrait view. Download a new issue each quarter and learn about the innovative work of researchers and science educators supported by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. By Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


IEEE xplore mobile digital library
IEEE Xplore Mobile lets you search and view IEEE Xplore research directly from your mobile device. You can search valuable journals and magazines, conference proceedings and standards, and view all search results. You can also refine your search using multiple facets for more targeted results. Scroll to the bottom of the search results page to view the selections. Access to full-text documents is based on your subscription terms. Mobile-friendly web interface. By IEEE.


IOPscience express
IOPscience express allows you to view and download the latest papers to appear in IOP-owned journals. You can also search for articles published by IOP over the last two years, and email information about selected articles to yourself or a colleague to enable access to the article from a desktop computer. By IOP Publishing.


iResearch
iResearch was created to allow the user to read AIP article content offline and store articles locally. The application caches all content that it receives, and does require a wireless or wifi connection to obtain the content initially and to subsequently update that content. When you have navigated through the journals and are ready to download an article you may access them via your individual subscription, an institutional subscription (via IP authentication) or by using a pay per view account. If you like an article save it locally to your iPhone or iPod touch. By American Institute of Physics.


JACS beta mobile projects
The testing ground for the ACS Publications web platform, JACS Beta presents, encourages, and facilitates innovations and new approaches to the presentation of chemical and related research to further communication and understanding as emerging fields and disciplines blend at the interfaces of chemistry, biology, and beyond. Mobile Projects: See how a mobile version of the JACS website might look and function in the future. Start by trying out our mobile version of the Table of Contents and the full text of an article looks like on your mobile device. Over time, the list of mobile projects will grow as ACS explores how to best represent the different parts of the ACS Publications website in a mobile format. Mobile-friendly web interface. By ACS Publications.


JSTOR mobile
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly content. We use information technology and tools to increase productivity and facilitate new forms of scholarship. Mobile-friendly web interface. By JSTOR.


Nature human genome special edition
The draft human genome sequence announced in 2000 promised great insights into human biology, medicine and evolution. To celebrate the 10th anniversary, Nature has repackaged the Human Genome at Ten news special into a free iPad App. In this special, Nature asks whether the sequence has delivered the insights that were anticipated, and what lessons have been learned from the first post-genome decade. Human genetics in 2010 looks infinitely more complex, and questions about how to make sense of the explosion in biological data are only becoming more pressing. By Nature Publishing Group. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


NatureJournals
Keep up to date with the latest scientific research and news from Nature Publishing Group. iPad only. By Nature Publishing Group. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


NYTimes for iPad
Enjoy the award-winning journalism of The New York Times on your iPad. The improved NYTimes app for iPad now has more content, including blogs, videos and slide shows. Enjoy our Top News section for free, or subscribe and unlock all the sections in the app and get unlimited access to NYTimes.com on any device. By The New York Times Company. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


PhysicsWorld newsflash
The physicsworld.com newsflash app gives you access to the top news articles appearing on physicsworld.com, the world’s leading physics news site from IOP Publishing. As well as providing breaking news, physicsworld.com has in-depth analysis, multimedia content and a lively blog, allowing users to engage with others in the international physics community. By IOP Publishing.


Phys.Org news
Stay up to the minute with the full feature mobile app featuring an all you can consume science and technology selection of news stories. You may customize the app with your favorite news categories from Phys.Org. Over 50 news stories every weekday covering a full range of sci-tech topics. Categories include physics, earth science, medicine, nanotechnology, electronics, space, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, and mathematics. The app gives readers access to all Phys.Org content via your Apple mobile device. Users may rate, rank, bookmark and share favorite stories via Twitter or email directly from the app. By Omicron Tech Ltd.


Phys.Org news hd
Stay up to the minute with the full feature mobile app featuring an all you can consume science and technology selection of news stories. You may customize the app with your favorite news categories from Phys.Org. Over 50 news stories every weekday covering a full range of sci-tech topics. Categories include physics, earth science, medicine, nanotechnology, electronics, space, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, and mathematics. The app gives readers access to all Phys.Org content via your Apple mobile device. Users may rate, rank, bookmark and share favorite stories via Twitter or email directly from the app. By Omicron Tech Ltd. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Phys.Org news lite
The Lite version features daily spotlight science and technology news stories from Phys.Org. Read our most popular content anywhere and anytime. This includes stories in the fields of physics, earth science, medicine, nanotechnology, electronics, space, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, and mathematics. Readers may rate, bookmark and share favorite stories via Twitter or email directly from the app. By Omicron Tech Ltd.


Phys.Org news lite hd
The Lite iPad version features daily spotlight science and technology news stories from Phys.Org. Read our most popular content anywhere and anytime. This includes stories in the fields of physics, earth science, medicine, nanotechnology, electronics, space, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, and mathematics. Readers may rate, bookmark and share favorite stories via Twitter or email directly from the app. By Omicron Tech Ltd.


PNAS
PNAS, the official journal of the US National Academy of Sciences, is an authoritative source of high-impact, original research that broadly spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. The journal is published daily online in PNAS Early Edition and weekly in print. Easily access the PNAS table of contents and article abstracts directly from your mobile device. By HighWire Press, Stanford University. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


RSC mobile
RSC Mobile provides readers with access to search RSC journals content from our RSC Publishing Platform. If your institution/organisation pays for RSC journals then you can access exactly the same content on this App using your institutions wireless network. Access the most relevant scientific research via Latest Articles or Search options and save articles for reading offline. Android version. By Royal Society of Chemistry.


Science Friday
Science Friday is a weekly science talk show, broadcast live over public radio stations nationwide 2–4 pm Eastern time as part of NPR’s “Talk of the Nation” programming. Each week, we focus on science topics that are in the news and try to bring an educated, balanced discussion to bear on the scientific issues at hand. Panels of expert guests join Science Friday’s host, Ira Flatow, a veteran science journalist, to discuss science and to take questions from listeners during the call-in portion of the program. By Pass Time Software.


Science mobile
Access Science from anywhere. Read summaries and abstracts from Science, Science Translational Medicine, and Science Signaling; bookmark and email yourself links to full text; get the latest news at ScienceNOW; search job openings and tap other resources at Science Careers; access the Science weekly podcast and other multimedia; and store content for reading without an internet connection. By the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Science news prime
SN Prime is published weekly (47 times a year) by the non-profit Society for Science & the Public. Every issue of SN Prime features select content not available elsewhere, including rotating columns on math, science and popular culture, and earth and atmospheric science. A “People” department keeps up with the latest news from the personal side of the scientific enterprise. Additional content includes notices of new books and book reviews, short items on weird and wonderful creatures and an in-depth feature article from a recent edition of Science News magazine. iPad only. By Society for Science & the Public. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


SciVerse ScienceDirect
SciVerse ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently over 9.5 million articles/chapters: a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year. This equates to around 30% of all the world’s research literature. If your institutional library subscribes to SciVerse ScienceDirect online then you can access exactly the same journals and books from your iPhone. About SciVerse ScienceDirect (including registration). By Elsevier B.V. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


SpringerLink
Access Springer’s publication database containing articles and chapters from over 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and over 48,000 books: in total, over 5.4 million documents spanning every area of science, technology and medicine. By Springer. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Taylor and Francis mobile
Taylor & Francis Online Mobile allows users to access 1,600 Journals and Reference Works. This new service is free to use, and offers the following benefits to users: Readers are able to link to their institution’s content via a quick and easy pairing process, as explained in our video demo; The interface is optimized to allow browsing, reading and searching — making the most of smaller screens by using HTML 5; Users are able to login and share links to content via social networks and email; They can also create their own favorites list which is simultaneously saved on Taylor & Francis Online. Mobile-friendly web interface. By Taylor & Francis.

Structure drawing


ChemDoodle mobile
ChemDoodle Mobile is the iPhone companion to the popular chemical publishing desktop application, ChemDoodle. ChemDoodle Mobile is a calculator for drawn organic structures. There are four main windows: Draw, Calculate, Spectra and Help. The Draw window shows a typical ChemDoodle sketcher, where you can draw and store your structures. The Calculate page calculates properties and the Spectra page simulates NMR spectra. All spectra are interactive. The Help page contains a thorough help guide. Also available: ChemDoodle Android and ChemDoodle Desktop. By iChemLabs, LLC.


ChemDraw
Based on the popular chemical drawing software ChemDraw. Create chemically accurate, publication-quality structures and reactions: pre-drawn rings, bonds, functional groups, charges, radicals, arrows, shapes, and stereochemistry. Arrange and adjust diagrams: scaling and moving gestures, lassos, automatic clean-up, structure checking, and color selection. iPad only. By PerkinElmer. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


ChemJuice
ChemJuice lets your finger draw chemical structures. Just drag your finger to draw bonds. Tap on atoms or bonds to delete, change atom symbol or bond type. Drag a bond to expand and make a ring. Hold your finger on an atom to move it. And why not add some notes so you don’t forget why your molecule is so great? Draw more structures, write the notes and you have your own mobile database of molecules. And when you want to share your structure, just email it. ChemJuice also contains a gallery of over a hundred molecules that we think you will find fascinating and the notes will tell you why. By IDBS. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


ChemJuice grande
ChemJuice Grande lets your finger draw chemical structures and build your own mobile database of molecules. Just drag your finger to draw bonds. Tap on atoms or bonds to delete, change atom symbol or bond type. Drag a bond to expand and make a ring. Hold your finger on an atom to move it. And why not add some notes so you don’t forget why your molecule is so great? Draw more structures, write the notes and you have your own mobile database of molecules. Arrange your molecules into collections by tagging them. And when you want to share your structure, just email it. ChemJuice also contains a gallery of over a hundred molecules that we think you will find fascinating and the notes will tell you why. By IDBS.


ChemWriter
ChemWriter is a new system for displaying and editing chemical structures using standard web technologies: HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. ChemWriter is also an ergonomic chemical structure editor that can be used in both Web pages and on mobile devices. Mobile-friendly web interface. By Metamolecular, LLC.


iSpartan
iSpartan is a versatile app for molecular modeling on the iPad, iPhone, and iPod Touch. The app allows any chemist fast and easy access to computational methods that have proven reliable for a large range of molecules. By Wavefunction, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


JSDraw
A chemical structure drawing tool, built on pure javascript, supporting all platforms including iPad and iPhone. Mobile-friendly web interface. By Scilligence.


Mobile molecular datasheet
The Mobile Molecular DataSheet (MMDS) provides a way to view and edit chemical structure diagrams on an iPhone, iPod or iPad. The unique and innovative sketcher is optimized for the touchscreen interface, and allows professional quality molecular structures to be drawn quickly and efficiently. Molecules are organized in collections of datasheets. Individual molecules, or whole datasheets, can be shared via iTunes or sent by email, using the standard MDL MOL and SDfile formats, which allows the data to be integrated into any external workflow. By Molecular Materials Informatics, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


MolPrime
MolPrime is a chemical structure drawing tool based on the unique sketcher from the Mobile Molecular DataSheet (MMDS). Features: draw chemical structures, send structure data via email, open structures from email or web, create graphical images of structures, view structure properties, and use structures to search Mobile Reagents and ChemSpider. By Molecular Materials Informatics, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

3d visualization


Atom in a box
Atom in a Box is an aid for visualizing the Hydrogenic atomic orbitals, the three-dimensional states that the electron occupies in Hydrogen, a prime and otherwise unwieldy example of Quantum Mechanics. It interactively shows what the Hydrogen atom “looks” like. Unique among visualizations of Quantum Mechanics, it uses highly optimized code to perform 3D volumetric raytracing through the electron wavefunction’s probability density and presents its results in real-time. It animates and mathematically describes all 140 eigenstates up to the n=7 energy level. The app links to an online FAQ, and the atom rotates with multitouch and the accelerometer. By Dauger Research, Inc.


Atom in a box hd
Rewritten from scratch for the iPad, Atom in a Box HD is an aid for visualizing the Hydrogen atomic orbitals, the three-dimensional states that the electron occupies in Hydrogen, a prime and otherwise unwieldy example of Quantum Mechanics. It interactively shows, in an immersive environment, what the Hydrogen atom “looks” like. Unique among visualizations of Quantum Mechanics, it uses highly optimized code to perform 3D volumetric raytracing through the electron wavefunction’s probability density and presents its results in real-time. It animates and mathematically describes all 2109 eigenstates up to the n=18 energy level. The app links to an online FAQ, and the atom rotates with the accelerometer and magnetometer. iPad only. By Dauger Research, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Ball and stick
Ball & Stick is a molecular visualization app for molecular modeling, structural biology, biochemistry, and computer-aided drug design. The fast, high-performance viewer is ideal for meetings, conferences, and travel where traditional desktop systems are unavailable and high-quality visualizations are critical. New molecules can be easily downloaded from the RCSB Protein Data Bank for free and are stored on the device for offline interaction. By MolySym, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Chem3D
View and manipulate 3D images of chemical and biochemical structures using common touch, pinch and swipe gestures. Download 3D structures, including proteins, DNA, RNA, crystals, assemblies and small organics. View in high-resolution color as ball and stick, wireframe, cartoon, space filling, rocking. iPad only. By PerkinElmer. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


CMol
CMol is an interactive 3D molecular viewer designed specifically for the iPad, iPhone and iPod touch. CMol allows the user to open and view PDB files with complete control over the representations and colours used for individual chains, residues and atoms. CMol is the first iPad app to provide cartoon and ribbon view, transparency and slabbing for viewing proteins. By Helen Ginn. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Crystal structure visualizer
This application was produced in partnership with John Metcalf at Sheffield Hallam University as a teaching and visualisation aid to be used in conjunction with supporting lectures. The aim of the application is to allow the user to zoom below the surface of three example elements and to explore their differing crystal structures. As the user zooms under the surface of the beautiful images, the aggregated structure flows into view, then falls away to reveal the underlying crystal structure. Full multi-touch support has been added, allowing the user to zoom and rotate the 3d model at any level of detail. A reduced sphere model can be toggled by simply shaking the iPhone. By Robin Keech.


iMolview
iMolview lets you browse and view in 3D protein and DNA structures from Protein Data Bank, and drug molecules from DrugBank. Search for drug names like “ibuprofen” or “gefitinib” in DrugBank, or proteins like “insulin” or “thyroid receptor” in PDB. Information associated with each molecule in these databases is also at your fingertips. Molecular view can be customized with a rich set of molecular representations (wires, balls-and-sticks, space filling, ribbon diagrams, molecular surfaces) and various coloring schemes. Select residues, atoms or chains and color or change their representations individually. Set “inertia” to the maximum and let your molecule spin in 3D indefinitely. By Molsoft.


Molecules
Molecules is an application for viewing three-dimensional renderings of molecules and manipulating them using your fingers. You can rotate the molecules by moving your finger across the display, zoom in or out by using two-finger pinch gestures, or pan the molecule by moving two fingers across the screen at once. These structures can be viewed in both ball-and-stick and spacefilling visualization modes. By Sunset Lake Software. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

ODYSSEY Atomic Orbitals
ODYSSEY Atomic Orbitals
ODYSSEY Atomic Orbitals provides visualization that complements the explanations and idealized pictures typically shown in textbooks. Uniquely, the app contains the results of quantum chemical calculations at high graphical resolution. The complete set of occupied atomic orbitals is available for 22 main group elements. Xenon (54 electrons) is the heaviest atom included. Intuitive gestures allow inspection of the orbitals at any orientation and zoom level. Electron density isosurfaces as well as color-coded cross sections can be examined. Multiple orbitals can be displayed simultaneously if so desired. By Wavefunction, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

ODYSSEY Electron Sharing
ODYSSEY Electron Sharing
ODYSSEY Electron Sharing presents molecular models where ad hoc “bonds” are deliberately not shown. In fact, the visualization includes nothing but the nuclei and the electron cloud, with the latter represented as a series of isosurfaces of the electron density. As the underlying data have been obtained from rigorous first principles calculations, the models provide an unbiased, “raw” view of a number of common substances. By Wavefunction, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

 ODYSSEY Multiple Bonds and Resonance
ODYSSEY Multiple Bonds and Resonance
ODYSSEY Multiple Bonds and Resonance is a visualization app that uses the results of rigorous quantum chemical calculations in order to fight pervasive misconceptions about molecular structure. Models of 51 simple molecules and ions are provided, both inorganic and organic. Each model can be manipulated in 3D with simple gestures. Bond lengths and bond angles can be queried. By Wavefunction, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

ODYSSEY Polar Bonds and Molecules
ODYSSEY VSEPR Theory
ODYSSEY Polar Bonds and Molecules takes an entirely visual approach to distinguishing between nonpolar, polar covalent, and ionic compounds. Quantum chemical calculations are employed to present electron density distributions for more than thirty systems. The distributions are also available as color-coded polarity maps (electrostatic potential maps). Pioneered by Wavefunction’s Spartan software and utilized in countless textbook illustrations, such maps provide an immediate and intuitive feel for the polarity and reactivity of compounds. By Wavefunction, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

ODYSSEY VSEPR Theory
ODYSSEY VSEPR Theory
The ODYSSEY VSEPR Theory app provides three-dimensional models of 50 small molecules and ions as well as a set of generic models that illustrate the conceivable geometries of the theory. Each model can be moved and manipulated with simple touch gestures. Bond lengths and bond angles can be queried. By Wavefunction, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


PyMOL
PyMOL on the iPad is a high-performance enterprise-class 3D molecular visualizer. You can display proteins, nucleic acids, and other chemical structures in a wide variety of representations: lines, sticks, ball-and-stick, spheres/CPK, ribbons, cartoons, putty, meshes, and surfaces. You can search for and download structures from the PDB, PubChem, and your own Dropbox folder. iPad only. By Schrödinger, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

Databases


ChemFormula
ChemFormula is a molecular formula and weight calculator ideal for students and anyone else who needs to quickly translate arbitrarily complex formulas into empirical formulas with molecular weights. Written by a chemist, it includes support for a large number of common chemical abbreviations, functional groups, and protecting groups. In addition to providing formula analysis, ChemFormula can search several major suppliers for commercial availability. By Synthetiq Solutions. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


ChemSpider
ChemSpider Mobile allows you to search the ChemSpider chemical database, provided by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Compounds can be searched by structure or by name, and browsed within the app. Results can be examined by jumping to the web page. Search structures are drawn using the powerful MMDS molecular diagram editor. By Molecular Materials Informatics, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


iKinase
iKinase provides sample structure activity data from Eidogen-Sertanty’s Kinase Knowledgebase (KKB). The KKB is a small molecule activity database that is curated from patents and peer-reviewed publications by an experienced team of PhD chemists and biologists. Within iKinase, a user can search for Kinase targets by standardized names, identify top-active molecules for each target, and drill-down into more detail. iKinase requires an internet connection which enables database searching into Eidogen-Sertanty’s KKB content. By Eidogen-Sertanty.


iKinasePro
iKinasePro provides access into Eidogen-Sertanty’s Kinase Knowledgebase (KKB) with fast and powerful substructure-, similarity-, and super-similarity searching capability. In addition, you can search the kinome by target name, by finger-drawn chemical structures, and/or tap through a vast array of ring structures to circumnavigate the Kinome from several different perspectives. You can also register for alerts to keep current with new KKB updates and receive detailed SAR information by email. By Eidogen-Sertanty.


iProtein
iProtein brings target informatics to a whole new level by providing access to the world’s largest repository of protein structures and models: Eidogen-Sertanty’s Target Informatics Platform (TIP). TIP amplifies the rapidly expanding body of experimental protein structural information found in the Protein Data Bank (PDB) by generating high accuracy protein structural models across sequences found in Swiss-Prot, RefSeq, Ensembl, IPI, etc. Through iProtein, the TIP database can be surveyed by Sequence, Structure/Model, Site, Protein Family, and by co-complexed ligand structures. By Eidogen-Sertanty. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


ISI web of science/science citation index mobile
Information about mobile access to Web of Knowledge. Mobile-friendly web interface. By Thomson Reuters.


Mobile reagents
MObile REagents (MORE) is a scientific app that gives you access to over 5 million molecules and 11 million chemical product variations offered by more than 50 different suppliers. With MORE, you can search reagents by exact or partial name and formula or by drawing a complete or partial structure with your finger tips. You can also limit your search to specific suppliers and bookmark your search results. By Eidogen-Sertanty. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Mobile TOXNET
Mobile TOXNET is an easy to use, mobile-optimized Web interface to the TOXNET databases, covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. Resources available in Mobile ToxNet include: Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), Toxline, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology (DART), Gene-Tox Mutagenicity test data from EPA, Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER), Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed), Toxics Release Inventory (TRI), and Online Directory of Health Organizations (Dirline). Mobile-friendly web interface. By National Library of Medicine.


National library of medicine drug information portal
The Drug Information Portal is a free Web resource from the National Library of Medicine that provides an informative, user friendly entry-way to current drug information for over 32,000 drugs. This mobile optimized web site provides descriptions, drug names, pharmaceutical categories, and structural diagrams. Each record also features information links to 19 other resources including NLM PubMed, NLM LactMed, and Drugs@FDA. The mobile version of a resource is used when available. Mobile-friendly web interface. By National Library of Medicine.


OSTI mobile
Coverage includes Energy Citations Database, DOE Information Bridge, ScienceCinema, DOepatents, and DOE Green Energy. Mobile-friendly web interface. By U.S. Office of Scientific & Technical Information.


PubMed for handhelds
Search box for PubMed database, includes filters for Clinical Queries and Systematic Reviews. Mobile-friendly web interface. By U.S. National Library of Medicine.


PubMed mobile
Simple search box for PubMed database. Mobile-friendly web interface. By U.S. National Library of Medicine.


RCSB PDB mobile
This official mobile app of the RCSB PDB allows you to search the Protein Data Bank and visualize protein structures using either a WiFi or cellular data connection. Search the entire PDB database, view the latest protein structure entries to be released, access your MyPDB account, view the entire catalog of Molecule of the Month, airplay support for high resolution screens and more. By RCSB PDB. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Science.gov mobile
Science.gov searches over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Mobile-friendly web interface. By Science.gov.


SciFinder mobile
Registered SciFinder users at Stanford can access CAS databases via SciFinder Mobile with web-enabled smartphones. There’s no need to download any special apps. SciFinder Mobile provides access to features such as: Explore a research topic, Look up a chemical substance, Find or confirm a property for a substance, Review publications and references for an author or inventor, and Find research published by a company or university. SciFinder users can also review Keep Me Posted results and Saved answer sets. SciFinder at Stanford University. Mobile-friendly web interface. By Chemical Abstracts Service.


SciVerse scopus alerts
Elsevier’s SciVerse Scopus is the leading service for finding and sharing peer-reviewed information that will help you in your research. Search across thousands of scholarly journals from more than 5000 international publishers. Save the important articles in one place for easy look-up. Set up and review email alerts for your favorite searches. Set up email alerts for when an author cites a particular article. Annotate articles with your own notes. Share article links through email or Twitter. This version of SciVerse Scopus Alerts is free and for existing subscribers only. A new version for non subscribers is coming soon. About SciVerse Scopus. By Elsevier B.V. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


WorldCat mobile
Mobile-friendly web interface. By Online Computer Library Center.


WorldWideScience mobile
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway, accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals. Mobile-friendly web interface. By WorldWideScience Alliance.

Periodic tables


EMD PTE
The EMD periodic table of the elements app provides detailed information, state-of-the-art functions and an appealing presentation. It offers the opportunity to learn more about the chemical elements — from classification to element features to their history of discovery. The powerful multi-lingual app renders complex contents intuitively comprehensible: the well-structured and concise arrangement of groups and periods, details for every element, intelligent controls, and numerous selection options provide quick access to needed information. By EMD Chemicals.


Mendeleev’s periodic table
Mendeleev’s periodic table is the most important chemistry reference, arranging all the chemical elements known to this world in an array from left to right and top to bottom in order of increasing atomic number. The periodic table is ubiquitous within the academic discipline of chemistry and provides an extremely useful framework to classify, systematize, and compare all known elements of their chemical behavior. This App can be a good reference to students and professionals practicing Chemistry in their daily work. By ABCOM.


The elements for iPhone 4
This version of The Elements is for iPhone 4 and the latest 4th generation iPod touch only (NOT iPad or iPad 2), in English with American spellings. It features beautiful high-resolution content optimized for the iPhone 4 screen. The Elements for iPhone lets you experience the beauty and fascination of the building blocks of our universe in a way you’ve never seen before. You start off at a periodic table (the home screen) composed of photographs of the real elements which you can explore with your finger. As you move your finger around, the currently active element is shown in the selection area at the top of the page. Tap it once to go to this element’s own page. Here you will find a detailed account of the element and a wealth of samples and objects relating to that element. There are multiple objects for each element, with controls at the top of the page to browse them. It’s when you touch any of the element objects that the real magic starts. Use your finger to turn the object as fast or as slowly as you like. Each object responds effortlessly to your touch, and objects can be “thrown” to set them spinning. Every sample was painstakingly photographed from all sides on a precision turntable. Touch any image with your finger and it will spin fluidly, showing you 360 degrees of exquisite detail. By Element Collection, Inc.


The elements: a visual exploration
The Elements: A Visual Exploration lets you experience the beauty and fascination of the building blocks of our universe in a way you’ve never seen before. You start off at a living periodic table where every element is shown with a smoothly rotating sample. To read about tin, tap the tin soldier. To read about gold, tap the gold nugget. Immediately you see the sample filling nearly the entire screen, photographed to razor sharpness and rotating around a complete circle in front of your eyes. Beside that is a column of facts and figures, each of which can be tapped to bring up rich detail and current information through the embedded Wolfram|Alpha computational knowledge engine. Tap the Wolfram|Alpha button for gold and it tells you the up-to-the-minute market price, along with a hundred other facts about gold. But it’s when you go to each element’s second page that the real magic starts. Carefully photographed objects representing the element fall down, rotating a fraction of a turn as they settle in to form a beautifully composed page. Every one of these objects, well over 500 in total, is a freely rotatable, live object that you can examine from all sides. iPad only. By Element Collection, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

Calculating, graphing


Biological buffer calculator
Chemical/biochemical pocket companion designed by the editors of Current Protocols. Choose from a list of all of the commonly used biological buffer systems, enter your desired volume, pH, and buffer concentration, as well as the concentrations of your stock solutions of the conjugate acid and base, and the calculator will inform you of the exact volumes of these stock solutions to mix in order to obtain the buffer needed. By Wiley Publishing.


Calcbot
Calcbot is a simple and beautifully designed calculator for your iPhone, iPod touch and iPad. Never lose your place in a calculation again with the live as-you-type expression view. Simply swipe the keypad to the left to reveal advanced functions. See your past calculations in the history tape. You can even send old values and expressions back to your calculator or to a friend via email. By Tapbots.


DNA/RNA/protein and general molecular weight calculator
Chemical/biochemical pocket companion designed by the editors of Current Protocols. Type in or copy/paste any nucleic acid base sequence, any protein or peptide amino acid sequence (in one- or three-letter codes accessible from a convenient menu), or any standard chemical formula, and obtain the molecular weight. Allows estimates of the molecular weights of unknown nucleic acid or protein/peptide sequences on the basis of sequence length and average base/amino acid molecular weights. Also includes a list of 1200 of the most commonly encountered organic and inorganic compounds, which may be immediately selected in order to calculate their molecular weights, as well as an easy-to-access list of the chemical elements, which may be plugged into any chemical formula. By Wiley Publishing.


Graphbook
Graphbook is a collection of interactive graphing examples from MathStudio. By Pomegranate Software.


Graphing calculator
Graphing Calculator turns your iPhone or iPod into an intuitive high-resolution function plotter and scientific calculator. Features include the following: A powerful, yet easy to use scientific calculator; Quickly plot and trace multiple equations on the same graph; Custom keyboard to speed up entering in equations; Pinch to zoom and drag/slide for scrolling the graph in real time; The graph view supports portrait and landscape modes; Take screen shots, and e-mail graphs to yourself; Evaluate your graphs at any x value using the calculator screen; Find the exact (x,y) coordinates for roots, intersections, minimums and maximums using the trace mode; Supports graphing polar and parametric equations. By Appcylon LLC. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


MATLAB mobile
A lightweight desktop on your iOS device that connects to a MATLAB session running on the MathWorks Cloud or on your computer. From the convenience of your iOS device, you can run scripts, create figures, and view results. MATLAB Mobile features command-line access to MATLAB; access to your MATLAB workspace; ability to view MATLAB figures on your iOS device; record of commands typed on the iOS device in your command history; custom keyboard; MathWorks Cloud connectivity and storage; Windows, Mac, and Linux connectivity. By MathWorks. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Numbers

Numbers lets you make compelling spreadsheets in minutes — with tables, charts, photos, and graphics — using just your fingers. Choose from 250 easy-to-use functions. Enter and edit data with an intelligent keyboard. Create impressive tables and charts, then move them around the flexible canvas. Spreadsheets look great on iPad, and they’re stunningly sharp on the high-resolution Retina display on iPhone 4 and the latest iPod touch. Numbers uses Smart Zoom to automatically zoom in on data as you edit or type, and zooms back out when you’re done, which makes working with cells and text surprisingly easy on iPhone or iPod touch. By Apple. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Quick graph
Quick Graph is a graphic calculator that takes advantage of the multitouch display and the powerful graphic capabilities of the iPad and iPhone, both in 2D and 3D. A simple, yet intuitive interface that makes it easy to enter and/or edit equations and visualize them in mathematical notation. It’s capable of displaying explicit and implicit (opt) equations as well as inequalities (opt) in both 2D and 3D, in all standard coordinate systems: cartesian, polar, spherical and cylindrical, which can be copied, emailed or saved to the photo library. By Colombiamug.


SciCal
SciCal is a calculator application for the iPad with graphing capabilities and friendly text-input technology similar to TI and Casio FX calculators. SciCal can plot and manipulate graphs of several functions at the same time. Users can also retrieve recent formulas and results from the built-in history memory to put back in the current calculation. By Epsilon Company Pte Ltd.


Solve
Solve solves expressions as you type and features an innovative memory system to store and recall answers. Simply touch the answer to store it and touch the stored answer to use it in an expression. Solve has four tabs that select four different calculators each with its own color.

Reference


ChemInform acronyms
ChemInform Acronyms contains more than 900 acronyms of chemical substances or fragments which have been collected from about 100 chemical journals. In view of the thousands of acronyms devised by authors in the chemical literature, this list is certainly not comprehensive, but it is useful for the identification of the more common abbreviations. For Android. By FIZ CHEMIE Berlin.


CRC physical constants of organic compounds
The app presents the basic physical constants and structure diagrams for approximately 10,900 organic compounds. It includes the compounds most frequently encountered in the laboratory, the workplace, and the environment, with a particular emphasis given to substances that are considered environmental or human health hazards. You can search by compound name, CAS number, mol. wt. value, or molecular formula. By Taylor & Francis Group.


Google Earth
Fly around the planet with a swipe of your finger. Explore distant lands or reacquaint yourself with your childhood home. Search for cities, places, and businesses. Browse layers including roads, borders, places, photos and more. Visit the Earth Gallery to find exciting maps such as real-time earthquakes, planes in flight, hiking trails, city tours, and more. By Google, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Merriam-Webster dictionary
The free Merriam-Webster app brings America’s most useful and respected dictionary to your iPhone. In addition to all the definitions from Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, the app offers voice search — to let you look up a word without having to spell it — along with synonyms, antonyms, example sentences, Word of the Day, and more. A great tool for reference, education, and vocabulary building. The app is free, and supported by ads. By Merriam-Webster, Inc.


National Geographic world atlas
The National Geographic World Atlas brings you the highest resolution images available, delivering the detail, accuracy, and beauty for which National Geographic is known. See the world in any style you prefer: classic (blue ocean), antique, satellite, or road map style. Spin, pan, and zoom in on the world with the interactive 3-D globe and seamless world map layers. Get up-to-date information on every country and capital city in the world, including socio-economic data, demographics, weather, and currency. By National Geographic Society.


NIST standard reference materials mobile
NIST supplies industry, academia, government, and other users with over 1200 reference materials of the highest quality and metrological value. Mobile-friendly web interface. By U.S. NIST.


Wikipedia mobile
Official Wikipedia App for iOS. Wikipedia is the free encyclopedia containing more than 20 million articles in 280 languages, and is the most comprehensive and widely used reference work humans have ever compiled. Features: save article to read later or offline, search articles nearby, share articles, read article in a different language, full text search and more. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

 

Videos, images


Science360 for iPad
Engaging science and engineering images and video from around the globe and a news feed featuring breaking news from institutions funded by the National Science Foundation. Content is either produced by NSF or gathered from scientists, colleges and universities, and NSF science and engineering centers. For iPad only. By the National Science Foundation. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


SpringerImages
Photos, diagrams, graphs, figures and tables taken from Springer’s renowned ebook collection and journal portfolio as well as the images.MD database. Search image captions, keywords and references to find the right image. By Springer. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


TED
Riveting talks from some of the world’s most fascinating people. Browse more than 1,400 TEDTalk videos on the official TED app, even when you’re not online. Watch TEDTalks with subtitles in over 90 languages directly on your device, or use AirPlay to watch them on your home entertainment system. Download full videos to your device and watch them when you’re offline. Listen to an on-demand playlist of TEDTalks audio at any time. The TED app updates almost every day with new talks from TED events around the world. By TED Conferences. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

Writing, managing info, giving presentations


Box
Box makes it easy to access and edit your files, share content and stay connected with your team from anywhere on any device. Share important files with your coworkers. Have your presentation at your fingertips. View updates to your spreadsheet instantly. Open and edit Box files in other apps installed on your device; save content directly to Box from more than 30 compatible apps (full list included in the app). By Box, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


CloudOn
CloudOn provides you the files you want and the applications you need on the devices you love — all in a single workspace. CloudOn Workspace allows you to: use Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint on your iPad to create, review and edit documents; rename, delete and manage documents with your Dropbox, Box or Google Drive accounts. iPad only. By CloudOn, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


EndNote for iPad
EndNote for iPad app enables users to easily view, edit, organize, and share bibliographic research material and PDFs on iPad. Syncing with EndNote online and EndNote for Macintosh or Windows (available separately) extends the power of EndNote for iPad and allows for seamless access to an EndNote reference library from multiple devices and platforms. iPad only. By Thomson Reuters. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Evernote
Evernote turns the iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad into an extension of your brain, helping you remember anything and everything that happens in your life. From notes to ideas to snapshots to recordings, put it all into Evernote and watch as it instantly synchronizes from your iPhone to your Mac or Windows desktop. Key features of Evernote: Create text, photo and audio notes; Auto-synchronize your notes to your Mac, PC, and Web; Makes text within snapshots searchable; Mark notes as “Favorite” for quick access; All notes include geo-location information for mapping and search. Premium Feature: File Synchronization — add, sync, access, and share files (PDF, Word, Excel, PPT, and more) among the different versions of Evernote you use. By Evernote. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


iPeerReview
See the status of your content online and then see your paper when it goes online. Authors and Reviewers both can use this application, and it allows you to use the same application to view the papers you have written and the papers you are reviewing if you are both an author and reviewer. You can save your PDF files locally on your IOS device and read them offline later. By the American Institute of Physics.


Keynote
Exclusively designed for the iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch, Keynote makes creating a world-class presentation — complete with animated charts and transitions — as simple as touching and tapping. Use full-screen view to present right on your iPad, iPhone, or iPod touch. If you’re presenting to a large audience, connect your device to a projector or HDTV and preview your slides and notes using the presenter display. By Apple. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


LabArchives
This app enables LabArchives users to view images in their LabArchives Notebooks as well as to take and upload photos into their Notebooks. Descriptions may be added to pictures, and photos may be resized when connectivity is limited. Stay organized and improve your productivity in the laboratory or lab class. LabArchives enables you to make notes, store photos and other data, and makes all completely searchable. With LabArchives for the iPhone and iPad, you can snap photos of posters, gels, whiteboards, or even books and have them stored safely in your Notebook from anywhere in the world. By LabArchives. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

