You are here

The Rhetoric of Art and Commerce

PWR 2JP - Winter 2014 - Instructor: Peterson, J.
Last Updated: 6-Jan-2014

A guide to resources for PWR 2JP: The Rhetoric of Art and Commerce. Course topics include: how consumer culture influences the work of the artist-and vice versa; how art and a market economy overlap; aesthetics, communication, sex, violence, and selling out. This research guide broadly covers the research process from researching refernce materials for broad subject reading to database searching for articles.

Subject Librarians

Manager of Interlibrary Services and Current Periodicals
(650) 723-1988
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background/Reference Sources

Reference materials can be good resources for subject overviews and a means to collect useful keywords. The bibliographies frequently include key texts and thinkers that are associated with a specific subject. To discover more reference materials held in the Stanford Libraries, search Reference Universe, Searchworks, consult with a librarian, or browse the libraries' reference collections.

Tips for using reference sources:

1. Look at the cross-references that many entries provide. These can be helpful in pointing you toward a related or more accurate idea/term.

2. One of the most important elements of any good reference source entry is its bibliography. Take note of the books or articles that the entry's author deems elementary to understanding the individual or idea.

Malden, MA : Blackwell Publishing
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Provides full-text access to reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management. It supports browsing and full-text searching."
[Oxford, England] : Oxford University Press, c2007-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists."
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"General and Reference Works; Music; Biology; Art, Architecture and Design; Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press."
[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles."
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2009.
Green Library » Stacks » P90 .A14 2009 V.1
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2009.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » E169.1 .A4475 2009 V.1
Rev. and expanded ed. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2012.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HB3743 .R67 2012
English ed. Oxford ; New York : Berg, 2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HM636 .C853 2010 V.1
Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2007.
Green Library » HAS-DIGIT (Lane Room) (non-circulating) » NX180 .T4 D538 2007
Hershey Pa. : Information Science Reference, c2008
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Reference, c2011.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HC79 .C6 E53 2011 V.1
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF531 .R445 2010 V.1
New York : Scribner, c2003.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » GT2850 .E53 2003 V.1
Los Angeles : Sage, c2009.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HQ1115 .E54 2009 V.1
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF311 .E497 2010 V.1
[Oxford, England] : Oxford University Press, 1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2007.
Green Library » Stacks » PN1995.9 .S45 P437 2007
Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2008.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » P87.5 .I58 2008 V.1
Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2001.
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » N6512.5 .P6 H37 2001
3rd ed. Los Angeles : SAGE, c2011.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » P301 .B67 2011

Subject Searching

Listed below are Library of Congress subject terms, which search only the subject field(s) of the Searchworks catalogue. You can refine your results by using the limiting facets with the left frame. Narrow by SUL (Stanford University Libraries) location, publication year, language, etc.

Databases

Global ed. [Ann Arbor, Mich. : UMI]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Article citations and some full text articles in business-related publications. Includes the Wall Street journal."
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present."
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs."
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Articles on art and related disciplines from periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published throughout the world. There is full-text coverage for selected periodicals."
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson, 1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Art publications, including important yearbooks and select museum bulletins, from around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984."
Oxford, Eng. [etc.] Santa Barbara, Calif., Clio Press [etc.]
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » Z5935 .L2 V.4:NO.2 1973
"Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Approximately 13,000 new entries are added each year. Published with title LOMA from 1969-1971"
Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub., c2005-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Full text coverage for over 10,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,150 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business."
[England] : Design Documentation
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"International index to over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops and firms. DAAI also includes two supplementary databases: Education Directory, an international directory of universities and colleges that offer courses in design and craft subjects and the Periodical Directory, an international directory of design and craft journals. Research articles are covered, along with topical news items, conference and seminar reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Major areas of coverage include: Product design, Interior design, Graphic design, Ceramics, Glass, Jewellery, Textiles, Furniture, Fashion and clothing, Illustration, Typography and type design, Metalsmithing, Retail design, Architecture, Industrial design, Sustainability, Advertising, Packaging, Theatre, Vehicles, Exhibitions, Book design, Web design, Computer aided design, Computer graphics, Animation, Garden design, Landscape architecture, Urban design, Education, Design management, Inclusive design, Universal design, Design history."
Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Title from main search screen (viewed Sept. 27, 2006). A collection of research databases in various fields. Search screen allows the user to search several simultaneously"
Newton Lower Falls, MA : SilverPlatter Information, Inc., 1990-
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » HB1 .E23 1969-1975
"Comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature (over 300 major economic journals and collective volumes), compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes."
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Web of Knowledge is an integrated search interface with access to scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, as well as to search and analysis tools. Cross-database searching is enabled for the citation databases (Arts & Humanities 1975+, Social Sciences 1956+, and Science 1900+), Derwent Innovations Index (1963+), BIOSIS (1926+), Medline (1950+), and Zoological Record (1864+). This combined resource has bibliographic records from journals, conferences, patents, and other publication types, as well as cited references, and is updated weekly. Functionality includes browsing of cited authors, cited reference searching, personal preferences, search history, alerts, and the ability to display, e-mail or download references.)"

Proquest Social Science Databases

"Proquest Social Sciences Database--Searches across multiple social science subject databases. Among those included: Alternative Presses; Psycinfo; Sociological Abstracts; Social Services Abstracts; International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS); ERIC (Education); PAIS (Public Policy)."