You are here

The rhetoric of a liberal arts education

PWR 1JPA - Autumn 2014 - Instructor: Peterson, J.
Last Updated: 4-Nov-2014

This is a guide to resources in support of PWR 1JPA: The Rhetoric of a Liberal Arts Education.  "Some key questions: How do current debates regarding education echo longstanding arguments? How important is it to study complex human questions versus training for a job? How is higher education shaped by this debate? How is this debate political?"

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Overviews

Background Information

Use these Sources to help you pick a topic and to provide a context to your research based argument.

New York : Routledge, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2322.2 .R677 2009
"This volume is a detailed and up-to-date reference work providing an authoritative overview of the main issues in higher education around the world today. Consisting of newly commissioned chapters and impressive journal articles, it surveys the state of the discipline and includes the examination and discussion of emerging, controversial and cutting edge areas."
Dordrecht : Springer, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB2322.2 .I57 2006 PT.1
"provides an in-depth analysis of the scope of postsecondary education worldwide, combining a series of overarching comparative essays with analytic chapters focusing on key countries and regions."
Lanham, Md. : University Press of America, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1011 .L457 2010
Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC1099 .E38 2012 V.1
"The major aim of this encyclopedia is to describe the most important concepts, theories, research, policies, case studies, and programs at the pre-school through the postsecondary levels and their implications for educational reform. Diversity is defined broadly in this encyclopedia and includes race, ethnicity, social class, gender, sexual orientation (LGBT), religion, language, and exceptionality, which encompasses giftedness and disability." p. xlviii

Recent books

Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1011 .R75 2014
Cover image of The humanities "crisis"
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » AZ182 .J38 2014
San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2328 .N4 NO.163
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1023 .D55 2013
Philadelphia, Pa. : Temple University Press, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1023 .M56 2012
London ; New York : Routledge, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1011 .C672 2012
Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » AZ503 .H37 2011
Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 2012, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1011 .N88 2012
2nd ed. Kirksville, Mo. : Truman State University Press, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1011 .G63 2012

Education news

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related Databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Industries,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles in history, both about the U.S. and Canada.
Cumulative ed. Bowling Green, Ohio, Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green University.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z7127 .P4 V. 39 NO.4 2005
"The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews."