You are here

A Planet on the Edge: The Rhetoric of Sustainable Energy

PWR 2KM - Fall 2014 - Instructor: Moekle, K.
Last Updated: 16-Oct-2014

A guide to resources for 2KM: A Planet on the Edge: The Rhetoric of Sustainable Energy. Topics include the rhetoric and ethics of "sustainable energy," investigating both the alarmism and optimism which fuel this debate about meeting the world's increasing demand for power while avoiding destruction of the environment.

Subject Librarians

Earth Sciences Librarian
(650) 724-6242
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Getting Started

  1. Use reference sources to jumpstart your research, to get ideas, and more.
  2. Find books, journal titles and media in Stanford's Online Catalog - Searchworks.
  3. Find articles in selected databases. Note: Stanford subscribes to over 1000 databases that index articles and books on various topics. Since there are so many databases we recommend a select subset of databases which will give you access to articles in a wide variety of subject areas.

Key Databases

Note: Stanford subscribes to over 1000 databases that index articles and books on various topics. Since there are so many databases we recommend a select subset of databases which will give you access to articles in a wide variety of subject areas. The following are some databases that focus on environmental topics.

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications. A great place to start your research.
[S.l.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, [199-]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covers environmental sciences topics, including ecology, energy resources, and pollution issues. Coverage: 1967 - present
Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics. Coverage: 1785 - present
[Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Selected Searchworks Subject Terms

Find Books, Journal Titles and Media in Stanford's Online Catalog, SearchWorksHere are some "controlled vocabulary" subject terms for climate change and environmental philosophy-related topics. There are many others. Don't find what you are looking for? Ask your librarian for help.

Sustainable Energy Library Resources (mostly books)

These SearchWorks resources may be helpful to provide context to your research based argument.

Los Angeles : SAGE, c2008.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » QC981.8 .G56 E47 2008 V.1
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier Academic Press, c2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TJ163.28 .E53 2004 V.1
20th ed. Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2004.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press/Balkema, 2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Cambridge, UK : RSC Pub., c2012.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TJ808 .T588 2012
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2012.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » TJ807.9 .U6 K64 2012
Paris : OECD/IEA, c2011.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » TJ808 .D48 2011
London ; New York : Earthscan, 2012.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » TJ808 .S328713 2012

Background/Reference sources

The following are some reference sources that you can use to find background information on your topic as well as other references.

[New York] : McGraw-Hill, 2000.
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Medical Library (Lane) catalog for status » (no call number)
An online collection of articles, bibliographies, study guides, dictionaries, etc. serving as a searchable encyclopedia of science and technology.
Farmington Hills, MI : Thomson Gale, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online eBook reference collection on many topics including the Environment. You can direct link to environmental topics.
San Diego : Greenhaven Press, c2003.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HD75.6 .G555 2003