You are here

The Politics of Difference, Identity, and Harm: The Rhetoric of Hate Crimes

PWR 1CL - Fall 2013 - Instructor: Lewis, C.
Last Updated: 17-Sep-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 1CL: The Politics of Difference, Identity, and Harm: The Rhetoric of Hate Crimes.

Subject Librarians

Reference and Instruction Librarian, Coordinator of Newspaper Collection
(650) 725-6243
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Reference materials

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

Encyclopedia of race and racism.  online and in Information Center

Hate crimes: a reference handbook. IC

"Prejudice,New dictionary of the history of ideas. online (included in Gale Virtual Reference Library) and in IC

Racial profiling. 2013. (Opposing viewpoints series)  IC

Unkind words: ethnic labeling from redskin to WASP.  IC

 

 

Selected books and journals

Extra! - weekly newsletter of FAIR (Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting) - media criticism, latest issue (September): "Primetime racism on FOX."

Freedom for the thought we hate: a biography of the First Amendment. By Anthony Lewis.

Intelligence Report. (Southern Poverty Law Center) Law Library. Online browse of all issues, 1998-

Stereotyping and prejudice. Comprehensive overview, 2013.

Recommended databases

Academic Search Premier - "choose databases" to add Alternative Press Index, America: History and Life, Chicano database, Communication and Mass Media Complete, Historical Abstracts

Online archive of California - finding aids for special archival collections and many other libraries, including online items

ProQuest Research Library - click on "Social Sciences"  to add such databases as Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, PAIS international (political science), Philosopher's Index, Sociological Abstracts

Special Stanford resources

Hoover Institution poster database - search by subject: caricatures and cartoons, civil rights, propaganda, and more

KZSU Project South interviews with civil rights workers in the South recorded by Stanford students in 1965; includes link to finding aid

Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute ; MLK papers project at Stanford - includes primary and secondary documents

Organizations and websites

Anti-Defamation League Combating Hate - includes Hate on display: a visual database

OHCHR's Database on practical means to combat racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia and related intolerance from The Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, containing over 1500 documents from over 90 countries. Mostly in English.

Pew Research Center - Research projects at the bottom of the page include: Center for Excellence in Journalism

     topics: Race and ethnicity - includes The State of Race in America 2013

     see also: data

Southern Poverty Law Center - Fighting Hate, Teaching Tolerance, Seeking Justice: Hate and Extremism, Immigration justice, LGBT rights