You are here

Organic chemistry

Last Updated: 7-Oct-2014

Guide to important resources in Organic Chemistry. Includes key library resources and services, as well as links to selected external websites.  This guide is currently being migrated from http://libguides.stanford.edu/orgchem to this page.

Subject Librarians

Grace Baysinger
Head Librarian and Bibliographer of the Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library
(650) 725-1039
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Home

Featured resources

Comprehensive Organic Synthesis II
Second edition.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"The second edition of Comprehensive Organic Synthesis builds upon the highly respected first edition in drawing together the new common themes that underlie the many disparate areas of organic chemistry. These themes support effective and efficient synthetic strategies, thus providing a comprehensive overview of this important discipline. Fully revised and updated, this new set forms an essential reference work for all those seeking information on the solution of synthetic problems, whether they are experienced practitioners or chemists whose major interests lie outside organic synthesis.  It contains over 170 articles across nine volumes, including detailed analysis of core topics such as bonds, oxidation, and reduction. Includes over 10,000 schemes and images. Important growth areas-including combinatorial chemistry, new technological, industrial, and green chemistry developments are covered extensively."
[Hoboken, NJ?] : John Wiley & Sons, 1999-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Patai covers all aspects of the chemistry of functional groups including physical organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and techniques, reaction mechanisms, synthetic pathways, reactions and strategies plus applications in drug discovery, pharmaceuticals, biochemistry and molecular biology.  All volumes published from 1964 to 1995 are available online in the PATAI’S Chemistry of Functional Groups Backfile.

Keep current

This page contains information to help you stay up-to-date. It includes alerting services that will notify you when newly added items in a database match your search criteria, current awareness publications that you can browse or search, and calendars to meetings and events.

As part of the process, determine where you want to store citations of interest.  For example, consider saving citations in a bibliography management tool. Do you want to have alerts sent to you by email?  Or, do you want to use an RSS news feed aggregator like Feedly to provide access to new items.

BrowZine
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
BrowZine is an app that lets you browse, read and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from the Stanford University Libraries. It is available for iOS and Android tablets plus iOS smart phones.  It will be available for Android smart phones in the near future.  You can browse titles by subject to easily find journals of interest, create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals, be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published, save articles in your personal library.  BrowZine can easily be synced up with Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services to help keep all of your information together in one place. For installation details, please see this blog post: BrowZine table App Now Available from the Stanford Libraries
Web of Knowledge logo small
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Updated daily, Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals.   It provides complete tables of contents and bibliographic information, including abstracts, from about 8,000 journals, 2,000 books, and 7,000 scholarly web sites.  It includes pre-published electronic journal articles and links to the full text.   Database coverage: 1998 to the present.  For more information, please see Fact sheet, Quick Reference Card, and recorded training.

Current Awareness Publications

[Villeurbanne Cedex, France]: Institut de Recherches sur la Catalyse,
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Serials » Shelved by title 2009:NO.5-8
Now only published online, the objective of these Notebooks is to ensure the widest possible dissemination of notable results in Organometallic Chemistry, to suggest new opportunities for research, and to aid in teaching. Written in English since 1985, they contains extracts of recent publications and give schematic representations of results in the application of organometallic compounds in organic synthesis and homogeneous catalysis, new organometallic reactions, or new aspects of bioinorganic and materials chemistry.
Cambridge : Royal Society of Chemistry, 2002-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD501 .C37 F 2009
Offers graphical abstracts of new developments in catalysis. Coverage includes all areas of catalysis research, including homogeneous, heterogeneous and biocatalysis with emphasis on current growth areas such as chiral catalysts, polymerisation catalysts, enzymatic catalysts and clean catalytic methods. Provides fast and effective access to the latest research. Each item is indexed by Authors, Products, Reactants and Catalysts, Catalyst Type and Reaction Type. 
Nottingham, England : Royal Society of Chemistry, 1984-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD262 .M48 2009:NO.1,3-12
Methods in Organic Synthesis (MOS) is an alerting service covering the most important current developments in organic synthesis. It is designed with the synthetic organic chemist in mind, providing informative reaction schemes and covering new reactions and new methods. The service covers such topics as: New reactions and reagents, Functional group changes, The introduction of chiral centres, and Enzyme and biological transformations.
Nottingham, UK : Royal Society of Chemistry, c1987-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD415 .A1 N372 2009
Natural Product Updates (NPU) provides graphical abstracts of new developments in natural product chemistry, selected from dozens of key primary journals. Coverage includes: Isolation studies, Biosynthesis, New natural products, Known compounds from new sources, Structure determinations, and New properties and biological activities.
Stuttgart : Georg Thieme Verlag, c2005-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
In SYNFACTS current research results in synthetic organic chemistry, as they appear in the primary literature, are screened, selected, evaluated summarized, and enriched with personal comments by experts in their fields. The aim of SYNFACTS is to inform readers monthly in a concise manner of the most significant recent developments and future trends in synthetic chemistry in order to maintain the practicing chemist at the forefront of latest development. Also available via RSS feed.

Databases

[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Cambridge : Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre,
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Permanent reserve » QD921 .C36 2014
"The CSD is the world repository of small molecule crystal structures. Stanford has a license to the web version of CSD which is updated weekly. We also have a site license for the Cambridge Crystallographic Database System, Mercury, DASH, Hermes, and SuperStar. (Structure Searching)
[München, Germany] : Info-Chem.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Chemisches Zentralblatt is the first and oldest abstracts journal published in the field of chemistry. It covers the chemical literature from 1830 to 1969, describing the "birth" of chemistry as science, compared to alchemy. In 140 years Chemisches Zentralblatt published 900,000 pages: 700,000 contain around two million abstracts and 200,000 are indexes. InfoChem performed automatic chemical named entity recognition of Chemisches Zentralblatt, creating a structure searchable database that offers language independent search in this relevant historical source." (Structure Searching)
[Philadelphia] : Institute for Scientific Informtion, [1999?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Using information from 41 patent-issuing authorities, DII facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. Descriptive titles and indexing have been added. Find “equivalent” patents published in a language you can read. Also contains both citing and cited patents and literature references, allowing users to move both forward and backward in time from a selected patent. Updated weekly, covers 1963-present." (Structure Searching)
[Sunnyvale, CA] : Symyx
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Accelrys' Available Chemicals Directory via the DiscoveryGate interface is one of the largest structure-searchable collections of commercially available chemicals in the world, with pricing and supplier information for: over 7 million unique chemicals, including 3D models; over 13 million products; over 35 million packages; from about 900 suppliers. With Accelrys ACD you can: identify and locate commercial sources; make side-by-side comparisons of purity, quantity and price; and save valuable time by accessing information from a single source." (Structure Searching)
[New York] : John Wiley & Sons, c2001-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"This on-line work utilizes the full potential of the web by allowing alphanumeric searches through e-EROS and across all Wiley products, and by allowing chemical structure, substructure and reaction searching straight from a chemist's desktop. It contains a database of around 70,000 reactions and around 4000 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches. e-EROS offers a systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis. The Editorial Board are keeping e-EROS up-to-date by regularly adding new reagents and catalysts, and by updating existing articles whenever felt necessary. The A to Z listing covers classical reagents, new "designer" reagents and catalysts." (Structure Searching)
München : InfoChem GmbH,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"SPRESIweb is a web-based retrieval application that provides direct access to the complete content of the SPRESI structure and reaction database. Covering the years 1974 - 2011, this data collection contains 5.52 million compounds, 4.26 million reactions, and 32 million factual data extracted from 675,000 references including 164,000 patents. In the 1970s the All-Union Institute of Scientific and Technical Information of the Academy of Sciences in the USSR (VINITI) in Moscow and the German Zentrale Informationsverarbeitung Chemie (ZIC) in Berlin began to build a chemistry database: SPRESI. The main focus of this data set is organic synthesis, therefore the most important journals in this field are abstracted to include structures, reactions, chemical properties, physical properties, keywords and factual data in the collection." (Structure and Reaction Searching)
New York : John Wiley & Sons, 1942-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD251 .O7 V.85 2014
"Currently containing over 140,000 reactions, Organic Reactions is a comprehensive collection of important synthetic reactions, together with a critical discussion of the reaction and tables that organize all published examples of the topic reactions. Chapters that focus on reactions of current interest are solicited by the board of editors from leading chemists worldwide. The publication process entails a comprehensive peer-review process, ensuring the high quality and attention to detail for which this series is noted. Comprehensive coverage of all examples of a given reaction is provided in tabular form. In addition to providing reaction scope, stereochemical aspects, and side reactions, a selection of representative experimental conditions are given. Online access covers Vol. 25, 1977-present. Also see: Organic Reactions Wiki to view pre-production chapters and condensed versions of published articles."
New York : John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 1921-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .O723 V.90 2013
"Organic Syntheses describes checked and edited experimental procedures, spanning a broad range of synthetic methodologies, and provides chemists with a compendium of new or little known experimental procedures which lead to useful compounds or that illustrate important new developments in methodology. For every procedure, safety warnings are presented along with detailed descriptions for the preparation, purification, and identification of the compound in question. Additionally, special reaction conditions are detailed, along with the source of reagents, helpful waste disposal guidelines, discussions of results, references to the primary literature, and an appendix of nomenclature and registry numbers. The print version was published in Annual volumes and Collective Volumes. Online access covers, Vol. 1, 1921-present." (Structure Searching)
Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Science of Synthesis (SoS) provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations; Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab; Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods; Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group; and Intuitive search functions to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization."  Please see Science of Synthesis at Stanford to view online help, learn more about content, and see what's new. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also includes web sources, patents, articles in-press, book series, conference proceedings, and trade publications. Scopus provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts and humanities. 1996-present plus selected coverage back to 1823."
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 250+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, full-text ejournal and ebook sites, patents, technical reports, reference materials, plus more.

