You are here

Multicultural education

Last Updated: 20-Nov-2014

This guide is for those interested in multicultural education, both research and practice.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background information

Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC1099 .E38 2012 V.1
"The major aim of this encyclopedia is to describe the most important concepts, theories, research, policies, case studies, and programs at the pre-school through the postsecondary levels and their implications for educational reform. Diversity is defined broadly in this encyclopedia and includes race, ethnicity, social class, gender, sexual orientation (LGBT), religion, language, and exceptionality, which encompasses giftedness and disability." p. xlviii
2nd ed. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC1099.3 .H35 2004
New York : Routledge, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1099.3 .H57 2008 V.1
Santa Barbara : ABC-CLIO, c2001.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LC5151 .G68 2001
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1099.3 .A66 2002
8th ed. Boston, Mass. : Allyn & Bacon, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1099.3 .T54 2010
Wesport, Conn. : Praeger Publishers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC1099.3 .R33 2006 V.1
"These volumes aim to address both the foundational assumptions and the practices of education in relation to changing conceptions of race and ethnicity."
Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC2669 .P73 2007 V.1
"A-Z thematic entries written by contemporary scholars" "including major educational perspectives, policies and concerns, significant events, historical figures in the field, and major organizations--provides a comprehensive educational resource..."
New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1099 .R685 2009
Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LA210 .A15 2008 V.1

New books

Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC3715 .E378 2014
Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1099.5 .G7 A38 2014
London ; New York : Routledge, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1099 .I561 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC913 .U6 J33 2014
London ; New York : Routledge, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1099.5 .I5 R35 2014

Journals

"The Bilingual Research Journal (BRJ) covers a wide range of topics relating to bilingual education, bilingualism in society, and language policy in education."
Mahwah, N.J. : L. Erlbaum Associates, c2002-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Alexandria, Va. : Association for Multicultural Counseling and Development, [c1985-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LC3701 .J6 V.38-39 2010-2011
Dublin, Ireland : Linguistics Institute of Ireland; Clevedon, Avon : Multilingual Matters, c1988-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related Databases

Dublin, Ohio : OCLC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, etc. in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : Association for Asian Studies, [1998- ]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides citations to articles in western-language periodicals and some books pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971 to the present.
Berkeley, Calif. : Chicano Studies Library Publications, University of California, c1990-
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » E184 .M5 C43
Indexes literature on the Mexican American experience, but also includes the broad Latino experience of Puerto Rican Cuban and Central American immigrants.
[Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest Information and Learning
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
Los Angeles, UCLA Latin American Center Publications, University of California.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » AI17 .H5 2006
Over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Baltimore, MD: National Information Services Corp. (NISC), c1991,1996-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.

Websites