Mendeley
Mendeley
Mendeley is academic software that indexes and organizes all of your PDF documents and research papers into your own personal digital library. It gathers document details from your PDFs allowing you to effortlessly search, organize and cite. It also looks up PubMed, CrossRef, DOIs and other related document details automatically, importing papers quickly and easily from resources such as Google Scholar, ACM, IEEE and many more at the click of a button. By Mendeley. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Notability
Notability is a note-taking app for iPad that automatically links notes with audio recordings. Notability supports all of your note-taking needs: handwriting, PDF annotation, word processing, and more work together allowing you to create comprehensive notes, quickly and simply. Auto Sync ensures your notes are backed up safely. By Ginger Labs. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Pages
Exclusively designed for the iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch, Pages lets you create, edit, and view documents wherever you are. Every page looks stunning and clear on iPad — and also on iPhone 4 and the latest iPod touch, thanks to the high-resolution Retina display. Pages uses Smart Zoom to automatically zoom in on text while you type and zooms back out when you’re done, so it’s easy to write and edit on iPhone and iPod touch. By Apple. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Quickoffice pro hd
Create, edit, access and share Microsoft Office files. With this iPad-enhanced mobile office solution, you will have full control of creating, editing, formatting, accessing and sharing documents, spreadsheets, presentations. The Connected Filemanager also enables you to remotely access, transfer, share and manage your files on MobileMe, Dropbox, Google Docs, Box, Huddle, SugarSync, Slideshare, Scribd, and Docstoc. By Quickoffice, Inc.


RefMobile
RefMobile gives you access to your references in RefWorks from your smart phone. Search within your RefWorks account; View all references and file attachments (if the attachment type is supported by your mobile device); View references by folder; Add or remove references to/from a folder; Create new folders; Enter new references via SmartAdd, which locates references on the web when you enter an ISBN, DOI, PubMed ID, first author and pub year, or partial title; and Add comments or text to the Notes field of your references. Mobile-friendly web interface. From RefWorks.


Slideways
Slideways is a way to view photography on the web. View all the latest photos on your favourite photography sites such as Flickr, Picasa and photoblogs. You can also subscribe to RSS photo feeds from many sites from Deviant Art to LIFE magazine. By Khaitu. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

Books


CRCnetBASE mobile
Gives you instant access to the world’s premier scientific and technical eBooks from CRC Press. By Taylor and Francis.


ebrary
Search, read, and download e-books that your institution acquires from leading publishers as well as materials uploaded and integrated by your librarian. You can import your own PDF documents, outside of the ebrary platform, through the app itself. Android version. By ebrary.


GoodReader for iPad
GoodReader is a PDF reader for iPad. With GoodReader on your iPad, you can read virtually anything, anywhere: books, movies, maps, pictures. By Good.iWare Ltd. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Google play books
Google Play Books offers access to over 2 million Google eBooks on your iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad. By Google. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


iBooks
iBooks is a way to download and read books. iBooks includes the iBookstore, where you can download the latest best-selling books or your favorite classics. Browse your library on a beautiful bookshelf, tap a book to open it, flip through pages with a swipe or a tap, and bookmark or add notes to your favorite passages. By Apple. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


SciVerse sciencedirect
SciVerse ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently over 9.5 million articles/chapters: a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year. This equates to around 30% of all the world’s research literature. If your institutional library subscribes to SciVerse ScienceDirect online then you can access exactly the same journals and books from your iPhone. About SciVerse ScienceDirect (including registration). By Elsevier B.V. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


SpringerLink
Access Springer’s publication database containing articles and chapters from over 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and over 48,000 books — in total, over 5.4 million documents spanning every area of science, technology and medicine. By Springer. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

Stanford


iCardinal
iCardinal brings you scores, stats, news, schedules, and other information about Stanford University’s varsity sports teams. iCardinal also offers Stanford fans social media integrated content to enhance the football game day experience at Stanford Stadium. Order concessions from your seat, watch instant replays, share photos, check scores, access the venue guide to find your seat and surrounding services, and more. By Taqtile Mobility, LLC.


iStanford
iStanford helps you stay connected to Stanford University from wherever you are. Find people in the public directory, get in touch instantly, find places on the campus map, see real-time bus locations, take virtual tours, stay informed with the latest campus news, keep tabs on Cardinal sports, watch videos, check grades, access course content, browse the course catalog, and even listen to podcasts of popular lectures in iTunes U. You can even find library resources including location and call number, and see current availability. More about Stanford Mobile. Android version. Blackberry version. By Stanford University. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Stanford business magazine
Stanford Business Magazine showcases ideas and activities of the alumni, faculty, and students of the Stanford Graduate School of Business. This app includes issues dating from Autumn 2010. New issues will be available for download three times a year in a format similar to the print magazine, but excluding the class notes which are available online to alumni only. By Texterity, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Stanford continuing studies
Access the Stanford Continuing Studies catalogue of courses in a mobile format. Stanford Continuing Studies invites you to join our open learning community. Each year, more than 11,000 students take our courses to enrich their intellectual and professional lives. We have no formal application process, and all students at least 18 years old are welcome to attend. Grades are not required. We are here to help you nourish your mind in the company of Stanford instructors and your fellow students. By Texterity, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.


Stanford magazine
The Stanford Magazine app has all the latest research finds, thought-provoking reads and fascinating alumni profiles you’ve come to expect from the award-winning print magazine. Plus our news feeds supply you with the most recent scoops from Stanford. This app includes issues dating back to January/February 2011. New issues will be available for download bimonthly. By Texterity, Inc. Installed on Swain Library iPad.

 
Visit Stanford
Spend an hour with a student guide exploring the highlights of Stanford’s beautiful campus. This is a great introduction for visitors and tourists. By GoTourIt. Installed on Swain Library iPad.