You are here

Postmodernism and the Rhetoric of Uncertainty

PWR 2RTA - Winter 2013 - Instructor: Taylor, R.
Last Updated: 4-Mar-2013

Guide for PWR 2 Postmodernism and the Rhetoric of Uncertainty taught by Rod Taylor.

Subject Librarians

Head, Art & Architecture Library
(650) 725-1038
Reference Librarian/VRC Cataloger
(650) 725-9274
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Assistant Art Librarian
(650) 725-1037
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Suggested databases

This list of databases will lead you to articles, essays in collected works, exhibition catalogs, etc., in the literature of art history and beyond.  Some databases cover broad subject areas and several are more art-specific, like Artbibliographies Modern and Art Full Text. Two other subject-specific databases, RILM, for music and the MLA Bibliography, which covers literature, are also included.

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present.
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
Oxford, Eng. [etc.] Santa Barbara, Calif., Clio Press [etc.]
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » Z5935 .L2 V.4:NO.2 1973
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on art and related disciplines from periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published throughout the world. There is full-text coverage for selected periodicals. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with 1994; full-text coverage begins with 1997. It is an online counterpart to: Art Index, published in print from 1929. For indexing of articles covering the period 1929-1984, there is a related database, Art Retrospective.
[New York, RILM]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » ML118 .R574 V.33 1999 INDEX
A comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world, with abstracts written in English. All scholarly works are included: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, and reviews.
[New York] : H.W. Wilson, 1987-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A detailed bibliography of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Publishing, c2006-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Suggested reference sources

Reference works help you gather background information on your topic and will often lead to good bibliographies.

[Oxford, England] : Oxford University Press, c2007-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
OAO gives you full text access to a suite of art reference works: Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.

SearchWorks tips

SearchWorks is the name of the Stanford Libraries catalog. It contains records for books, ebooks, DVDs, journals, archival material and more. It does not contain records for articles. SearchWorks uses relevancy ranking in displaying search results, much like Google. You can do an “everything” search or, using the drop-down on the right, specify author, title or subject terms as your search type. You can then refine your search results by the index on the left, including format, location, language, date and more.

Advanced search: This type of search allows you to search by author, title, topic, etc. by plugging the search terms into their own fields. You can then specify ALL search terms or ANY of your search terms. Think of this as AND and OR, respectively.

SearchWorks records include linked Subject terms which describe a particular item. Below are some Subject terms which relate to this class. Note how a main heading may further subdivide by subheadings like Social aspects, Environmental aspects, Catalogs, Exhibitions, etc. Linked headings will help you discover more material on your topic.

Dadaism--Exhibitions

Modernism (Aesthetics)

Modernism (Art)--Germany--Themes, motives