You are here

Polymer science and engineering

Last Updated: 1-May-2014

Subject Librarians

Grace Baysinger
Head Librarian and Bibliographer of the Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library
(650) 725-1039
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Home

Featured resources

Polymer science
Amsterdam ; Waltham, MA : Elsevier Science, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This Comprehensive Reference covers all aspects of polymer science from chemistry/chemical engineering to materials science, biological aspects, applications and fate of polymers in the environment. There are over 250 chapters that cover the following topics: Basic Concepts and Polymer Properties, Polymer Characterization, Chain Polymerization of Vinyl Monomers, Ring-opening polymerization and special polymerization processes, Polycondensation, Macromolecular Architectures and Soft Nano-objects, Nanostructured Polymer Materials and Thin Films, Polymers for Advanced Functional Materials, Polymers in Biology and Medicine, Polymers for a Sustainable Environment and Green Energy.
Wiley database of polymer properties
[Hoboken, N.J.] : Wiley, c2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Comprehensive source of physical property data for polymers commercially available, with experimentally determined and selected data for over 2,500 polymers. The initial content is derived from the Polymer Handbook. The database will be updated quarterly. Search features include the ability to search for polymers matching specific properties or ranges of properties, the ability to create custom tables for all the properties of a specific polymer, and the ability to access the full-text html for references to the primary literature via CrossRef.

Keep current

BrowZine
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
BrowZine is an app that lets you browse, read and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from the Stanford University Libraries. It is available for iOS and Android tablets plus iOS smart phones.  It will be available for Android smart phones in the near future.  You can browse titles by subject to easily find journals of interest, create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals, be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published, save articles in your personal library.  BrowZine can easily be synced up with Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services to help keep all of your information together in one place. For installation details, please see this blog post: BrowZine table App Now Available from the Stanford Libraries
Web of Knowledge logo small
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Updated daily, Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals.   It provides complete tables of contents and bibliographic information, including abstracts, from about 8,000 journals, 2,000 books, and 7,000 scholarly web sites.  It includes pre-published electronic journal articles and links to the full text.   Database coverage: 1998 to the present.  For more information, please see Fact sheet, Quick Reference Card, and recorded training.

Current awareness publications

Cambridge : Royal Society of Chemistry, 2002-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD501 .C37 F 2009
"Offers graphical abstracts of new developments in catalysis. Coverage includes all areas of catalysis research, including homogeneous, heterogeneous and biocatalysis with emphasis on current growth areas such as chiral catalysts, polymerisation catalysts, enzymatic catalysts and clean catalytic methods. Provides fast and effective access to the latest research. Each item is indexed by Authors, Products, Reactants and Catalysts, Catalyst Type and Reaction Type."

Databases

[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[Philadelphia] : Institute for Scientific Informtion, [1999?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Using information from 41 patent-issuing authorities, DII facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. Descriptive titles and indexing have been added. Find “equivalent” patents published in a language you can read. Also contains both citing and cited patents and literature references, allowing users to move both forward and backward in time from a selected patent. Updated weekly, covers 1963-present." (Structure Searching)
Engineering Village
Hoboken, N.J. : Elsevier Engineering Information, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Engineering Village is an information discovery platform that includes access to two databases at Stanford. Compendex (Computerized Engineering Index) is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 250+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, full-text ejournal and ebook sites, patents, technical reports, reference materials, plus more.

Books

New books on polymers

Journals

Encyclopedias

Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This encyclopedia presents over 500 articles addressing all areas of polymer science, providing information about polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes. New topics added include nanotechnology, new imaging and analytical techniques, new methods of controlled polymer architecture, and biomimetics.
5th ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2004-2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » TP9 .K54 2004 INDEX
"Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed."
Polymeric materials encyclopedia
Boca Raton : CRC Press, c1996.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TP1110 .P65 1996 v.1
This encyclopedia presents research and development on the synthesis, properties, and applications of polymeric materials. With multiple articles on many subjects, the encyclopedia offers you a broad-based perspective on a multitude of topics, as well as detailed research information, figures, tables, illustrations, and references.
7th ed. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH ; New York : J. Wiley & Sons, 2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"This state-of-the-art reference work details the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc."

