You are here

Physical properties of materials

Last Updated: 6-Oct-2014

A listing of selected online and print resources for research in the physical properties of materials.  The Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library has the most print resources, but there are many online options as well.

Subject Librarians

Kathleen Gust
Engineering Librarian for Outreach Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 723-8877
Grace Baysinger
Head Librarian and Bibliographer of the Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library
(650) 725-1039
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Databases and online subscription resources

[Materials Park, OH] : ASM
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Explore, search and view more than 11,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 2400 systems.
West Lafayette, IN : CINDAS LLC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The Aerospace Structural Metals Database (ASMD) contains more than 80,000 data curves on over 231 alloys used in the aerospace, power generation, defense, research, and academic sectors.
1994 ed. West Lafayette, Ind. : CINDAS/Purdue University, 1994.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TA483 .D34 1994 V.1
A comprehensive compilation of fracture and crack growth data for high strength alloys. Each alloy section contains a data summary, fracture toughness data, and crack growth resistance data.   The five-volume, 3600 page set is available in searchable PDF format.

Schenectady, N.Y. : Genium Pub. Corp., c1984-
Engineering Library (Terman) » Reference (non-circulating)
This is the classic print only version originally published by General Electric Company, Corporate Research and Development Division. It is not available online.
Berlin : Fiz Chemie
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains experimental data on phase equilibria as well as caloric data, transport and surface properties with bibliographic information.  Numerical data on approximately 200 thermodynamic and physical properties, which are combinable with 25 conditions and 22 equilibrium types. 
Norwich, N.Y. : knovel, 2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Includes properties such as Abbe number, Refractive index, Dispersion data, and Transmittance curves of commercially-available optical and filter glasses from 16 manufacturers around the world.
West Lafayette, IN : CINDAS LLC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The Microelectronics Packaging Materials Database  (MPMD) contains data and information on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of electronics packaging materials. It covers over 1025 materials, 388 properties, and contains approximately 22,500 data curves.
[Washington, D.C.] : National Institute of Standards and Technology, [1998]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A comprehensive source for chemical and physical property data for chemical compounds.
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Search the Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Databases.
Berlin : Springer, 2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, this is a unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering.
1996 ed. / West Lafayette, Ind. : CINDAS/Purdue University, c1999.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks
Draws on a database of well-defined test results and metals properties information. It includes representative, detailed characterization
data for the more common metals and alloys important to construction, machine tool, heavy equipment, automotive, and general manufacturing industries.   This handbook consists of three volumes, 2,500 pages available in searchable PDF format.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database (TMPD) is the searchable, electronic version of Thermophysical Properties of Matter, the TPRC data series. It contains over 4,900 materials categorized into 85 material groups, 87 properties, and over 50,000 data curves. 
Norwich, N.Y. : Knovel, c2011.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Physical, thermodynamic, vapor pressure, critical constants, environmental, exposure limits, and other important properties for the chemical elements. Coverage for Ac to Zr elements.

Internet resources for physical properties of materials