You are here

In Poor Taste: The Rhetoric of Catastrophe Comedy

PWR 1GLB - Spring 2014 - Instructor: Barnhart, L.
Last Updated: 11-Apr-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 1GLB: In Poor Taste: The Rhetoric of Catastrophe Comedy.

Subject Librarians

Sr. Reference Specialist; Summer Instruction Coordinator
(650) 724-6980
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background/Reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2009.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PN1922 .W45 2009
Oxford ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2000.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » GN471.4 .H65 2000
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » PN1993.45 .L63 2002
Look in the index for "black comedy" films
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » Z6514 .W5 N54 1993
See Chapter 3: Language Play and Rhetorical Devices-Gallows, Black, Sick, and Tragicomic Humor
by Nilsen, Don Lee Fred.

Selected Books

Take a look at these selected books for background - they may form the basis of your research. If you look for them in the stacks, you will probably find some other books just as, or more valuable.

New Haven [Conn.] : Yale University Press, c2009.
Art & Architecture Library » Request at circulation desk » PN5289 .A253 M675 2009
Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2009.
Green Library » Stacks » PN6149 .P5 M67 2009
Logan, Utah : Utah State University Press, 2003.
Green Library » Stacks » GR455 .O43 2003
New York : Garland Pub., 1993.
Green Library » Stacks » PS430 .B48 1993

Databases

Besides the seelcted general and subject-specific databases listed here, try these databases for articles on particular perspectives on Dark Humor.

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Academic Search Premier, the "go to" database for beginning research. Add "choose databases" and add some of these: America History and Life; Communication and mass media Complete, Film and TV Literature Index, MLA (Literature)
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Proquest Research Library, another general subject database. You can choose more Proquest databases to get a particular perspective by clicking on the pulldown menu at the top of the page that says: "Searching 1 database". Select one or more of these: Alt-Press Watch; Ethnic newsWatch; Gender Watch; Sociological Abstracts; Psycinfo.

Citations and bibliographic management

Searchworks and many other databases you will use allow you to get a simple citation by using a "CiteThis" feature or gather more information by using a Send to/Export feature to send records to bibliographic management tools such as Refworks or EndNote.  You can also use resources such as Zotero or Mendeley to gather information including citations.  For more on these, see the guide to Bibliography Management.