Once upon a cause: producing picture books for local children

PWR 2EE - Spring 2019 - Instructor: Ellis, E.

A guide to resources for PWR 2EE: Once Upon a Cause: Producing Picture Books for Local Children. Course topics include: visual rhetoric and the rhetoric of fiction; purpose and audience of picture books, the ways they represent (or don't represent) people of color, the significance of gender, and the future of the genre.

Background

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

 

New York : Routledge, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » PS121 .H22 2011
"Distinguished by its multidisciplinary approach, it describes and analyzes the different aspects of literary reading, texts, and contexts to illuminate how the book is transformed within and across different academic figurations of reading and interpreting children's literature."
3rd ed. Boston : Allyn and Bacon, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » Z1037 .A1 N63 2003
Provides an overview of children’s literature. The book offers relevant sections on picture books as well as current issues within children’s books including race and sexual orientation.
Westport, Conn. : Libraries Unlimited, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » Z1037 .E19 2007
A multicultural resource guide arranged thematically including but not limited to Identity and Self-Image, Family and Friends, Traditions, Exploring the Past in Diverse Communities, bullies and bullying. The focus is on books with multicultural themes or diverse experiences.
Athens : University of Georgia Press, c1988.
Green Library » Stacks » Z1033 .P52 N63 1988
Examines the ways pictures communicate information. It examines baby books, alphabet books and then moves on to well-known children’s authors such as Maurice Sendak.
25th anniversary ed. Toronto : Annick Press, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.3 .M819 P22 2005
Ages 4-7; PrK-Gr.3
First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PN1009 .A1 H2576 2017
Cover image of Picture this : how pictures work
Revised and Expanded 25th Anniversary edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » NK1510 .B258 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PS374 .R33 C43 2017
See especially chapter 3 "Multiracial stories in picturebooks"
"This book...is meant to serve as a guide to those who wish to introduce children to good literature, big ideas, critical engagement, and the notion of making meaning through thinking and discussion."

Journals

[New York, etc., APS Publications, etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z1037 .A1 C5 V.39 2008
Boston, The Horn Book Inc.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
[Urbana, Ill., National Council of Teachers of English]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks
[Chicago] : University of Chicago Press,
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks
New York City, 1937-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room

Databases

[New Haven, Conn.?] : Children's Literature
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"an extensive array of information about children's books, video and audio recordings, film strips, and other children-focused media."
[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[New York] : H.W. Wilson, 1987-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The most important index to journals, books and dissertations in literature and language. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Websites

Examples

These are examples of books created in previous classes that are now part of the Cubberley Curriculum Collection.

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .A6813 B55 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .A86357 W49 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .E4448 N56 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .A7127 T47 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3606 .I88453 O45 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .G42 A35 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .R3862 M66 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A594 S26 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A392 T36 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3610 .A7 R35 2016 F
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A744 S49 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .A77685 P38 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .H848 M45 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .R863 A54 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .L4485 D74 2000Z
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .O5247 R33 2000Z
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .O48437 B47 2000Z
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .I45755 T74 2000Z
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .I3652 M37 2000Z
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .E26333 M35 2000Z
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A272544 R63 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .E765 O73 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .E76845 S56 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A93535 S48 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .L3328 J46 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3610 .O6228 P87 2014
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking