You are here

Pure and Unadulterated: The Rhetoric of Contamination

PWR 1GMK - Winter 2013 - Instructor: Kim, M.
Last Updated: 2-Apr-2013

A guide to resources for PWR 1GMK: Pure and Unadulterated: The Rhetoric of Contamination.

Subject Librarians

Manager of Interlibrary Services and Current Periodicals
(650) 723-1988
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Reference: Subject Reading Materials

Reference materials can be good resources for subject overviews and a means to collect useful keywords. The bibliographies frequently include key texts and thinkers that are associated with a specific subject. To discover more reference materials held in the Stanford Libraries, search Reference Universe, Searchworks, consult with a librarian, or browse the libraries' reference collections.

Tips for using reference sources:

1. Look at the cross-references that many entries provide. These can be helpful in pointing you toward a related or more accurate idea/term.

2. One of the most important elements of any good reference source entry is its bibliography. Take note of the books or articles that the entry's author deems elementary to understanding the individual or idea.

[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
"A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles."

Subject Term Searches

Listed below are Library of Congress subject terms, which search only the subject field(s) of the Searchworks catalogue.

Databases

"A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present"
"Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. It also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs."
"Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles."
[Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest Information and Learning
"Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date."
[Stamford, CT] : Softline Information, Inc., [1998 or 1999]-
"Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. Contains materials dating back to the 1970's. Incorporated the publication Women "R".
[S.l.] : National Library of Medicine
"MEDLINE, produced by the National Library of Medicine, is an index to journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences, including both basic biomedical sciences and clinical practice. It indexes over 4,000 journals. The database contains citations from 1950 to the present with some older citations. An important feature of MEDLINE is the use of Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), a powerful tool for searching specific topics or for comprehensive general searches."
"MLA International:Bibliography of books and articles on the modern languages and literatures."
[Los Alamos, New Mexico] : LANL Research Library
"SciSearch is an international, multidisciplinary index to the literature of science, technology, and biomedicine. Over 4,000 journals representing all scientific disciplines are indexed. The database covers 1900 to the present, and records from January 1991 to the present include abstracts. Cited reference searching is a valuable feature of the database. The database is also known as Science Citation Index Expanded and is also available via ISI Web of Knowledge/Web of Science."

Proquest Social Sciences Databases

Proquest Social Sciences Database--Searches across multiple social science subject databases. Among those included: Alternative Presses; Psycinfo; Sociological Abstracts; Social Services Abstracts; International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS); ERIC (Education); PAIS (Public Policy)."