You are here

Motivation and education

Last Updated: 25-Aug-2014

This guide is for those interested in motivation as applied to education, both research and practice.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background information

2nd ed. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1051 .H2354 2006
Sections include: "Foundations of the Discipline," "Development and Individual Differences," "Cognition and Cognitive Process," "Motivation," "Educational Content," "Society and Cultural Perspectives," "The Educational Context," and "Assessment of Learning, Development, and Teaching."
New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1065 .H285 2009
New York : Springer, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
New York : Routledge, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC32 .H36 2011

New books

Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Corwin, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1065 .M44 2014
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1590.3 .H46 2014
Practice-oriented.
Rotterdam : Sense Publishers, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC3995 .B56 R647 2013
Revised edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1027.4 .B76 2013
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1060 .P34 2013
Practice-oriented.
Lanham, Maryland : Rowman & Littlefield Education, [2013]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1025.3 .N66 2013
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1051 .E5145 2013
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1065 .N58 2013
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1065 .F48 2013
Practice-oriented.
Alexandria, Va. : ASCD, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3047 .L46 2012
Practice-oriented.
2nd ed. Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1065 .G48 2013
Practice-oriented.

Journals

[Hanover, Pa.] Academic Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF1 .L4 V.39 2008
"Learning and Motivation features original experimental research devoted to the analysis of basic phenomena and mechanisms of learning, memory, and motivation. These studies, involving either animal or human subjects, examine behavioral, biological, and evolutionary influences on the learning and motivation processes, and often report on an integrated series of experiments that advance knowledge in this field."
New York, Academic Press, 1967-
Green Library » Stacks » BF683 .P78 V.44 2004

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Psychology databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)