BIOSIS Citation Index indexes the worldwide literature of research in the biological and biomedical sciences. The database covers the entire field of life sciences including original research reports and reviews in field, laboratory, clinical, experimental, and theoretical work. BIOSIS indexes journals, technical reports, meeting proceedings, United States patents, and books in biology, biomedicine, and related areas.
CAB Abstracts indexes journal articles in the applied life sciences. It covers the fields of agriculture, forestry, animal and veterinary sciences, human health and communicable diseases, human nutrition, food science, animal health and welfare, microbiology and parasitology, leisure and tourism, plant science and crop science, and the management and conservation of natural resources. The database indexes literature published from 1910 to the present. Over 9,000 serials representing 125 countries are indexed in full or in part.
The Global Population Dynamics Database is the largest collection of animal and plant population data in the world, bringing together nearly five thousand time series in one database. Sources of data vary enormously, from annual counts of mammals or birds at individual sampling sites, to weekly counts of zooplankton and other marine fauna.
POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE) contains citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of reproductive health, population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE is maintained by the INFO Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID). The majority of items are published from 1970 to the present; however, there are selected citations dating back to 1827.
The Web of Science service, available via ISI Web of Knowledge, includes three core component databases: the expanded version of Science Citation Index (SciSearch), Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The Science Citation Index provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering over 100 disciplines from 1900 to the present.
xSearch, developed through the Stanford University Libraries' partnership with Deep Web Technologies, provides Stanford researchers and students with a single search option for multiple online resources. Searches may be limited to specific databases, or all available sources may be searched simultaneously. Search results are merged into one relevance ranked list, and are clustered by topic, author, source publication, publisher, and date.
Zoological Record indexes the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. The database provides a collection of references from over 4,500 international serial publications, plus books, meetings, reviews and other no- serial literature from over 100 countries. It is the oldest continuing database of animal biology, indexing literature published from 1864 to the present.
The International Human Dimensions Programme on Global Environmental Change (IHDP) is an international, interdisciplinary science programme, dedicated to promoting, catalysing and coordinating research, capacity-development and networking on the human dimensions of global environmental change. This site provides information about the organization and its activities.
The IUSSP is a non-profit worldwide association of population specialists that promotes demography as a science and aims to draw attention to population problems. The IUSSP website includes a comprehensive list of links to websites on topics related to population.
PLANetWire is a news service for journalists that provides information about reproductive health rights and services, maternal and child health, equality in education, women's empowerment, youth participation and a healthy environment. Provides reporters with story ideas, facts and figures, expert spokespeople, information from organizations and government agencies, and links to blogs to provide background on these issues.
Population Index is a reference tool to population literature. It includes a bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, and working papers on population topics. It also provides a searchable database with 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000.
The Population Reference Bureau provides information about population, health, and the environment. PRB focuses work around four themes: Reproductive Health and Fertility; Children and Families; Population and the Environment; and Population Futures, including Aging, Inequality and Poverty, Migration and Urbanization, and Gender. The website presents demographic data for the United States and over 200 other countries.
The Population-Environment Research Network seeks to advance academic research on population and the environment by promoting online scientific exchange among researchers from social and natural science disciplines worldwide. Membership is free and open to those who work on population and environment issues. The site provides access to the PERN eLibrary, a reference tool for classic population-environment literature, journal articles, conference and working papers, relevant data sets, and educational resources.
The Population Division is an international agency that prepares high-quality documentation regarding population issues. The agency’s website provides access to these reports and to collections of population data.
The United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) is an international development agency that promotes reproductive health and gender equality. The UNFPA website presents a wide array of information about human population and health, including short summaries of population issues, access to the annual publication, State of World Population, summaries of national population and development indicators, and ordering information for UNFPA publications.
POPIN is a guide to United Nations population information. It provides population estimates and projections for every country, including birth rates, death rates, and other demographic indicators. It also includes links to publications, organizations, and information about conferences on world population issues.
Supports the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences.