You are here

Music business and industry

Last Updated: 18-Nov-2014

Find information on the music business, including digital sales figures, consumer statistics and demographics, employment and wage statistics, file sharing and downloads, and legal information.

Subject Librarians

Ray Heigemeir
Public Services Librarian for Music
(650) 384-9985

Databases

Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A single search of international charting albums and singles under exclusive academic licence from Billboard, the Official Charts Company. Sophisticated tools allow you to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions at the touch of a button"--website.
Cambridge, MA : Forrester, c1997-
Business Library » Online resource » E-RESOURCE
Forrester Research publications analyze a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society.
Rockville, Md. : MarketResearch.com
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Full-text service of market research reports on many topics. Includes more than 40,000 market intelligence publications from 350 publishers worldwide: Market Research reports by Packaged Facts (consumer goods), Kalorama Information (health science), Specialists in Business Information, Simba Information (media industry), Executive Summaries, and MarketLook Reports.
[Washington, D.C.] : OECD
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Statistics and numerical data, including music sales.
[Miamisburg, OH] : LexisNexis, division of Reed Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Search for legal and business news; legislation and court findings; company information; consumer information.
New York : eMarketer, Inc., [200u-]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides market research information related to the Internet, e-business, online marketing and emerging technologies.

Article indexes

Use these oniine indexes to find journal articles:

Global ed. [Ann Arbor, Mich. : UMI]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Includes the Wall Street Journal

Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub., c2005-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Full text for over 10,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,150 peer-reviewed business publications.

[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

165 journals in the business section provide full-text online access.

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.

Reference works

The Graduate School of Business Library offers the following research guides. Additionally, GSB Library Staff provide research assistance to all members of the Stanford community.

 

See also these titles:

[London] : IFPI
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » ML3790 .R43 F 2010
Latest edition in Music Library Reference Room
London ; New York : Routledge, 2010.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML102 .M85 S77 2010
9th ed. Los Angeles : SAGE, c2010.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML3795 .B33 2010
London ; New York : Routledge, 2011.
Music Library » Stacks » ML3790 .R87 2011
4th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ : Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2008.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML3790 .M84 2008
7th ed., hardcover ed. New York : Free Press, 2009.
Music Library » Stacks » ML3790 .P35 2009
4th ed., updated and expanded. New York : Schirmer Trade Books, c2004.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML3790 .B72 2004

Books

Browse books on the sound recording industry:

  1. Gareth Murphy. 2014

  2. Jeong-Won Sin.. 2014

  3. herausgegeben von Steffen Höhne, Matthias Maier und Wolf-Georg Zaddach. 2014