You are here

Nano

Last Updated: 27-Nov-2014

A listing of selected online and print resources for research in Nanoscience, Nanotechnology and Nanofabrication.  Reference support for Nanotechnology can be found at both Terman Engineering Library and Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library.

Subject Librarians

Kathleen Gust
Engineering Librarian for Outreach Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 723-8877
Grace Baysinger
Head Librarian and Bibliographer of the Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library
(650) 725-1039
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Home

This comprehensive work is designed to address the need for a dynamic, authoritative and readily accessible source of information, capturing the full breadth of the subject. Its five volumes, covering a broad spectrum of disciplines including material sciences, chemistry, physics and life sciences. The work focuses on the major classes of nanomaterials in terms of their synthesis, structure and applications.
What is what in the nanoworld, 3rd edition
3rd, rev. & enlarged ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH ; Chichester : John Wiley [distributor], c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This introductory reference summarizes the terms and definitions, most important phenomena, and regulations occurring in the physics, chemistry, technology, and application of nanostructures. A representative collection of fundamental terms and definitions from quantum physics and chemistry, special mathematics, organic and inorganic chemistry, solid state physics, material science and technology accompanies recommended secondary sources for an extended study of any given subject. Each of the more than 2,200 entries, from a few sentences to a page in length, interprets the term or definition in question and briefly presents the main features of the phenomena behind it.

Databases

Sample keywords

Suggested keywords for searching Nanotechnology topics in online library catalogs or databases and other search engines. You can combine them or use plurals or other variations to get more results.

  •     nanocrystal
  •     fullerene
  •     nanostructure
  •     "solid state chemistry"
  •     nanocomposite
  •     "molecular electronics"
  •     nanophotonics
  •     nanofluids
  •     nanotube
  •     nanomedicine
  •     nanoparticle
Engineering Village
Hoboken, N.J. : Elsevier Engineering Information, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Engineering Village is an information discovery platform that includes access to two databases at Stanford. Compendex (Computerized Engineering Index) is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
Inspec
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides a comprehensive index to the published literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, information technology, production, manufacturing and mechanical engineering as well as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics. Coverage begins in 1898.
IEEE Xplore 400x400
[Piscataway, N.J.?] : IEEE, c1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides full-image access to the publications of both the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE); includes all journals, magazines, standards and conference proceedings and is good for nanoscale devices, and nanofabrication topics.
NTRL (old)
Springfield, Va. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, National Technical Information Service,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Containing over 2.0 million bibliographic records, the NTRL Database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments.Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964. Access via NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) also includes full-text access to more than 500,000 documents.
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also includes web sources, patents, articles in-press, book series, conference proceedings, and trade publications. Scopus provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts and humanities. 1996-present plus selected coverage back to 1823."
Berlin : Springer, 2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data. Print copy of Landolt-Bornstein is available at the Swain Library." (Structure Searching)
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 250+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, full-text ejournal and ebook sites, patents, technical reports, reference materials, plus more.

Journals

Selected journal titles

Washington, DC : American Chemical Society
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TA418.9 .N35 A37 V.3:NO.9-12 2009
Tarrytown, NY ; Oxford, England : Elsevier Science, c1995-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 669.05 .A188 V.55:NO.19-20 2007
Piscataway, NJ : Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, c2002-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QH506 .I34 V.3-4 2004-2005
New York, NY : Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, c2002-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » T174.7 .I343 V.3-4:1-4,6 2004-2005
[Dordrecht, Netherlands] : Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1999- [Dordrecht, Netherlands] : Springer Netherlands
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
New York : Published for the Society by the American Institute of Physics, c1991-
Stanford University Libraries » Currently online only » TJ940 .J672 V.27 2009:P.1801-END
London : Nature Pub. Group, 2006-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » T174.7 .N38 V.3:NO.7-12 2008
Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH, c2005-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TA418.9 .N35 S63 V.2:NO.2 2006

Books

Featured titles

Bio- and Bio-inspired Nanomaterials
Weinheim : Wiley, 2014.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Fundamentals of microfabrication and nanotechnology
3rd ed. Boca Raton, FL. : CRC Press, c2012.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks
Nanochemistry
2nd ed. Oxford : Elsevier, 2013.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

New books and e-books on nanotechnology

This feed is generated by the SearchWorks online catalog. It automatically updates as new titles are added.

  1. edited by Carlos R. Cabrera, Félix A. Miranda. 2015

  2. edited by David E. Reisner, T. Pradeep. 2015

  3. edited by Vijaykumar B. Sutariya, University of South Florida, College of Pharmacy, Tampa, Florida, USA, Yashwant Pathak, University of South Florida, College of Pharmacy, Tampa, Florida, USA.. 2015

  4. A. K. Haghi, PhD, Sabu Thomas, PhD, and Moein MehdiPour MirMahaleh. 2015

Key eBook Collections

  • CRCnetBASE: this large online e-book library includes the collection of NANOnetBASE specialty titles.
  • Knovel: The nanotech part of this online book collection focuses on nanoscale materials, nanostructure-dependent properties and phenomena data as well as fabrication and manufacturing techniques.

 

CRCnetBASE_bookcover
[Boca Raton, Fla.] : CRC Press ; London : Taylor and Francis Group.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
CRCnetBASE, a Science, Technology, and Medicine eBook platform from CRC Press, offers a comprehensive eBook collection that delivers more than 9,300 references in over 350 subject areas and more than 40 collections.
[Norwich, N.Y.] : Knovel, 2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Knovel provides access to over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 50 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface. Includes the ability to search numeric data.  Some books have interactive tables.

Encyclopedias

2nd ed. Boca Raton [Fla.] : Taylor & Francis, c2009.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Topics in this 5 volume work include fullerenes and carbon nanotubes, quantum dots and inorganic nanowires, interfacial chemistry, nanostructures, analytical and characterization methods, design and fabrication techniques of nanocomposites, properties of functional nanomaterials, nanostructured catalysts, molecular electronics, optical devices, bionanotechnology, colloidal phenomena--even future and environmental considerations about nanotechnology.
Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology
Dordrecht ; New York : Springer, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The Encyclopedia of Nanotechnology provides a comprehensive and multi-disciplinary reference to the many fields relevant to the general field of nanotechnology. It aims to be a comprehensive and genuinely international reference work and will be aimed at graduate students, researchers, and practitioners.
Nanotechnologies for the life sciences
[1st ed.]. [Weinheim, Germany] : Wiley Interscience, c2007.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Combining the two highly acclaimed reference works, Nanotechnology for the Life Science and Nanomaterials for the Life Sciences, this first comprehensive source will give you a unique perspective to the fascinating field where nanoscale materials and living matter meet. The only reference work of this magnitude, it provides a broad, yet in-depth perspective of numerous facets.
7th ed. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH ; New York : J. Wiley & Sons, 2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"This state-of-the-art reference work details the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc."

Handbooks

Handbook of instrumentation and techniques for semiconductor nanostructure characterization
Singapore ; Hackensack, N.J. : World Scientific Pub. Co., c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
As we delve more deeply into the physics and chemistry of functional materials and processes, we are inexorably driven to the nanoscale. And nowhere is the development of instrumentation and associated techniques more important to scientific progress than in the area of nanoscience. The dramatic expansion of efforts to peer into nanoscale materials and processes has made it critical to capture and summarize the cutting-edge instrumentation and techniques that have become indispensable for scientific investigation in this arena. This handbook is a key resource researchers on instrumentation and techniques for the study of structural, optical and electronic properties of semiconductor nanostructures.
Handbook of Nanofabrication
1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Many of the devices and systems used in modern industry are becoming progressively smaller and have reached the nanoscale domain. Nanofabrication aims at building nanoscale structures, which can act as components, devices, or systems, in large quantities at potentially low cost. Nanofabrication is vital to all nanotechnology fields, especially for the realization of nanotechnology that involves the traditional areas across engineering and science. This title covers the most important nanofabrication techniques so that readers can to learn to produce nanometer-level products as well as collect, process, and analyze data, improve process parameters, and learn how to assist engineers in research, development and manufacture of the same.
Nanomaterials attract tremendous attention in recent researches. Although extensive research has been done in this field it still lacks a comprehensive reference work that presents data on properties of different Nanomaterials. This Handbook of Nanomaterials Properties will be the first single reference work that brings together the various properties with wide breadth and scope.
Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2011.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This handbook is the first comprehensive reference to cover both fundamental and applied aspects of physics at the nanoscale. It offers an introduction to established fundamentals in the field as well as a summary of the most significant developments in research. Contents: Vol. 1 Principles and Methods, Vol. 2 Clusters and Fullerenes, Vol. 3 Nanoparticles and Quantum Dots, Vol. 4 Nanotubes and Nanowires, Vol. 5 Functional Nanomaterials, Vol. 6 Nanoelectronics and Nanophotonics, Vol. 7 Nanomedicine and Nanorobotics
Handbook of Nanosafety
London : Academic Press, c2014.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Written by leading international experts in nanosafety, provides a comprehensive understanding of engineered nanomaterials (ENM), current international nanosafety regulation, and how ENM can be safely handled in the workplace.
Handbook of Nanostructured Materials and Technology
San Diego : Academic Press, c2000.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TA418.9 .N35 H37 2000 V.1
Nanostructured materials and their based technologies have opened up exciting new possibilites for future applications in a number of areas including aerospace, automotive, x-ray technology, batteries, sensors, color imaging, printing, computer chips, medical implants, pharmacy, and cosmetics.  The ability to change properties on the atomic level promises a revolution in many realms of science and technology. Thus, this book details the high level of activity and significant findings are available for those involved in research and development in the field. It also covers industrial findings and corporate support. This five-volume set summarizes fundamentals of nano-science in a comprehensive way.
Nano and molecular electronics handbook
Boca Raton, FL : Taylor & Francis, c2007.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TK7874.8 .N358 2007
Written by acclaimed experts in a number of specialties, this work provides coherent coverage on a spectrum of issues in molecular and nano electronics. It emphasizes device fundamentals and recent innovations, while also exploring novel solutions and far-reaching developments, including the envisioning of new paradigms. The Handbook includes sections on device and system-level molecular and nano electronics, examines biomolecular electronics and processing, and covers recent innovative results
Nanomanufacturing Handbook
Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press/Taylor & Francis, c2007.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » T174.7 .N35244 2007
Breakthroughs in nanotechnology have been coming at a rapid pace. This was fueled by significant worldwide investments by governments and industry. But if these promising young technologies cannot begin to show commercial viability soon, that funding is in danger of disappearing. Scrutinizing the barriers to commercial scale-up of nanotechnologies, this book presents a broad survey of the research being done to bring nanotechnology out of the laboratory and into the factory.
Nanoparticle technology handbook
Amsterdam : Elsevier, c2007.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Nanoparticle technology handles the preparation, processing, application and characterization of nanoparticles. Nanoparticle technology plays an important role in the implementation of nanotechnology in many engineering and industrial fields including electronic devices, advanced ceramics, new batteries, engineered catalysts, paint and ink, Drug Delivery System, biotechnology, etc.; and makes use of the unique of the nanoparticles which are completely different from those of the bulk materials.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » T174.7 .O94 2010 V.1
This three volume handbook presents frontier research in nanoscience and nanotechnology, describes fundamental issues and theories of nanomaterials, and explains state of art technologies in synthesis, manipulation and characterization of nanostructure materials.
Springer Handbook of Nanomaterials
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Nanomaterials inevitably have bright prospects, but even now they play an important role in many areas of industry. Some of these new materials are commercially available and are used in off the shelf products, others are important model systems for physicochemical and materials science research. However, research findings and application data are not compiled in a single work. The Springer Handbook of Nanomaterials collects description and data of materials which have dimensions on the nanoscale. The description of nanomaterials follows the interplay of structure, properties, processing and applications mainly in their solid phase.
Springer handbook of nanotechnology
3rd rev. & extended ed. Berlin : Springer, 2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This handbook integrates the knowledge from nanofabrication, nanodevices, nanomechanics, Nanotribology, materials science, and reliability engineering in just one volume. Beside the presentation of nanostructures, micro/nanofabrication, and micro/nanodevices, special emphasis is on scanning probe microscopy, nanotribology and nanomechanics, molecularly thick films, industrial applications and microdevice reliability, and on social aspects. In its 3rd edition, the book grew from 8 to 9 parts now including a part with chapters on biomimetics. More information is added to such fields as bionanotechnology, nanorobotics, and (bio)MEMS/NEMS, bio/nanotribology and bio/nanomechanics.

Internet resources for nanotechnology