Race, ethnicity and education

This guide is designed for those beginning research of how race, racism, ethnicity, ethnic identity, and discrimination based on race or ethnicity impact education.  It covers both research and practice.

Background information

"provides the first systematic review to date of how sociologists have studied the relationship between race/ethnicity and educational inequality in 18 different national contexts"
"This handbook illustrates how education scholars employ Critical Race Theory (CRT) as a framework to bring attention to issues of race and racism in education."
Cover image of Race, ethnicity and education
Wesport, Conn. : Praeger Publishers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference » LC1099.3 .R33 2006 V.1
"The volumes address how race and ethnicity affect learning across the life-span, including all levels of formal and informal education."

New books

1. ed.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1175.4 .B6 F74 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC89 .M66 2018
Practice-oriented
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1099.3 .F58 2018
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1099.3 .M3325 2017
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC191.8 .B6 E373 2016
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC212.43 .B6 G66 2014
Third trade paperback edition: July 2017.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » E185.625 .T38 2017

Journals

Abingdon, Oxfordshire, UK ; Cambridge, MA : Carfax Pub. Ltd., c1998-
Green Library » Current periodicals
Montgomery, Ala. : Southern Poverty Law Center
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC212 .W45 V.1-2 2016-2017

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

[Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest Information and Learning
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Websites

accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking