You are here

PWR 1KC The Rhetoric of Gender and Sexuality in Popular Culture

PWR 1KC - Fall 2014 - Instructor: Karli Cerankowski
Last Updated: 30-Jan-2017

Here is the Library Guide for the course on the "Rhetoric of Gender and Sexuality in Popular Culture".

This course explores such questions on how cultural representations help manufacture and perpetuate gender and sex roles in American (and global) society. this course explores the expansive range of genders and sexualities represented in art and mass media, from heterosexuality to homosexuality, from straight to queer, from cisgender to transgender. - From Course Description

Subject Librarians

Bibliographer for Anthropology & Archaeology, Communication & Journalism, Feminist Studies, and Lusophone Africa Collections
(650) 206-3528
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Encyclopedias

London ; New York : Routledge, 2000.
Green Library » Information Center » HQ1190 .E63 2000
Los Angeles : Sage, c2009.
Green Library » Information Center » HQ1115 .E54 2009 V.1
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2012.
Green Library » Information Center » P96 .S5 E53 2012
San Diego, CA : Academic Press, 2001.
Green Library » Information Center » HQ1115 .E52 2001B V.1

Background texts

Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2005.
Green Library » Jonsson Social Sciences Reading Room » HQ1075 .C656 2005
New York : Routledge, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » GV1469.15 .S86 2012
Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2005.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Databases

Academic search premier

Alt-PressWatch

America, history and life with full text

Annual reviews

AnthroSource 

Communication & mass media complete

ERIC

Ethnic newswatch

Ethnographic video online

FRANCIS: International, multilingual, multidisciplinary humanities and social sciences

Genderwatch

IBSS extra: the international bibliography of the social sciences

JSTOR

LGBT Life with full text

PAIS  (Public Affairs) international in print

Project Muse

ProQuest. Research library

Scopus

Social sciences citation index

Sociological abstracts

Sociology: a SAGE full-text collection

 _________________________________

 For books at other libraries:

 WORLDCAT

For Archival Collections:

 OAC – Online Archives of California

 ArchiveGrid

 Archivefinder (US and UK)