You are here

The Page and the Stage: Writing and Performance

PWR 1SS - Spring 2014 - Instructor: Schulyer, Susan
Last Updated: 3-Apr-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 1SS: The Page and the Stage: Writing and Performance. This research guide broadly covers the research process from researching reference materials for broad subject reading to database searching for articles.

Subject Librarians

Manager of Interlibrary Services and Current Periodicals
(650) 723-1988
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Reference: Subject Reading Materials

Reference materials can be good resources for subject overviews and a means to collect useful keywords. The bibliographies frequently include key texts and thinkers that are associated with a specific subject. To discover more reference materials held in the Stanford Libraries, search Reference Universe, Searchworks, consult with a librarian, or browse the libraries' reference collections.

Tips for using reference sources:

1. Look at the cross-references that many entries provide. These can be helpful in pointing you toward a related or more accurate idea/term.

2. One of the most important elements of any good reference source entry is its bibliography. Take note of the books or articles that the entry's author deems elementary to understanding the individual or idea.

Malden, MA : Blackwell Publishing
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Provides full-text access to reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management. It supports browsing and full-text searching."
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"General and Reference Works; Music; Biology; Art, Architecture and Design; Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press."
[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles."
Berlin, Germany ; New York : Springer, 1997-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal and e-book titles, as well as titles from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics."

The Body

English ed. Oxford ; New York : Berg, 2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HM636 .C853 2010 V.1

Communication and Rhetoric

Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2007.
Green Library » HAS-DIGIT (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » NX180 .T4 D538 2007
New York : Oxford University Press, 2001.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PN172 .E52 2001
Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2008.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » P87.5 .I58 2008 V.1
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2009.
Green Library » Stacks » P90 .A14 2009 V.1

Drama, Performance, and Theatre

New York : Columbia University Press, c2007.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PN1861.C65 2007 V.1
2nd ed. London ; New York : Routledge, 2006.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PN2041 .A57 A5313 2006 F
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PN2035 .O94 2010
London ; New York : Routledge, 2003.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PN2041 .A57 P46 2003 V.1
Malden, MA : Blackwell, 2008.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » PN2189 .T494 2008

Life Writing, Oral Storytelling, and Speeches

Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2005.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PS408 .A47 2005
2nd ed. London ; New York : Routledge, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » CT25 .A53 2011
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2005.
Green Library » Stacks » BF697 .S45 2005
Westport : Meckler, c1990.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » D16.14 .O74 1990
Stroud, England : Sutton Pub., 1998.
Green Library » HASRC (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » D16.14 .H68 1998
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » JA74.5 .O93 2007

Psychology

2nd ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Academic Press/Elsevier, 2011.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF408 .E53 2011 V.1
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF531 .R445 2010 V.1
New York, NY : Facts on File, c1994.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF371 .N55 1994
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF311 .E497 2010 V.1

Selected Subject Searches using Searchworks Catalogue

Listed below are Library of Congress subject terms, which search only the subject field(s) of the Searchworks catalogue.

  • You can refine your results by using the limiting facets with the left frame. 
  • Narrow by SUL (Stanford University Libraries) location, publication year, language, etc.

Databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present."
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. It also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs."
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles."
Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A collection of research databases in various fields. Search screen allows the user to search several simultaneously."
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Content:"Core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts."
Alexandria, Va. : Alexander Street Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Provides in-depth indexing of more than 2,500 collections of oral history in English from around the world. With future releases, the index will broaden to identify other first-person content, including letters, diaries, memoirs, and autobiographies, and other personal narratives."
Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Publishing
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Contains bibliographic information from an international selection of publications (including over 2600 journals and books, book reviews, and book chapters) in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology."
[New York] : H.W. Wilson, 1987-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text."
Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Web of Knowledge is an integrated search interface with access to scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, as well as to search and analysis tools. Cross-database searching is enabled for the citation databases (Arts & Humanities 1975+, Social Sciences 1956+, and Science 1900+), Derwent Innovations Index (1963+), BIOSIS (1926+), Medline (1950+), and Zoological Record (1864+)."
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » NONEAQD4378
"Features a collection of online scholarly journals that focuses on the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics"
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
" Inspired by Vanderbilt University's Television News Archive project (http://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/6287777), the Internet Archive collects and preserves television news. Like library collections of books and newspapers, this accessible archive of TV news enables anyone to reference and compare statements from this influential medium. The collection now contains 350,000 news programs collected 2009 - present from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added. Use the index of searchable text and short, streamed clips to find programs to borrow on DVD-ROM or view at the Internet Archive's library in San Francisco."

Proquest Social Science Databases

Proquest Social Sciences Database--Searches across multiple social science subject databases. Among those included: Alternative Presses; Psycinfo; Sociological Abstracts; Social Services Abstracts; International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS); ERIC (Education); PAIS (Public Policy)."