Picture-perfect STEM lessons

"Using Children's Books to Inspire STEM Learning"  Pair these lessons with books from our Curriculum Collection listed below.

Kindergarten-second grade

Chapter 6: The handiest things

1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, ©2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .L3957 H36 2010
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TA149 .M545 2014

Chapter 7: Build it!

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .E26315 I43 2007
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NA2555 .H35 2012

Chapter 8: Robots everywhere

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .A765 B44 2015
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TJ211.2 .S74 2014

Chapter 9: Feel the heat

1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ8.3 .N5664 S85 2002

Chapter 10: Move it!

Mount Pleasant, SC : Sylvan Dell Pub., c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC25 .M394 2010
Toronto : Kids Can Press, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC133.5 .M37 2005

Chapter 11: Let's drum

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 D78 2015
1st Dragonfly Books ed. New York : Dragonfly Books, ©2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .U478 D78 2010

Chapter 12: Get the message

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O955 J33 2015

Chapter 13: Science mysteries

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .E26316 A64 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC173.16 .D86 2017

Chapter 14: Crayons

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .A9797 D37 2015
Minneapolis : Lerner Publications Co., ©2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TS1268 .N45 2013

Chapter 15: Design a habitat

New York : Putnam, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .R562 I19 2004
New York. N.Y. : Crabtree Pub. Co., ©2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL756 .K356 2010

Chapter 16: Plant a tree

First Dragonfly books edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .U3915 W42 2016

Chapter 17: Pillbots

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TJ211.2 .S74 2014

Chapter 18: Flight of the pollinators

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QK49 .G649 2015
St. Catharines, Ont. : Crabtree Pub., [2010], c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QK926 .K35 2010

Chapter 20: Our blue planet

1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GB848 .L96 2011
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GB404 .H94 2016

Third-fifth grade

Chapter 6: The inventor's secret

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .E26315 R67 2013

Chapter 7: Mesmerized

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » Q175.2 .R63 2015
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HF5829 .R38 2015

Chapter 8: Wind it up

1st ed. New York : Balzer + Bray, ©2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .I68 C55 2011
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TJ210 .O95 2015

Chapter 9: Light it up!

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TK4351 .M37 2016
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6125 .A75 O75 2015

Chapter 10: Burn

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QD39 .P38 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » SD421.23 .F87 2015

Chapter 11: From Edison to the iPod

First Square Fish Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TK140 .E3 B34 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .F23 S84 2013

Chapter 12: Better together

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PE1689 .R66 2015
Mankato, Minn. : Capstone Press, ©2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL775 .T56 2013

Chapter 13: Spider science

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL458.4 .M635 2015

Chapter 14: Bionic animals

New York : Scholastic, [2011]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .C432 H385 2011
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » R855.4 .S56 2016

Chapter 15: From seed to tree

Philadelphia : RP Kids, ©2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .M3253 I32 2013
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Ask at circulation desk » QK495 .A17 M67 2014

Chapter 16: Hurricane!

New York : Walker ; [United States] : Distributed by Macmillan Publishers, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » SF426.5 .L37 2008
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TC337 .S74 2016

Chapter 17: Solving the puzzle under the sea

Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Ask at circulation desk » GA407 .T43 B87 2016 F
Revised edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QE621 .Z64 2015

Chapter 18: Space exploration

Huntington Beach, CA : Teacher Created Materials, ©2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TL793 .D845 2012

Chapter 19: Star stuff

First edition 2014.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Ask at circulation desk » QB36 .S15 S57 2014
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic Society, [2006], ©2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QB801.7 .T66 2006

Chapter 20: From trash to treasure

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HD4485 .A358 P38 2015
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TT160 .L4853 2014
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking