You are here

Rhetoric and education reform

PWR2JLB - Spring 2013 - Instructor: Lee, J.
Last Updated: 18-Jun-2013

This guide is designed to support the PWR2 class on Rhetoric and Education Reform which focuses on an "analysis of social, ideological, and pedagogical perspectives on education reform."

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Background

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB2805 .E528 2010 V.1
"The ideas, thoughts, research people, organizations, and theories presented in this encyclopedia are...the key topics associated with significant dissent and reform in education....They trace the history of educational thought and action."
Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC1099 .E38 2012 V.1
"The major aim of this encyclopedia is to describe the most important concepts, theories, research, policies, case studies, and programs at the pre-school through the postsecondary levels and their implications for educational reform."
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2008
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LA212 .B295 2008 V.1
"a historically situated description of the most salient controversies in schooling during the past century."
Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LA210 .A15 2008 V.1
"a combination of historical reviews, current debates, and pending issues of concern at the classroom, state, and federal levels"
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB17 .E53 2009 V.1
"intended to provide a comprehensive background for those interested in issues involving schools and society."
New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC71 .H363 2009
New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1027.9 .H344 2009
Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1072 .H36 2012 V.1

Education News

Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.

gives you access to a wide range of research and articles, statistics and reports on education.

Databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
New York, N.Y. : Public Affairs Information Service, Inc., 1991-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z7163 .P3 V.22:PT.2 2013
Indexes selected books, government documents, and periodical articles on contemporary public issues and the making of public policy.
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.