BIOSIS Citation Index indexes the worldwide literature of research in the biological and biomedical sciences. The database covers the entire field of life sciences including original research reports and reviews in field, laboratory, clinical, experimental, and theoretical work. BIOSIS indexes journals, technical reports, meeting proceedings, United States patents, and books in biology, biomedicine, and related areas.
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), Pubmed is a free version of MEDLINE that offers links to GenBank records, other molecular sequence data, and other resources. MEDLINE, produced by the National Library of Medicine, is an index to journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences, including both basic biomedical sciences and clinical practice. It indexes over 4,000 journals.
The Web of Science service, available via ISI Web of Knowledge, includes three core component databases: the expanded version of Science Citation Index (SciSearch), Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The Science Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering over 100 disciplines from 1900 to the present.
xSearch, developed through the Stanford University Libraries' partnership with Deep Web Technologies, provides Stanford researchers and students with a single search option for multiple online resources. Searches may be limited to specific databases, or all available sources may be searched simultaneously. Search results are merged into one relevance ranked list, and are clustered by topic, author, source publication, publisher, and date.
The Allen Brain Atlas is an interactive, genome-wide image database of gene expression. A combination of RNA in situ hybridization data, detailed Reference Atlases and informatics analysis tools are integrated to provide a searchable digital atlas of gene expression. Atlases for the developing mouse brain, the mouse spinal cord, and the human cerebral cortex have been added to the original atlas of the adult mouse brain.
The Association of Neuroscience Departments and Programs website includes information for students and faculty, including research opportunities, neuroscience training programs and employment opportunities. It also gives educational information to students, including undergraduate, graduate and post-doctoral students.
Braininfo allows users to enter in the name of a brain structure and receive information on that structure. The information includes its location in the brain, what has been written about the structure, alternative names and diagrams. It also provides a searchable atlas of brain structures.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interdisciplinary digital journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Each monthly issue details multiple essential methods—a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques.
The Comparative Mammalian Brain Collection compares various mammalian brains in respect to their evolution, development, circuitry and functions. Also included on the website are various cross-sections of mammalian brains and an entire website devoted to the brain of the Florida Manatee.
The Human Brain Project, funded in part by the National Institutes of Health, is an initiative whose objective is to produce a research-based neuroscience curriculum; and to present this curriculum freely via the internet. The Human Brain Project is an initiative of the Open Source Science Project, which was founded in the summer of 2008. The HBP website describes the project, lists its faculty, and provides announcements and updates regarding the project.
The National Brain Databank was established by the Harvard Brain Tissue Resource Center as a publicly accessible data repository to provide neuroscience investigators with secure access to cohort collections. The Databank collects and disseminates gene expression data from microarray experiments on brain tissue samples, along with diagnostic results from postmortem studies of neurological and psychiatric disorders.
The National Institute of Mental Health website contains information about mental health including diseases, illnesses and disorders. It also discusses research in the field, including brain and behavioral research. Information on various meetings, clinical trials, publications and funding is also available.
The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke website includes the latest news in the field, information about clinical trials and research and funding opportunities, as well as giving extensive information about over 350 neurological disorders, including information about research regarding each disorder.
Neurosciences on the Internet is a searchable and browsable index of the Internet. This website allows users to enter a subject or topic in a search field and be able to search various neuroscience resources on the web. It also lists the newest contributions and links added the site in a browsable format.
The Neuroscience Database Gateway, developed and maintained by the Neuroinformatics Committee of the Society for Neuroscience, provides links to five main types of database: databases of experimental data, knowledge bases, software tools for neuroscience, bioinformatics resources, and providers of research materials.
This website from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute discusses scientific information on the subject of all of the senses and how the brain functions. Some topics include seeing color, visualizing motion and the dynamics of the human nose.
Supports the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences.