You are here

Money for "Nothing" : The Rhetoric of the Silicon Valley

PWR 1GWT - Winter 2014 - Instructor: Trump, W.
Last Updated: 20-Mar-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 1GWT:  Money for "Nothing" : The Rhetoric of the Silicon Valley. Topics include connectedness between Stanford and Silicon Valley; analysis of some aspect of a particualr place or institution in Silicon Valley; arguments about the role of gender in the Valley; a study of Silicon Valley's relationship to Washington DC and national politics; the idea of a "digital divide"; or the stories generated in and around Silicon Valley.

Background and reference sources

Article resources

Suggested database for articles about Stanford University and the Silicon Valley, tech entrepreneurs, women in technology.

Global ed. [Ann Arbor, Mich. : UMI]
Covers over 1,600 leading business and management publications. Over 350 English-language titles from outside the U.S. Also includes articles on 60,000 companies,  and the Wall Street journal. Coverage from 1923 forward.
Hoboken, N.J. : Elsevier Engineering Information, Inc.
May be useful for background information.  Provides citations and  brief abstracts to journal articles and conference proceedings in all fields of engineering including computer science, electrical engineering and software development.  Find it at Stanford links enabled to help locate the full-text.
Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information, c1998-
Index to scientific and technical articles and conference proceedings. Provides citations and brief abstracts to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in science, technology and medicine and allied historical fields from prehistory to the present.  Check here for papers on current innovations by the people who are inventing.
Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
May be useful for background on innovation.  Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

Books

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2006.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » QA76.9 .W65 W66 2006
2nd ed. New York, NY : McGraw Hill, 2000.
Green Library » HAS-DIGIT (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » QA76.5 .F697 2000
Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, 2004.
Green Library » Stacks » TK6545 .T47 G55 2004
New York : John Wiley, c2000.
Green Library » Stacks » HD62.37 .S56 2000
Newly rev. and expanded. New York : HarperBusiness, c1996.
Green Library » HAS California History (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » HD9696 .C63 U51586 1996
Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2006.
Green Library » Stacks » HC59.72 .H53 S29 2006
1st Harvard University Press pbk. ed. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 1996.
Green Library » Bender Room (non-circulating) » HC107 .C22 N677 1996
[Lausanne] : Hervé Lebret, c2007.
Green Library » Stacks » HC107 .C23 H5347 2007

Selected web resources

Multimedia resources

In 1957, Fairchild Semiconductor became the third company in Silicon Valley.
Burbank, CA : Warner Home Video, 2005.
Green Library » Media & Microtext Center (Lower level) » ZDVD 15759
Based on the book, "Fire in the Valley."
Palo Alto, Calif. : Hewlett-Packard Development Co., c2005.
Green Library » Media & Microtext Center (Lower level) » ZDVD 14880
History of HP.
Includes interviews of Steve Jobs and Bill Gates.  Based on the book, "Accidental Empires".