You are here

Physical chemistry

Last Updated: 1-May-2014

Library resources for researchers in physical chemistry.

Subject Librarians

Grace Baysinger
Head Librarian and Bibliographer of the Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library
(650) 725-1039
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Home

Featured resources

"This book is an indispensible guide for those in the fields of physics, chemistry, and materials science, addressing the relevant equations, theories, and tools used for research in these fields. Topics addressed are mechanics, special relativity, electricity and magnetism, quantum chemistry, thermodynamics, electrochemistry, statistical mechanics, symmetry, solid state physics and electronics. The book also addresses all possible energy and electrical sources, detectors, and algorithms, as well as all presently available major and minor instrumentation. There are also worked-out problems and suggested fill-in problems interspersed throughout"-- Provided by publisher.
Meeting the needs of the scientific community, these two must-have volumes are the only work to provide a thorough overview of all the important methods currently used in physical chemistry. The work bridges the gap between standard textbooks and review articles, covering a large number of methods, as well as the motivation behind their use.  The first volume deals with the gas and condensed phase, while volume two looks at interfaces and biomolecules and materials. A uniform approach is adopted throughout, while the critical comparison of the advantages and disadvantages of each method makes this a valuable reference for physical chemists and other scientists working with these techniques.  (Publisher's description)

Keep Current

BrowZine is a tablet application that lets you browse, read and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from the Stanford University Libraries.  Browse titles by subject to easily find journals of interest, create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals, be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published, save articles in your personal library.  BrowZine can easily be synced up with Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services to help keep all of your information together in one place. For installation details, please see this blog post: BrowZine table App Now Available from the Stanford Libraries
Updated daily, Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals.   It provides complete tables of contents and bibliographic information, including abstracts, from about 8,000 journals, 2,000 books, and 7,000 scholarly web sites.  It includes pre-published electronic journal articles and links to the full text.   Database coverage: 1998 to the present.  For more information, please see Fact sheet, Quick Reference Card, and recorded training.

This page contains information to help you stay up-to-date.  It includes alerting services that will notify you when newly added items in a database match your search criteria, current awareness publications that you can browse or search, and RSS feeds to selected journals, magazines, and news sites.

Current Awareness Publications

Cambridge : Royal Society of Chemistry, 2002-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD501 .C37 F 2009
Offers graphical abstracts of new developments in catalysis. Coverage includes all areas of catalysis research, including homogeneous, heterogeneous and biocatalysis with emphasis on current growth areas such as chiral catalysts, polymerisation catalysts, enzymatic catalysts and clean catalytic methods. Provides fast and effective access to the latest research. Each item is indexed by Authors, Products, Reactants and Catalysts, Catalyst Type and Reaction Type.

Databases

Palo Alto, Calif. : Annual Reviews, Inc.
Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 42 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature. Updated continuously, covers 1932-present.
Inspec
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Provides a comprehensive index to the published literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, information technology, production, manufacturing and mechanical engineering as well as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics. Coverage begins in 1898.
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
"Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also includes web sources, patents, articles in-press, book series, conference proceedings, and trade publications. Scopus provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts and humanities. 1996-present plus selected coverage back to 1823."
Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information, c1998-
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 250+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, full-text ejournal and ebook sites, patents, technical reports, reference materials, plus more.

Journals

Physical chemistry journals

  1. SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD1 .A24 ...

  2. SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 541.05 .A188 ...

  3. SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD461 .A383 ...

  4. Medical Library (Lane) » Check Medical Library (Lane) catalog for status » (No call number)

Books

New physical chemistry books in SearchWorks

The search results below are based on searching "Chemistry, Physical and theoretical" - the Library of Congress Subject Heading for Physical Chemistry - in SearchWorks, Stanford's library catalog.

  1. V. Faye McNeill, Parisa A. Ariya, editors ; with contributions by M. Ammann...[and more].. 2014

  2. Ralf Koppmann, editor. 2014

  3. edited by Alberto D'Amore, DSc, A. K. Haghi , PhD, Gennady E. Zaikov, DSc.. 2014

  4. Nivaldo J. Tro, Westmont College. 2014

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Permanent reserve » QD453.3 .T759 2014

Springer series in chemical physics

Springer Series in Chemical Physics

  1. Rebeca de Nalda, Luis Bañares, editors. 2014

  2. Kaoru Yamanouchi, Katsumi Midorikawa, editors. 2013

  3. Kaoru Yamanouchi, Gerhard G. Paulus, Deepak Mathur, editors. 2013

  4. Boguslaw Buszewski, Ewelina Dziubakiewicz, Michal Szumski, editors. 2013

Featured eBooks

Berlin ; New York : Springer, c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD708.2 .A53 2007
1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2008.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD461 .C44 2008
Weinheim : New York : Wiley-VCH, c2001.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD502 .F457 2001
1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD461 .M37 2007
3rd ed. Amsterdam ; Oxford : Elsevier Academic Press, c2005.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD455.3 .M3 M67 2005
1st ed. Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 1999.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD461 .P34 1999
Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, 2003.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD506 .B88 2003

Dictionaries

Dictionaries

15th ed. / Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD5 .C74 2007
Version 1.0.0. [Research Triangle Park, N.C.] : International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, 2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Media » QD5 .I86 2006
6th ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2003.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks, non-circulating item » Q123 .M34 2003
Oxford, UK : Oxford University Press, [2000]-
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
3rd ed. Cambridge, UK : RSC Pub., c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD451.5 .Q36 2007

Encyclopedias

A compendium of mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, and references, its informal style makes it accessible to a broad spectrum of readers with a diverse range of mathematical backgrounds and interests. It offers concise, readable definitions; weaves mathematical connections through the physical sciences; supplies bibliographies following each entry; profiles a multidisciplinary approach regarding the use of mathematics; provides 110,000 cross-references to other topics and sources; and contains more 3,000 illustrations, equations, figures, derivations, and graphics.
"Originally published in 23 print volumes, this online encyclopedia provides the basic principles and in-depth coverage of all technically pertinent areas of modern-day physics, coupled with technological applications from real life. This work comprehensively covers such specific topics as: optics, laser physics, solid state and semiconductor physics, atom and nuclear physics, and biophysics.  A glossary covers over 6,000 terms related to the field"
The Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive analytical chemistry reference available, covering all aspects from theory and instrumentation through to applications and techniques. The chemistry and techniques are described as performed in the laboratory, in the field, or by remote sensing. The level of detail is similar to that of a laboratory protocol and, together with the cited references, will support the analysis of complex inorganic, organic and biological structures by researchers.
The Encyclopedia of Catalysis is a definitive A-to-Z reference work covering the most significant aspects of homogeneous, heterogeneous, asymmetric, biomimetic, and biological catalysis. The principles of catalysis, the scope of catalytic reactions, the preparation, characterization, and use of catalysts including catalytic technology, the modeling of catalytic processes, and related reaction engineering techniques are included.
