You are here

Piano

Last Updated: 10-Mar-2014

Find recordings, printed music, books, and articles on playing and researching the piano.

Subject Librarians

Ray Heigemeir
Public Services Librarian for Music
(650) 384-9985

Recordings

Find circulating CDs in the SearchWorks catalog.

  • Narrow your search results to the music recordings format and the Music Library location.

Stream piano music from one of the streaming audio databases.

Research historical performances in the Archive of Recorded Sound.

See also the Piano Society website: stream over 5000 standard and lesser-known works recorded by society members.

Notable large recording sets:

[Netherlands?] : Philips Classics, p1999.
Music Library » Recordings » MCD 6672
200 CDs.
[S.l] : RCA Red Seal ; New York, N.Y. : Distributed by BMG Classics, p1999.
Archive of Recorded Sound » Recordings
94 CDs.

New CD arrivals:

Printed music

View printable online score collections here.

Find circulating piano music in the SearchWorks catalog.

For adult beginners, try the Adult All-In-One course.

Browse in the stacks:

M 20 Miscellaneous collections
M 21 Collections of original compositions, multiple composers
M 22 Collections of original compositions, single composers
M 23 Sonatas
M 24 Suites
M 25 Other pieces
M 26 Piano, 1 hand
M 27-30 Variations; marches; dances
M 32-39 Arrangements; transcriptions
M 200-204 Piano, 4 hands
M 214 2 pianos, 2 performers
M 1010 Piano concerto scores
M 1011 Piano concertos, with orchestra arranged for 2nd piano
M 1380 Easy pieces; works for children

Reference works

2nd ed. New York : Routledge, 2003.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML102 .P5 E53 2003
Focuses on the piano as an instrument, including construction, individual makers, and companies.

Lists of published music:

Fourth edition.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML128 .P3 H5 2014
Enl. ed., 1st Midland ed. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 1993.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML128 .P3 H66 M9 1993
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1990.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML128.P3H66 P57 1990
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML128 .P3 P38 1999
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1981.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML128.P3 M14
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1983.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML128.P3 H66 M98 1983

See all piano reference books:

  1. Marcello Cofini. 1995

  2. Gosudarstvennai͡a biblioteka SSSR imeni V.I. Lenina, Otdel notnykh izdaniĭ i zvukozapiseĭ ; [sostaviteli G.B. Koltypina, L.V. Li, E.N. Filippova ; redaktor G.B. Koltypina].. 1983

  3. Maurice Hinson & Wesley Roberts. 2014

  4. by Keith C. Ward ; Michael J. Budds, editor. 2010

  5. Gilles Comeau ; contributors, Nisreen Jardaneh ... [et al.].. 2009

Books and articles

Browse in the stacks:

ML 417 Biographies of pianists
ML 649-747 Books about pianos, piano makers, piano music, and playing
MT 220-258 Teaching systems, methods, exercises

New books on the piano:

  1. Cord Garben. 2014

  2. Olivier Bellamy ; dessins d'Alain Bouldouyre. 2014

  3. Frédéric de La Grandville ; préface de Paul Badura-Skoda. 2014

  4. textes réunis par Danièle Pistone. 2014

  5. Anne Swartz. 2014

Articles

Find articles on piano playing, pianists, instrument makers and more, using the online music indexes here.

See a list of keyboard periodicals here.

Web resources