Power Lines and Water Pipes: writing the global city through infrastructure

PWR 1LPG - Spring 2017 - Instructor: Poggiali, L

Resource guide for PWR 1: Power Lines and Water Pipes.  While infrastructures are often considered to be the mere "background" of socio-cultural life in cities, this course centers on them and their rhetorical contexts in order to explore how opportunity and inequality are imagined and discussed in urban spaces.

Getting Started

1. Use Backgorund and Reference Sources to jumpstart your research, to get ideas, define terms, discover context, and more. 

2. Find Books, Journal Titles and Media in Stanford's Online Catalog, SearchWorks.

3. Find Articles in Selected Databases. Note: Stanford subscribes to over 2000 Databases that index articles and books on various  topics. Since there are so many databases we recommend starting with the smaller select subset of databases which will give you access to articles in a wide variety of subject areas.
 
4. Ask your librarian for help!

Subject Search Terms

Here is a selected list of subject search terms which may be useful when looking for books and journals in the SearchWorks online catalog.  Many of them will also work in database searching.

“Social ecology.”
"Space (Architecture) Social aspects."
"Cities and towns in literature."
"Technology Social aspects."
"Sociology, Urban."
"City planning."
"Cities and towns Effect of technological innovations on."
"Cities and towns Cross-cultural studies."

Background/reference sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

Montréal ; Kingston ; London ; Ithaca : McGill-Queen's University Press, 2003.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » HT119 .B58 2003
In "The Imaginative Structure of the City", Alan Blum explores the symbolic and imaginative nature of the city as a vital part of everyday life in modern civilization.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Examples of Chicago-Style documentation, manuscript preparation, sample correspondence, proofreading, and process charts.
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2010.
Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room » HT108.5 .E634 2010 V.1
New York : Springer, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This online encyclopedia provides coverage in more than 550 separate entries comprising 38 topical sections.  Although the emphasis is on science and technology rather than policy, it is also a resource for policy makers who want to understand the scope of research and development and how these innovations map on to the sustainability challenge.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This online book provides a contemporary update on urban thinking that builds on well established debates in the field and uses the city to explore economic, social, cultural, environmental and political issues more broadly.  Includes contributions from non Western perspectives and cities.
San Diego : Academic Press, c2001.
Green Library » Information Center » QH332 .C66 2001
Print only.  The ethical assessment of new technologies raises two principal concerns: the need to develop effective policies and legislation, and the reconsideration of the ethical frameworks in which these policies and laws are developed.
Montreal ; Ithaca [N.Y.] : McGill-Queen's University Press, 2010.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » HT155 .C47 2010
"Circulation and the City" investigates the urban capacity for movement, the city as a space of circulation, by taking into account not only the physical displacement of people, but the circulation of cultures, things, and ideas.
Dordrecht : Springer Dordrecht, 2013.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
A three-volume electronic reference that uniquely covers the broad spectrum of topics relating to the process of creativity and innovation, from a wide variety of perspectives (e.g., economics, management, psychology, anthropology, policy, technology, education, the arts) and modes (individual, organization, industry, nation, region).

Additional databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.  Coverage is from 1965 to the present.
Dublin, Ohio : OCLC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Cover all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
[Philadephia, Pa.] : Institute for Scientific Information
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
An international, multidisciplinary index to all significant items (articles, reports of meetings, letters, editorials, correction notices, etc.) from more than 1,725 most important worldwide social sciences journals. Additional articles relevant to the social sciences are selected from over 3,300 journals in the natural, physical, and biomedical sciences. Coverage: 1900 to present.
[Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Citations covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Studies, and Canadian Journal of Urban Research.
[Washington, D.C.] : OECD
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.

News sources

What is news?  What is "fake news"?  How can I tell the difference?  This section has links to subscription new sources of various types, but remember any news source can be biased and some can be fooled or "fake".  If you only find the story from one source, especially with no author or publication credit, be skeptical.  Major events will usually be covered in several sources by multiple authors. 

Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full-text from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus.  Diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Also includes broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs
[Stamford, Conn.] : Softline Information, [2001]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
American public radio and television content dating back to the 1950s, created by more than 120 public broadcasting organizations across the country.
[Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest Information and Learning
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.