Rhetoric of Happiness

PWR 1RL - Winter 2017 - Instructor: Lee, R.

A guide for PWR 1 RL: The Rhetoric of Happiness

Background/Reference Sources for Rhetoric of Happiness

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

 
2nd ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » BF121 .H213 2013 V.1
London : Academic Press, 2009.
Green Library » Information Center » BF311 .E53 2009 V.1
London ; Burlington, MA : Academic Press, c2010.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QP360 .E52 2010 V.1
Chichester, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell Pub., 2009.
Green Library » Information Center » BF204.6 .E53 2009 V.1
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2010.
Green Library » Information Center » BF531 .R445 2010 V.1
London ; Thousand Oaks, CA : SAGE Publications, 2015.
Green Library » Stacks » BF531 .E45 2015
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Selected Books on Happiness

Here's some books we have at Stanford libraries. Take a look at the subjects in the full Searchworks records for these to find other books with similar topics -- perhaps with different perspectives/points of view.

An interesting perspective: how has the concept of emotion changed over time.
Green Library » Stacks » HM851 .I5695985 2014
1st ed. New York, NY : Palgrave Macmillan, 2015.
Green Library » Stacks » HT151 .O583 2015
Notice the chapter on the neuroscience of happiness.
First edition.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
First U.S. edition.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » E169.12 .W455 2016

Selected Psychology and Sociology Databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Stamford, Conn.] : Softline Information, [2001]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[S.l.] : National Library of Medicine
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Pubmed, or Medline. There are several providers of this database. The first link on the Searchworks record is for National Library of Medicine site. But  EBSCO and Proquest provide access to this database too.  I recommend choosing Medline/pubmed from the "Choose" or "Change" databases option within either Proquest or EBSCO. Then you can search PubMed along with the general (Academic Search Premier or Proquest Research Library) databases. You will be able to select results from either, or both, databases.

Bibliographic Management

Searchworks and many other databases you will use allow you to get a simple citation by using a "CiteThis" feature or gather more information by using a Send to/Export feature to send records to bibliographic management tools such as Refworks or EndNote.  You can also use resources such as Zotero or Mendeley to gather information including citations.  For more on these, see the guide to Bibliography Management.