Journals

Books

4th ed. / Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD262 .G665 2007
The Fourth Edition of Greene's Protective Groups in Organic Synthesis continues to be an indispensable reference for controlling the reactivity of the most common functional groups during a synthetic sequence.

Dictionaries

Dictionaries

15th ed. / Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD5 .C74 2007
A compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology.
Version 1.0.0. [Research Triangle Park, N.C.] : International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, 2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Media » QD5 .I86 2006
The Compendium is popularly referred to as the “Gold Book”, in recognition of the contribution of the late Victor Gold, who initiated work on the first edition. It is one of the series of IUPAC “Colour Books” on chemical nomenclature, terminology, symbols and units, and collects together terminology definitions from IUPAC recommendations already published in Pure and Applied Chemistry and in the other Colour Books. The result is a collection of nearly 7000 terms, with authoritative definitions, spanning the whole range of chemistry.
6th ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2003.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » Q123 .M34 2003
For more than a quarter of a century, this amazingly comprehensive dictionary has been a standard international reference. Containing more than 115,000 terms and 125,000 definitions--from 100 areas of science and technology--this trusted resource provides definitions written in clear, simple language, understandable to the general reader, yet is consistent with the specialized use of the term.
Oxford, UK : Oxford University Press, [2000]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words—past and present—from across the English-speaking world. As an historical dictionary, the OED is very different from those of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find these in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books.
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world’s biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

[Hoboken, N.J.?] : John Wiley & Sons.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive analytical chemistry reference available, covering all aspects from theory and instrumentation through to applications and techniques. The chemistry and techniques are described as performed in the laboratory, in the field, or by remote sensing. The level of detail is similar to that of a laboratory protocol and, together with the cited references, will support the analysis of complex inorganic, organic and biological structures by researchers.
[Hoboken, N.J.] : Wiley-Interscience
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The Encyclopedia of Catalysis is a definitive A-to-Z reference work covering the most significant aspects of homogeneous, heterogeneous, asymmetric, biomimetic, and biological catalysis. The principles of catalysis, the scope of catalytic reactions, the preparation, characterization, and use of catalysts including catalytic technology, the modeling of catalytic processes, and related reaction engineering techniques are included.
[Chichester] : Wiley InterScience
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
ECC contains over 300 Articles, all extensively cross-referenced. Technical terms are explained in short Definitions. Each year around 50 new and updated Articles will be added, so that the Encyclopedia will keep up-to-date with the development of computational chemistry. Covers seven areas of computational chemistry from ab-initio computations to biological and biochemical applications.
Expanded online ed. New York : Wiley InterScience.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Since the original publication of this encyclopedia in 1996, the area of magnetic resonance has seen extensive developments and now encompasses a whole range of techniques, NMR, MRI, ESR / EPR, NQR and MSR. This expanded online edition covers all the essential information about the theory, applications and history of magnetic resonance.
San Diego, CA : Academic Press, c2000.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD95 .E55 2000 V.1
The Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry provides authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the whole topic of spectroscopy, from theory to applications. Short articles, each covering one aspect of spectroscopy, provide the professional spectroscopist working in academia or industry with the essential facts and background on areas of spectroscopy peripheral to their own. References at the end of each article directs the reader to the level of detail required for professional purposes.
7th ed. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH ; New York : J. Wiley & Sons, 2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This state-of-the-art reference work details the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc.
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2009.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QP512 .W48 2009 V.1
This encyclopedia illuminates the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences. WECB is an evolving online database of information, combining the most useful features of traditional reference works and review journals in a compelling format designed to exploit the full potential of the online medium. Includes extensive linking to the primary literature and to other online resources.