Bristol ; Philadelphia : Institute of Physics Pub., c2001.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD451 .E53 2001 V.1
This encyclopedia quickly provides the basics, defines the scope of each subdiscipline, and indicates where to go for a more complete and detailed explanation. Content is grouped into three sections: fundamentals, methods, and applications.
ECC contains over 300 articles, all extensively cross-referenced. Technical terms are explained in short definitions. Each year around 50 new and updated articles will be added, so that the Encyclopedia will keep up-to-date with the development of computational chemistry. Covers seven areas of computational chemistry from ab-initio computations to biological and biochemical applications.
Weinheim : Cambridge : Wiley-VCH, 2002-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD553 .E53 2002
This 11 volume work includes: Fundamentals in electrochemistry, Instrumentation, Electroanalytical chemistry, Corrosion and oxide films, Electrochemical engineering, Semiconductor electrodes / Electrodes and modified electrodes, Photoelectrochemistry, and organic electrochemistry/Bioelectrochemistry.
Expanded online ed. New York : Wiley InterScience.
Since the original publication of this encyclopedia in 1996, the area of magnetic resonance has seen extensive developments and now encompasses a whole range of techniques, NMR, MRI, ESR / EPR, NQR and MSR. This expanded online edition covers all the essential information about the theory, applications and history of magnetic resonance.
The encyclopedia presents around 1,800 articles written by experts in their fields, resulting in a comprehensive coverage of this broad and wide-ranging subject. It is the only encyclopedia available that covers all of materials science and technology, focusing on the following areas: Functional Phenomena, Structural Phenomena, Fundamental Core Theory, Structural Materials, Polymers and Materials Chemistry, and Functional Materials.
This encyclopedia acts as a stimulus for new researchers working in mathematical physics or in areas using the methods originating from work in mathematical physics by providing them with focused high quality background information.
3rd ed. San Diego : Academic Press, c2002.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Q121 .E497 2002 V.1
"Although the World Wide Web is a mighty river of information and data, there was still a great need for our articles, which comprehensively explain, integrate, and provide scientific and mathematical background and perspective.  Over 1000 authors prepared the manuscripts at an average length of 17-18 pages. The manuscripts were peer reviewed, indexed, and published. The result is the eighteen volume work, of over 14,000 pages, comprising the Third Edition.
"Smart materials are materials and structures that can impart information about their environment to an observer or monitoring device. This work covers commercial applications and discusses the specialized properties and coatings that are required for the use of materials in extreme conditions. Discussions include theory, fabrication, processing, applications, and uses."
San Diego, CA : Academic Press, c2000.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD95 .E55 2000 V.1
Short articles, each covering one aspect of spectroscopy, provide the professional spectroscopist working in academia or industry with the essential facts and background on areas of spectroscopy peripheral to their own. References at the end of each article directs the reader to the level of detail required for professional purposes.
5th ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2004-2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » TP9 .K54 2004 INDEX
"Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed."
7th ed. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH ; New York : J. Wiley & Sons, 2009-
"This state-of-the-art reference work details the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc."

Handbooks

Web version. Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC
Includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. CCD online includes: organic compounds (269,000 records); natural products (178,000 records); inorganic and organometallic compounds (103,000 records); drugs (44,000 records); and analytical reagents (14,000 records). (Structure searching)
Cleveland, Ohio, CRC Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD65 .H3 60TH 1979/1980
Continues to be the most accurate, reliable and current resource available on data needed by chemists, physicists and engineers. It provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Now searchable by chemical structure. Note: Section 18 contains sources of physical and chemical data.
Handbook of Biosensors and Biochips provides an essential reference, underpinning many of the applications used in medical diagnostics, environmental control and pharmaceutical and food industries. With 85 chapters and ten introductions, it is structured into the following subject areas: Part I: Introduction to biosensor and biochip technologies  Part II: Biological and molecular recognitions systems  Part III: The biology – materials interface: interfacial science and receptor integration  Part IV: Transducer technologies for biosensors and bio-array technologies  Part V: Miniaturized, micro-engineered and particle systems  Part VI: Array technologies  Part VII: Data analysis, conditioning and presentation  Part VIII: Areas and examples of biosensor applications  Part IX: Commercialization, business and regulatory issues  Part X: Future implications, trends and perspectives
The field of High-resolution Spectroscopy has been considerably extended and even redefined in some areas. Combining the knowledge of spectroscopy, laser technology, chemical computation, and experiments, Handbook of High-resolution Spectroscopy provides a comprehensive survey of the whole field as it presents itself today, with emphasis on the recent developments.
Handbook of Molecular Physics
Chichester : Wiley, c2003.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD461 .H25 2003 V.1
"Published in three volumes, this comprehensive reference work brings together in a single source for the first time, a detailed presentation of the most important theoretical concepts and methods for the study of molecules and molecular systems. Includes: Fundamentals, Molecular Electronic Structure, and Molecules in the Physico-Chemical Environment." (Publisher's description)
San Diego, Calif. : London : Academic, c2001.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QC173.4 .S94 H363 2001 V.1
This handbook brings together all aspects of the chemistry, physics, and engineering of surfaces and interfaces of materials studied in academic and industrial research. It covers different experimental and theoretical aspects of surfaces and interfaces, their physical properties, and spectroscopic techniques that have been applied to a wide class of inorganic, organic, polymer, and biological materials.
1st online ed. Chester, England : International Union of Crystallography ; New York : Springer, c2006.
The series contains articles and data on crystallographic research and applications of crystallographic methods on the structure and properties of materials. Symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and physical and chemical properties of crystals are emphasized. Each volume includes discussions of theory, practical explanations, and examples for educators.
Knovel provides access to over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 50 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface. Includes the ability to search numeric data.  Some books have interactive tables.
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Spectra data base : (UV/Vis+ photochemistry data base)
[Maintal, Germany] : science-softCon, [2010?]
The 7th edition of the science-softCon "UV/Vis+ Spectra Data Base" contains about 5600 spectra/data sheets (ascii-format) and additional photochemistry information from published papers of about 900 substances. The data base is subdivided into 27 substance groups.  The database is divided into a Literature Service and a Spectra Service.  The Literature Service provides spectra data sheets with information concerning publications of EUV-VUV-UV-Vis-NIR spectral data and related information (e.g. quantum yield studies, photolysis studies, etc.).  The Spectra Service provides in addition the spectra data (high and low resolution spectra, from low temperatures to high temperatures) in digital form, graphical representations of the spectral data, and additional photochemical information.
"This Handbook comprises a comprehensive reference source that unifies the entire fields of atomic, molecular, and optical (AMO) physics, assembling the principal ideas, techniques and results of the field from atomic spectroscopy to applications in comets. Its 92 chapters are written by over 100 authors, all leaders in their respective disciplines. It is carefully edited to ensure a uniform coverage and style and with extensive cross references, together with a guide to the primary research literature, it is both a source of information and an inspiration for graduate students and other researchers new to the field. All chapters offer diagrams of apparatus, graphs, and tables of data."
"SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data. Print copy of Landolt-Bornstein is available at the Swain Library." (Structure Searching)

Major Reference Works

Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, c2012.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Reference (non-circulating) » QH505 .C588 2012 V.1
Comprehensive Biophysics provides definitive introductions to a broad array of topics, uniting different areas of biophysics research, from the physical techniques for studying macromolecular structure to protein folding, muscle and molecular motors, cell biophysics, bioenergetics and more. The result is this comprehensive scientific resource: a valuable tool both for helping researchers come to grips quickly with material from related biophysics fields outside their areas of expertise, and for reinforcing their existing knowledge.
Designed to serve as the first point of reference on the subject, Comprehensive Chemometrics presents an integrated summary of the present state of chemical and biochemical data analysis and manipulation. It covers all major areas ranging from statistics to data acquisition, analysis, and applications. This work provides broad-ranging, validated summaries of the major topics in chemometrics, with chapter introductions and advanced reviews for each area.
In its four volumes, this major reference work contains a complete treatment of the theory and methodology of sampling in all physical phases and the theory of sample preparation for all major extraction techniques. Fundamentals of sampling and sample preparation are reinforced through comprehensive sections dealing with Biological and Medical, Environmental and Forensic, and Food and Beverage applications.
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
"SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data. Print copy of Landolt-Bornstein is available at the Swain Library." (Structure Searching)

Software

Site-licensed by Swain Library

Swain Library has purchased campus-wide site licenses for several products. Access to all of these products is limited to current Stanford students, faculty, and staff.

Some software licensed by Swain Library is also accessible using a web browser and Citrix plugin via CDSERVER. For more information, please see instructions for off-campus access to resources.

Websites