Handbooks

[Norwich, N.Y.] : Knovel, 2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Knovel provides access to over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 50 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface. Includes the ability to search numeric data.  Some books have interactive tables.
CRC handbook of liquid-liquid equilibrium data of polymer solutions
Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2008.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD381.9 .S65 W6324 2008
The first compilation of its kind, this book delivers a completely new and reliable collection of liquid-liquid equilibrium (LLE) data for polymer solutions from the original literature. This thorough collection of data contains more than 1200 LLE data sets, including 810 binary systems, 325 ternary systems, and 25 quaternary (or higher) systems. Thermodynamic data of polymer solutions are key to industrial and laboratory processes in basic and applied chemistry, chemical engineering, computational modeling, and thermodynamics research. This data is also essential for understanding physical behavior of polymer solutions, intermolecular interactions, and the molecular nature of mixtures as well as developing theoretical thermodynamic models.
Handbook of applied biopolymer technology
Cambridge : RSC Publishing, c2011.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Scientists are conducting active research in different fields of engineering, science and technology by adopting the Green Chemistry Principles and methodologies to devise new processes, with a view to help protect and ultimately save the environment from further anthropogenic interruptions and damage. With this in mind, the book provides an up-to-date, coherently written and objectively presented set of chapters from eminent international researchers who are actively involved in academic and technological research in the synthesis, (bio)degradation, testing and applications of biodegradable polymers and biopolymers.
A comprehensive overview of biodegradable polymers, covering everything from synthesis, characterization, and degradation mechanisms while also introducing useful applications, such as drug delivery systems and biomaterial-based regenerative therapies. An introductory section deals with such fundamentals as basic chemical reactions during degradation, the complexity of biological environments and experimental methods for monitoring degradation processes.
Handbook of green chemistry
[Place of publication not identified] : John Wiley and Sons, 2010-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This handbook is a one-stop resource covering green catalysis, green solvents, green processes, and green products. [Set I: Green catalysis] v. 1. Homogeneous catalysis; v. 2. Heterogeneous catalysis; v. 3. Biocatalysis   [Set II: Green solvents]  v. 4. Supercritical solvents; v. 5. Reactions in water; v. 6. Ionic liquids   [Set III: Green processes] v. 7. Green synthesis; v. 8. Bioinspired processes; v. 9. Designing safer chemicals   [Set IV: Green products] v. 10. Green engineering; v. 11. Green nanoscience; v. 12. Sustainable product design.
2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH ; [Chichester : ǂb John Wiley, distributor], c2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This 8 volume handbook provides easily searchable yet comprehensive information. Major topics include: Preparation of Solid Catalysts, Characterization of Solid Catalysts, Model Systems, Elementary Steps and Mechanisms, Kinetics and Transport Processes, Deactivation and Regeneration, Special Catalytic Systems, Laboratory Reactors, Reaction Engineering, Environmental Catalysis, Inorganic Reactions, Energy-related Catalysis, and Organic Reactions.
Handbook of organic compounds
San Diego, Calif. ; London : Academic, 2000.
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Medical Library (Lane) catalog for status » (no call number)
This handbook represents a compendium of practical spectroscopic methodology, comprehensive reviews, and basic information for organic materials, surfactants, and polymer spectra covering the Ultraviolet, Visible, Near Infrared, Infrared, Raman and Dielectric measurement techniques.
Handbook of organic conductive molecules and polymers
Chichester ; New York : Wiley, c1997.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD382 .C66 H38 1997 V.1
Conductive polymers--polymers that conduct electricity--have applications in telecommunications, electronics, materials science, chemistry and physics. The four self-contained volumes of this handbook thoroughly explore all aspects of conductive polymers including chemical and physical properties, technology and applications.
Handbook of polymer reaction engineering
Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, 2005.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This first book dedicated to all aspects of the field presents our current knowledge in its entirety, covering the necessary disciplines and processes involved - from the monomer to the final product. With an international editor and author team from academia and such leading chemical companies as Bayer, BASF and DuPont, the text adopts a multidisciplinary approach and a practical point of view. Starting with polymer chemistry and thermodynamics, the book goes on to deal with measurement, control, and characterization, before tackling process development, safety issues, scale-up, and modeling. It concludes with emerging processes.
Handbook of Polymers
Toronto : ChemTec Pub., 2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Includes all major polymeric materials used by the plastics and other branches of the chemical industry as well as specialty polymers used in the electronics, pharmaceutical, medical, and space fields. Extensive information is included on biopolymers.
Handbook of RAFT polymerization
Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, c2008.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD281 .P6 H36 2008
Spanning the entire field from fundamentals to applications in material science, this one-stop source is the first comprehensive reference for polymer, physical and surface chemists, materials scientists, chemical engineers, and those chemists working in industry.
Handbook of transition metal polymerization catalysts
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This handbook covers the design and synthesis of catalysts, and their applications in synthesis of polymers. Dealing with those polymerization catalysts that afford commercially acceptable yields of polymer with respect to catalyst mass and promising newer catalysts, this practical reference provides polymer and organic chemists with a comprehensive overview of the known methods for developing and applying these important catalysts.
Physical properties of polymers handbook
2nd ed. New York : Springer, c2007.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This handbook offers concise information on the properties of polymeric materials, particularly those most relevant to the areas of physical chemistry and chemical physics. In the second edition of Physical Properties of Polymers Handbook, each chapter has been extensively updated and revised.. Each chapter has been extensively updated and revised. In addition, a dozen new chapters have been added, increasing the number of topics covered by approximately 25%.
Polymer data handbook
2nd ed. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This new edition includes better values of properties already reported, properties not reported in time for the earlier edition, and entirely new properties becoming important for modern polymer applications. It also contains 217 total polymers, 20 of which are all-new, particularly in high-technology areas such as eletrical conductivity, non-linear optical properties, microlithography, nanophotonics, and electroluminescences.
Polymer nanocomposites handbook
Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press, 2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Reflecting the exceptional growth in the use of nanostructured materials for industrial applications, this handbook comprehensively covers the synthesis of nanomaterials that act as the building blocks of polymer nanocomposites and polymers that act as matrix materials. It reviews atomic scale and large structures of the nanoscale building blocks and their interfaces. It also describes current processing and the difficulties of obtaining good dispersion.
Properties of polymers
4th, completely rev. ed. / Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2009.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This authoritative, widely cited book has been used all over the world. The fourth edition incorporates the latest developments in the field while maintaining the core objectives of previous editions: to correlate properties with chemical structure and to describe methods that permit the estimation and prediction of numerical properties from chemical structure, i.e. nearly all properties of the solid, liquid, and dissolved states of polymers.
Selection of polymeric materials
Norwich, NY : William Andrew, c2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
There has been a proliferation of test methods by which plastic properties are measured. The property data measured by these test methods are not identical and sometimes have large differences. How are engineers, designers, buyers going to decide the type and resin grade and their property data? Which are the valid test methods? The right plastic property data are the difference between success and failure of a design, thus making the property selection process critical. For the first time this book provides a simple and efficient approach to a highly complex and time consuming task.
Berlin : Springer, 2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data. Print copy of Landolt-Bornstein is available at the Swain Library." (Structure Searching)
Wiley database of polymer properties
[Hoboken, N.J.] : Wiley, c2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Comprehensive source of physical property data for polymers commercially available, with experimentally determined and selected data for over 2,500 polymers. The initial content is derived from the Polymer Handbook. The database will be updated quarterly. Search features include the ability to search for polymers matching specific properties or ranges of properties, the ability to create custom tables for all the properties of a specific polymer, and the ability to access the full-text html for references to the primary literature via CrossRef.

Major reference works

Weinheim ; Chichester : Wiley-VCH, c2001-
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP801 .B69 B563 2001 INDEX
"Biopolymers provides a comprehensive overview of the occurrence, metabolism, and applications of all important biopolymer classes. This reference work treats processes for biotechnological production, isolation from organisms and modification, material properties and technical uses in areas such as chemical and food industries, medicine, pharmacy, and materials science."
The seven volumes of this reference work provide a clear and systematic treatment of all aspects of the subject from synthetic chemistry, characterization, physical properties and chemical reactions to processing and applications. Each volume reflects the truly important facets of modern polymer science, with the information presented in a concise and logical manner. The 218 articles are written by internationally recognized scientists from over 20 countries, under the direction of a distinguished editorial board assisted by an eminent international advisory board. Scientists from varying disciplines seeking information on the subject will find the volumes a highly valuable and well presented source of authoritative and accurate information.
Polymer science
Amsterdam ; Waltham, MA : Elsevier Science, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This Comprehensive Reference covers all aspects of polymer science from chemistry/chemical engineering to materials science, biological aspects, applications and fate of polymers in the environment. There are over 250 chapters that cover the following topics: Basic Concepts and Polymer Properties, Polymer Characterization, Chain Polymerization of Vinyl Monomers, Ring-opening polymerization and special polymerization processes, Polycondensation, Macromolecular Architectures and Soft Nano-objects, Nanostructured Polymer Materials and Thin Films, Polymers for Advanced Functional Materials, Polymers in Biology and Medicine, Polymers for a Sustainable Environment and Green Energy.
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Berlin : Springer, 2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data. Print copy of Landolt-Bornstein is available at the Swain Library." (Structure Searching)

Reference

3rd ed. / Washington, DC : American Chemical Society ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » QD8.5 .A25 2006
"An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. The ACS Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. It is also an excellent resource for learning how to effectively communicate scientific information." (publisher's description)

Dictionaries

Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Encyclopedic dictionary of polymers
2nd ed. New York ; London : Springer, 2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This reference, in its second edition, contains more than 7,500 polymeric material terms, including the names of chemicals, processes, formulae, and analytical methods that are used frequently in the polymer and engineering fields. In view of the evolving partnership between physical and life sciences, this title includes an appendix of biochemical and microbiological terms.
Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary
15th ed. / Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD5 .C74 2007
This book is a compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology.
IUPAC compendium of chemical terminology
Version 1.0.0. [Research Triangle Park, N.C.] : International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, 2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Media » QD5 .I86 2006
The Compendium is popularly referred to as the "Gold Book", in recognition of the contribution of the late Victor Gold, who initiated work on the first edition. It is one of the series of IUPAC "Colour Books" on chemical nomenclature, terminology, symbols and units, and collects together terminology definitions from IUPAC recommendations already published in Pure and Applied Chemistry and in the other Colour Books. The result is a collection of nearly 7000 terms, with authoritative definitions, spanning the whole range of chemistry.
Nine-language dictionary of polymers and composites
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2008.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TP1110 .N56 2008
This dictionary includes 7,000 terms translated into nine languages: English, Chinese, French, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Ukrainian. The book covers all polymer-related subject areas, including chemistry, physical chemistry, physics, spectroscopy, microscopy, theoretical models, polymer-based composites and nanocomposites, polymer and composite processing, and related equipment, tools, and standard testing techniques.

Directories

New York, Bowker.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » Q141 .A48 ED.32:V.8 2014
This respected resource is a biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available.
Washington.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z5521 .A52 2011
DGRweb, the searchable online version of the ACS Directory of Graduate Research (DGR), is the most comprehensive source of information on chemical researchers at universities in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico. With the DGRweb you can search for faculty and institutions.
Farmington Hills, MI : Gale Group, 1999-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides contextual information on the world's most influential people. This database merges Gale's reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, gender, keyword and full text. Includes Who's Who in Science and Engineering.

Software

Site-licensed by Swain Library

Swain Library has purchased campus-wide site licenses for several products. Access to all of these products is limited to current Stanford students, faculty, and staff.

Some software licensed by Swain Library is also accessible using a web browser and Citrix plugin via CDSERVER. For more information, please see instructions for off-campus access to resources.

Computer clusters

Swain Library has 13 dual-boot Mac/Windows computers. SUNet ID is required for use. The following software is available (only viewable from on-campus):

Synthesis

Handbook of polymer synthesis
2nd ed. / New York : Marcel Dekker, c2005.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP1130 .H37 2005
An authoritative and in-depth review of the most important preparative methods for the synthesis and chemical modification of polymers, this second edition examines the advantages and limitations of a variety of polymerization applications and procedures, as well as new approaches and innovative strategies from the most prominent industry and academic laboratories. The authors analyze biodegradable polymers for biomedical applications, investigate the use of polyolefins, polymeric dienes, aromatic polyethers, polymides, and metal-containing macromolecules, and cover polymers of acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, and maleic acid, reflecting the burgeoning role of polymers in modern science and technology.
Macromolecular syntheses
New York, Wiley.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD380 .M32 V.1 1963
The Macromolecular Syntheses series follows the practice of Organic Syntheses in having the recipes it publishes tested in independent laboratories to ensure that the results claimed can actually be obtained by following the procedure as printed. Checkers have often failed with procedures as originally submitted and have had to obtain additional advice from the originator before succeeding. Each synthetic procedure is documented in enough detail to enable the inexperienced chemist to carry out the reaction. Areas of concern, such as hazardous chemicals or processes, are clearly highlighted. The inclusion of notes from the authors and suggestions from the checkers should be very valuable, and each article appears to be well referenced if there is any need to seek the original source.
Polymer syntheses
2nd ed. Boston : Academic Press, c1992-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD281 .P6 S27 1992 V.1
The second Edition of this widely respected three-volume set continues the tradition of providing detailed and concise laboratory instructions for the preparation of organic and inorganic polymers. Updates are provided on the preparation of various types of polymers including olefin-sulfur dioxide copolymers, polythioesters, sulfide polymers, polyisocyanates, polyoxyalkylhydroxy compounds, polyvinyl carbazole, polyvinyl acetate, polyallyl esters, and polyvinyl flouride. The procedures were chosen on the basis of safety and to be representative of preparation methods for a general class of polymers. Fundamental and practical information on polymer synthesis is combined with extensive references and reviews of the patent literature. It brings together useful preparative methods for polymers and resins. It is organized by functional group and includes new polymerization methods.
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. (Structure and Reaction Searching)

Websites