Handbooks

Handbooks

[Norwich, N.Y.] : Knovel, 2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Knovel provides access to over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 50 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface. Knovel is the leading online technical reference resource for 3 reasons. (1) Knovel locates more potentially relevant answers in a collection. (2) Knovel is better at quickly narrowing the potential answers to those most relevant to your search. (3) Knovel has interactive tables and graphs to help you use and export data.
Web version. Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. CCD online includes: organic compounds (269,000 records); natural products (178,000 records); inorganic and organometallic compounds (103,000 records); drugs (44,000 records); and analytical reagents (14,000 records). Can search by properties and chemical substructure.
Cleveland, Ohio, CRC Press.
Green Library » InfoCenter: Ready Reference (non-circulating) » QD65 .H3 95TH 2014/2015
Continues to be the most accurate, reliable and current resource available on data needed by chemists, physicists and engineers. It provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Now searchable by chemical structure. Note: Section 18 contains sources of physical and chemical data.
2nd ed. / New York : McGraw-Hill, c2004.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD251.3 .G65 2004
This handbook provides comprehensive coverage of organic chemistry; including practical information, key equations and tables, and a thorough introduction to each topic. Revised to include 50% new content. The most important tables in the book (including the largest one: Table 1.15 Physical Properties of Organic Compounds) are presented as Interactive Tables, allowing sorting and filtering, along with extensive search capabilities, both text and numeric.
[Place of publication not identified] : John Wiley and Sons, 2010-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Edited by the inventor of the 12 principles of Green Chemistry, Paul Anastas, this handbook is a one-stop resource covering green catalysis, green solvents, green products and green processes. This handbook is being published online in three parts: Vols 1 to 6 covering green catalysis and green solvents in 2010, followed by vols 7 to 9 in 2011 covering green processes and 10 to 12 in 2012 covering green products.
2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH ; [Chichester : ǂb John Wiley, distributor], c2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This 8 volume handbook provides easily searchable yet comprehensive information. Major topics include: Preparation of Solid Catalysts, Characterization of Solid Catalysts, Model Systems, Elementary Steps and Mechanisms, Kinetics and Transport Processes, Deactivation and Regeneration, Special Catalytic Systems, Laboratory Reactors, Reaction Engineering, Environmental Catalysis, Inorganic Reactions, Energy-related Catalysis, and Organic Reactions.
New York : Wiley-Interscience, c2002.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD412 .P4 H36 2002 V.1
Organized to provide maximum utility to the bench synthetic chemist. The editor is well-known for his work in exploring, developing, and applying organopalladium chemistry. Contributors include over 24 world authorities in the field.
Porphyrins, phthalocyanines and their numerous analogues and derivatives are materials of tremendous importance in chemistry, materials science, physics, biology and medicine. They are the red color in blood (heme) and the green in leaves (chlorophyll); they are also excellent ligands that can coordinate with almost every metal in the Periodic Table. This handbook will prove to be a modern authoritative treatise on the subject as it is a collection of up-to-date works by world-renowned experts in the field.
3d ed. Cleveland, Chemical Rubber Co. [1967]
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD291 .R28 1967
The main objective of this book is to assist chemists in the identification of organic compounds. The organization of the compounds in classes according to increasing boiling points should also assist in the search for standard vapor phase chromatography work.
1st online ed. Chester, England : International Union of Crystallography ; New York : Springer, c2006.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The series comprises articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals. Each volume also contains discussions of theory, practical explanations and examples, all of which are useful for teaching.
Rahway, N.J. : Merck & Co., 1968-
Green Library » InfoCenter: Ready Reference (non-circulating) » RS356 .M524 2001
The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. Also includes a supplement of Organic Name Reactions.
Web version 6.0. Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC Press, c2002.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
POC is a database that contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures. With a high quality display and powerful search capabilities, it acts as an easy-to-use tool for identifying unknown compounds or for locating additional data and references for a known compound. Search by spectral peak, molecular formula/elements, properties, and substructure.
Japan : AIST
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
SDBS includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum. It is possible to search by compound name, molecular formula, molecular weight, CAS Registry Number, number of atoms, and spectral peaks.
Accurate information describes how chemicals behave at different temperatures for 5000 organic chemical compounds covering C1 to C70 organics. All tables in this book are interactive (live) and most contain live equations for easy calculation and plotting of the properties.

Major reference works

New York : Academic Press, 1983-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD481 .A78 1983 V.1
Volumes in this series have been written by some of the foremost practitioners in the field and should be of interest to both mechanistic and synthetic chemists. Contents: v. 1. Analytical methods -- v. 2. Stereodifferentiating addition reactions pt. A -- v. 3. Stereodiferentiating addition reactions pt. B -- v. 4. The chiral carbon pool and chiral sulfur, nitrogen, phosphorus, and silicon centers -- v. 5. Chiral catalysis.
Berlin ; New York : Springer-Verlag, 1984-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Retired Reference (non-circulating) » QD251 .B4 1918 SUPPL.5 V.27:PT.39
The Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry is one of the most comprehensive collections of data on the properties, preparation, and reactions of carbon compounds. It is organized by structure (acyclic, isocyclic, and heterocyclic compounds). Unlike Chemical Abstracts which tries to publish everything in chemistry, Beilstein is selective. The editors have published only critically reviewed data.The Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry covers the literature from 1779 through 1979. In 1991-92, the Comprehensive Compound Name and Formula Indexes were published. These indexes cover all volumes of the Main Series (H) through Supplement IV (literature through 1959). These indexes are volumes 28-29 of the Beilstein Handbook. Starting with Supplement V, covering 1960-1979, Beilstein is in English. The online version of Beilstein is available via the Reaxys database.
7th ed. [Hoboken, N.J.] : Wiley, c2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Burger's offers easy access to broad coverage of medicinal chemistry and drug discovery for new, as well as experienced, medicinal chemists, biologists, pharmacologists, and molecular biologists. Burger's offers a comprehensive, global perspective of drug design and drug development. With expanded content, this edition of Burger’s Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Discovery includes more than 50% new material. An entire section has been dedicated to cancer research. Areas included are those at the foreground of life science including: proteomics, genomics, bioinformatics, combinatorial chemistry, high-throughput screening, blood substitutes, allosteric effectors as potential drugs, COX inhibitors, statins, high-throughput pharmacology, and much more.
New York, J. Wiley [c1971-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD262 .H32 V.13 2014
The Compendium of Organic Synthetic Methods series facilitates the working chemist's search for the most useful functional group transformations in organic chemistry. Drawn from an exhaustive survey of the literature, each volume author Michael Smith adheres to stringent criteria for listing reactions, including real synthetic utility and reagents that are either readily available or easily prepared and handled in the laboratory. A clear organizational scheme-chemical transformations classified first by reacting functional group of starting material, then by functional group formed-allows for quick reference and information retrieval.
Berlin ; New York : Springer, c1999.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD505 .C65 1999 V.1
Comprehensive Asymmetric Catalysis comprehensively and critically reviews methods for the catalytic preparation of chiral organic compounds. This major reference set presents the state of the art in this area. The internationally acclaimed editors and the contributors, who are recognized experts in the field, guarantee the authoritative and timely coverage. This set is not only the principal reference source for synthetic organic chemists, but also for all scientific researchers who require chiral compounds in their work.
Oxford : Elsevier, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Comprehensive Chirality provides a complete overview of the field and includes chiral research relevant to synthesis, analytic chemistry, catalysis, and pharmaceuticals. The individual chapters in each of the nine volumes provide an in-depth review and collection of references on definition, technology, applications and a guide/links to the related literature. v. 1: Biological Significance: Pharmacology, Phamaceutical Agrochemical. v. 2: Synthetic Methods I: Chiral Pool and Diastereoselective Methods. v. 3: Synthetic Methods II: Chiral Auxiliaries. v. 4: Synthetic Methods III: Catalytic Methods: C–C Bond Formation. v. 5: Synthetic Methods IV: Asymmetric Oxidation Reduction, C–N. v. 6: Synthetic Methods V: Organocatalysis. v. 7: Synthetic Methods VI: Enzymatic and Semi-Enzymatic. v. 8: Separations and Analysis. v. 9: Industrial Applications of Asymmetric Synthesis
This is the most comprehensive handbook on organocatalysis. All relevant catalyst systems are discussed in detail, as well as key strategies, reaction types, and important applications in total synthesis. The first two volumes cover catalyst structures and fundamental activation types. These chapters allow readers to familiarize themselves with the relatively complex interactions that make organocatalytic reactions selective; to gain an insight into the most efficient catalyst types; and to understand the importance of physical parameters that influence reactivity and selectivity. Volume three is structured around reaction types, i.e. nucleophile additions to C=X and C=C bonds; Friedel-Crafts reactions, organocatalytic sigmatropic reactions, regioselective reactions and desymmetrization strategies, ring-forming reactions, multicomponent (domino) reactions, multicatalyst systems and the application of organocatalytic reactions in multistep synthesis are discussed.
Reviews advances in the properties, structure, synthesis, reactivity and applications of the most important heterocyclic ring systems. Contains over 250 specialist reviews, logically organized by size and heteroatom content of the heterocyclic ring. Saves researchers valuable time and effort through carefully structured critical reviews of the literature by experts.
Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » RS402 .C65 2007 V.1
Comprehensively reviews the strategies, technologies, principles and applications of modern medicinal chemistry. Provides a global and current perspective of today's drug discovery process and discusses the major therapeutic classes and targets. Includes a unique collection of case studies and personal assays reviewing the discovery and development of key drugs.
Comprehensive natural products 2
Oxford : Elsevier Science, 2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contents: v1. Polyketides and other secondary metabolites including fatty acids and their derivatives; v2. Isoprenoids including carotenoids and steroids ; v3. Carbohydrates and their derivatives including tannins, cellulose, and related lignins; v4. Amino acids, peptides, porphyrins, and alkaloids; v5. Enzymes, enzyme mechanisms, proteins, and aspects of NO chemistry; v6. Prebiotic chemistry, molecular fossils, nucleosides, and RNA; v7. DNA and aspects of molecular biology; v8. Miscellaneous natural products including marine natural products, pheromones, plant hormones, and aspects of ecology.
1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2005.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .C534 2005 V.1
By systematically treating each functional group in turn the work also identifies what is not known, thus pointing the way to new research areas. Organized by the arrangement and bonding of hetero-atoms around a central carbon atom. Each chapter is written by experts who have critically read and reviewed the literature and presented the best methods of forming every known functional group.
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley, c2009.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"With its coverage of 701 organic name reactions and reagents, this online reference is the largest, most up-to-date work of its kind. It offers students and professional chemists a valuable resource for conducting experiments and performing a broad range of applications, from pharmaceuticals to plastics to pesticides. Each reaction listing is clearly organized into uniform sections that allow readers to quickly gather the information they need to conduct their own experimental procedures."
1st ed. Oxford, England ; New York : Pergamon Press, 1991.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .C535 1991 V.1
"The development of more effective routes to known materials and the production of new materials are important goals in many areas, including electronics, agriculture, medicine and textiles. Organic synthesis is central to achieving these goals. Comprehensive Organic Synthesis draws together the common themes that underlie the many apparently disparate areas of organic chemistry which underpin synthetic strategies, thus providing a comprehensive overview of this important discipline.  The contributions have been organized to reflect the way in which synthetic chemists approach a problem. In terms of organic molecules, the work is divided into formation of carbon-carbon bonds, introduction of heteroatoms and heteroatom interconversions. Thus, Volumes 1-5 focus on carbon-carbon formation, but also include aspects of heteroatom introduction. Volumes 6-8 concentrate on interconversion of heteroatoms, but also deal with exchange of carbon-carbon bonds for carbon-heteroatom bonds. Organization of the chapters is along the theme of selectivity, which is a critical question in determining the suitability of a synthetic method. Volume 9 contains cumulative author and subject indexes.  Comprehensive Organic Synthesis will appeal to a wide audience. The set will be an essential reference work for all those seeking information on the solution of synthetic problems, whether they be experienced practitioners or chemists whose major interests lie outside organic synthesis. In addition, synthetic chemists requiring the essential facts in new areas, as well as students completely new to the field, will find Comprehensive Organic Synthesis an invaluable source, providing authoritative accounts of the essential facts and concepts."
Comprehensive Organic Synthesis II
Second edition.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"The second edition of Comprehensive Organic Synthesis builds upon the highly respected first edition in drawing together the new common themes that underlie the many disparate areas of organic chemistry. These themes support effective and efficient synthetic strategies, thus providing a comprehensive overview of this important discipline. Fully revised and updated, this new set forms an essential reference work for all those seeking information on the solution of synthetic problems, whether they are experienced practitioners or chemists whose major interests lie outside organic synthesis.  It contains over 170 articles across nine volumes, including detailed analysis of core topics such as bonds, oxidation, and reduction. Includes over 10,000 schemes and images. Important growth areas-including combinatorial chemistry, new technological, industrial, and green chemistry developments are covered extensively."
[3rd ed.]. Amsterdam : Elsevier, c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD411.C652 2007 V.1
Presents a comprehensive overview of the major developments in the field since 1993 providing general and significant insights. Highlights the expansion of applications in organometallic chemistry with a strong organic synthesis focus. Provides a structured first point of entry to the key literature and background material for those planning research, teaching and writing about the area.
4. völlig neu gestaltete Aufl., Stuttgart, G. Thieme, 1952-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating)
"Houben-Weyl is the acclaimed reference series for preparative methods in organic chemistry, in which all methods are organized according to the class of compound or functional group to be synthesized. It contains 146 000 product-specific experimental procedures, 580 000 structures, and 700 000 references. The preparative significance of the methods for all classes of compounds is critically evaluated. The series includes data from as far back as the early 1800s to the present day. For more information, see 100th Year History of Houben-Weyl The 5th Edition of Houben-Weyl was renamed Science of Synthesis."
[Hoboken, NJ?] : John Wiley & Sons, 1999-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Patai covers all aspects of the chemistry of functional groups including physical organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and techniques, reaction mechanisms, synthetic pathways, reactions and strategies plus applications in drug discovery, pharmaceuticals, biochemistry and molecular biology.  All volumes published from 1964 to 1995 are available online in the PATAI’S Chemistry of Functional Groups Backfile.
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Science of Synthesis (SoS) provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations; Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab; Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods; Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group; and Intuitive search functions to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization."  Please see Science of Synthesis at Stanford to view online help, learn more about content, and see what's new. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Emphasizing synthetic strategy and practice, this online reference work features experimental procedures for stereoselective synthetic reactions applicable to drug targets and natural products. The reference details synthetic methodology, reaction mechanisms, and applications for medicinal chemistry and drug discovery; and explores strategy and interdisciplinary work, laboratory synthesis for natural products, the preparative aspects of stereoselective synthesis for drugs, natural products, and potential biologically active compounds.

Named reactions

Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley, c2009.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"With its coverage of 701 organic name reactions and reagents, this online reference is the largest, most up-to-date work of its kind. It offers students and professional chemists a valuable resource for conducting experiments and performing a broad range of applications, from pharmaceuticals to plastics to pesticides. Each reaction listing is clearly organized into uniform sections that allow readers to quickly gather the information they need to conduct their own experimental procedures."

Software

Site-licensed by Swain Library

Swain Library has purchased campus-wide site licenses for several products. Access to all of these products is limited to current Stanford students, faculty, and staff.

Some software licensed by Swain Library is also accessible using a web browser and Citrix plugin via CDSERVER. For more information, please see instructions for off-campus access to resources.

Computer clusters

Swain Library has 13 dual-boot Mac/Windows computers. SUNet ID is required for use. The following software is available (only viewable from on-campus):

Websites